We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous first night as Mr & Mrs!”
Review of Westwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westwood
Ranked #15 of 53 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous first night as Mr & Mrs!”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This stunning B&B made a perfect base for the night before and after our wedding, as it's less than a 5 minute walk from Tunnels Beaches. The room and facilities were fabulous and Helen couldn't have been more welcoming or more helpful - even storing the flowers and bubbly for us! She also recommended the excellent Harbour Deli for some pre-wedding sandwiches delivered to Westwood, which I hadn't even thought about! I would thoroughly recommend Westwood for any brides (or grooms) preparing for a wedding at Tunnels, or wedding guests heading there.

The room was huge, bright and beautifully furnished with loads of lovely little touches, from a DVD library to luxury toiletries. The breakfast was absolutely delicious too. The driveway is steep and twisty, but didn't cause us any issues. We very much hope to return soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
139
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

We spent one night at Westwood and would definitely stay there again. The room was spacious and very comfortable - big bed, two chairs, good shower. Breakfast was delicious. Helen (manager or owner) was friendly and helpful. Location was hard to find in the dark.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank szbuhayar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Stayed here as keen to base ourselves in Ilfracombe and unable to find suitable hotel accommodation. Very steep access drive to the property, especially for large cars, but option to park on the roadside also available. Super house, bright and clean with modern furnishings. Spacious bedroom, comfy bed, great breakfast and very well looked after by Helen.

An easy walk of about 10 mins to the harbour area. Thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HerefordshireSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My wife and I go to westwood as often as we can. It is the perfect place to relax and unwind for a few days in complete luxury! Cannot recommend westwood highly enough. Helen is the perfect host and always makes us feel welcome. We have been going to westwood 2-3 times a year for about 3 years. The decor is extremely tasteful with lovely comfortable beds and the breakfast is always great. We have stayed in every room they have apart from room 3 and have found them all faultless. Location is great just a short walk from the town. The restaurants that Helen recommends are great, especially la gendarmerie which is superb and again we simply have to visit time after time.

We love it!!!

Chris and louisa

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Have just got back from a lovely stay at the Westwood. Helen was a welcoming host and the accommodation was great. Breakfast was first class with a good choice of options.

We were in Ilfracombe for a wedding at the Tunnels Beaches for which the location of the Westwood was perfect, just a short walk to the bottom of the road.

Would stay there again and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Assam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We were attending a wedding at the 'Tunnels and wanted a place that was close to the venue - how lucky we were. The Westwood has beautifully appointed contemporary accomodation that gives attention to detail and offers something a little different to the norm. Helen, the owner is wonderful and is a fantastic host, being very informative, friendly and professional.

If we were ever visiting Ilfracombe again it would be the place we would stay!!.

Ian and Jackie.

Room Tip: They were all individual and good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Having had a fantastic time at a wedding at the tunnels we were so pleased to stay at westwood house. Helen was the perfect hostess, it seemed effortless but clearly considered.The room was lovely; we wished we could've stayed for longer...fantastic breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_CBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
372 reviews
1.2 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
402 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
207 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Habit Boutique Rooms
The Habit Boutique Rooms
#13 of 53 in Ilfracombe
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Epchris House
Epchris House
#9 of 53 in Ilfracombe
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood

Property: Westwood
Address: Westwood Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwood 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Splendor with a modern luxurious and contemporary feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing