We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seaside relaxation”
Review of Westwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westwood
Ranked #18 of 53 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Bristol
1 review
“Seaside relaxation”
Reviewed 3 August 2008

On arrival to a most impressive period house we were met by Helen, a most welcoming and friendly host for our three night stay. We booked our room based on the pictures and reviews we had seen online but it was even better than we expected.

Although we were in a cheaper room (£85 per night), it was clean, modern and relaxing with an excellent en suite shower room.

A restful night in a comfy bed was followed by a lovely fresh breakfast of fruit, yogurt, cereals, juice, fabulous coffee and amazing fresh muffins with eggs and bacon (or a full English breakfast if you could manage it).

Helen had great local knowledge and recommended some great days out and lovely local restaurants.

If you like stylish, contemporary rooms with friendly, family atmosphere you really can't go wrong with a stay at Westwood.

  • Liked — The friendly host and the excellent rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomcahill101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
139
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windsor
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2008

A beautiful place. We have recently returned from a weekend at Westwood and are pleased to say it lives upto all the positive reviews that have been posted. This is not a typical seaside B&B and has the standards of service and comfort in league with 5 star rated hotel establishments we have experienced. We stayed in the double kingsize room with roll top bath and the cowhide chaise lounge- a stylish large bright room with a very comfortable bed . Westwood has layers of subtle stylish touches which shows that alot of thought has gone into the setting up and running the establishment.
The property is located 10 mins brisk healthy walk( think of the planet!) from the first 'nouveau' Ilfracombes bar/cafes. Cant say much more than it is probably the nicest place we have ever stayed.

  • Liked — The big comfy bed!
  • Disliked — the driveway.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ialwaysneedaholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2008

Have just returned from a wonderful few days at the Westwood. It is just what we were looking for and we will certainly be looking to stay here again on our next visit to the area.

There is a most pleasant ambience with the house being light, airy and spacious. The owner, Helen, is quite charming. Nothing is too much trouble and she takes great care to ensure that everything (including dietary requirements) is absolutely right. The quality of the breakfast ingredients is of a very high standard.

The accommodation is very comfortable indeed and includes flat screen tv, dvd player with a selection of dvds, and tea/coffee making facilities. Importantly the bed was large and extremely comfortable. The furnishings were pleasing and again of a high standard.

It was good to find that parking was more than sufficient. The driveway is steep with a sharp turn, as it is with most properties in the Torrs area, up to the spaces outside of the house. This is no problem though and is supplemented by plenty of free on street parking immediately outside of the property.

Being in an elevated position the room benefited from extensive views across the town.

I would happily recommend this to anyone wishing to visit this quite beautiful area of the country.

  • Liked — The feeling of quality: the accommodation, the furnishings, the breakfast ingredients
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2008

Stayed here one night at end of May 2008. Owner/hostess, Helen, is lovely, kind and charming and prepared a wonderful breakfast - was very helpful. However, if this is the "most luxurious and best in Ilfracombe" --- hate to see what the average or middle of the pack B and B's are like there. We stayed at four other B and B's in Devon/Cornwall during the week and this one in Westwood was just average.
The owner says the rooms are "king-sized" and that is what we thought we would get and what we paid for. The bed was NOT king, but queen in both rooms we were shown. Only one of the rooms we saw had a true king bed in it but was already taken by another guest when we arrived. I thought the price was high compared to other B and B's we stayed at during the same week.
The rooms were spacious and clean but nothing luxurious about them. On a scale of one to ten this is about a 4.5. The ensuite bath was nice but small but we had the advantage of an additional hall bath to use if we wanted to. Towels were scratchy and no wash cloths provided. Again, being picky - but this is touted as LUXURY?
Also, the photo and description of Westwood on the website makes one think it is a large single home on a wooded lot near to the sea, when, in fact - it is on a street with many other homes very close to each other and is a semi-detached or "twin property" - the other half of it owned by someone else - is covered in scaffolding. We had a terrible time finding the place - very small sign - a zillion steps to the front door - hidden by overgrown trees, a driveway that is almost impossible to drive up or down. We were trying to find a home that matched the photo - finally - a neighbor clued us in. The "view" is really nothing special - again - a very congested area of interesting looking Victorian houses packed closely together.
Also, quite a long walk to get down to the sea and the town - you need to drive and then pay to park down there.

  • Liked — The owner, nice breakfast
  • Disliked — decidedly not luxurious
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MarlenieGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brown269, owner at Westwood, responded to this review, 10 June 2008
I am suprised at some of the comments based on all previous reviews.Our website is not misleading and shows an aerial view of Westwood.We have lovely town views.Our beds are all King size(5ft).These guests were offered a choice of room and choose the smaller.Towels are fluffy and flannels are available.Like many properties in Ilfracombe we are on a hill.Any competent driver can manage the drive.There is plenty of free parking outside the house.Our Sign is over a metre square.Westwood is a beautiful place to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2008

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful stay at the Westwood, and I can only agree with previous reviewers that this is a fantastic place to stay.

Helen gave us a warm welcome on arrival and made us feel at home. Our room was the King double on the first floor, with a beautiful view over Ilfracombe and out towards the tors. The room was beautfully decorated and comfortable, with loads of little extras. The bathroom was lovely as well, with a roll top bath and separate walk-in shower.

The bed was probably the most comfortable I've ever slept in in any hotel and the location of the hotel meant that it was lovely and quiet. Breakfast was lovely and served between 8 and 10, which was great since it didn't limit you to having to be up at the crack of dawn.

All in all, I couldn't recommend the Westwood any more highly and can't wait to go back for a second visit.

  • Liked — Location, room, food, welcome
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alun75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2008

Arrived for our wedding anniversary and we warmly greeted and very well looked after. Room was great and breakfast tasty and given the state of the other hotel/guesthouses available in the town this place is a must! Helen is lovely and the walk into town short.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatHey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2008

A warm wellcome is what you`ll find when you book into the Westwood.
A lovely Victorian house accesable by a winding path sits overlooking Ilfracombe , but don`t be deceived. A chic ,modernist interior gives this boutique syle bed & breakfast that something extra. For us it was home from from ,to anyone thinking of staying here we would definately reccomend it. Nothing was too much trouble & the breakfast`s were as they should be , plenty of choice from a full english to a bagel with gridled bacon & scrambled eggs. Local sourced & organic produce, this is how a stay away for a few days should make you feel, relaxed & knowing that you have found a gem of a place to stay again.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank minnieWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
416 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
213 reviews
2.6 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Epchris House
Epchris House
#9 of 53 in Ilfracombe
198 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Habit Boutique Rooms
The Habit Boutique Rooms
#14 of 53 in Ilfracombe
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood

Property: Westwood
Address: Westwood Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwood 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Splendor with a modern luxurious and contemporary feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing