We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Westwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westwood
Ranked #15 of 53 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here (with two other couples) for one night to allow us to attend a wedding at Tunnels Beach. We were made to feel very welcome, and allowed to check in early so that we could get to the wedding. Pots of tea were brought into the lounge for us all and our host was ready to offer any advice we needed.

The room was very comfortable and everything had a feel of quality to it. Breakfast was superb (and very welcome the morning after a wedding celebration). One of our friends was vegan and was looked after well.

I highly recommend this delightful place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhodri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
139
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newbury
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We have recently returned from a short break at this superb B & B. Helen is a very accommodating hostess without being overbearing. Our room was vast and the bed was deliciously comfortable. The house is in an elevated position and the views across Ilfracombe are stunning. There is a fabulous choice for breakfast and the eggs are fresh from the resident hens! We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosemaryNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is *the* place to stay in North Devon, without doubt. A boutique hotel with class. The room was luxurious and the big roll top bath was heaven. Stunning in every way and great poached eggs too from their own hens. Felt like a 5 star hotel rather than a bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Westwood. A large, beautiful victorian house and a delicious breakfast with plenty of options. A good location, a short walk to the town centre, harbour and good restaurants. Helen was very welcoming, we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here for one night en route to Lundy Island. Our room was clean, comfortable with modern, tasteful decor. Helen was a perfect hostess - efficient and friendly without being overbearing. The location is good, just a short walk into the centre of Ilfracombe, although it can be difficult to find your way around in the dark. Breakfast in the morning is generous and delicious. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This stunning B&B made a perfect base for the night before and after our wedding, as it's less than a 5 minute walk from Tunnels Beaches. The room and facilities were fabulous and Helen couldn't have been more welcoming or more helpful - even storing the flowers and bubbly for us! She also recommended the excellent Harbour Deli for some pre-wedding sandwiches delivered to Westwood, which I hadn't even thought about! I would thoroughly recommend Westwood for any brides (or grooms) preparing for a wedding at Tunnels, or wedding guests heading there.

The room was huge, bright and beautifully furnished with loads of lovely little touches, from a DVD library to luxury toiletries. The breakfast was absolutely delicious too. The driveway is steep and twisty, but didn't cause us any issues. We very much hope to return soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

We spent one night at Westwood and would definitely stay there again. The room was spacious and very comfortable - big bed, two chairs, good shower. Breakfast was delicious. Helen (manager or owner) was friendly and helpful. Location was hard to find in the dark.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank szbuhayar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
372 reviews
1.2 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
402 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
207 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Habit Boutique Rooms
The Habit Boutique Rooms
#13 of 53 in Ilfracombe
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Epchris House
Epchris House
#9 of 53 in Ilfracombe
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood

Property: Westwood
Address: Westwood Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwood 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Splendor with a modern luxurious and contemporary feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing