We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Weekend”
Review of Westwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Westwood
Ranked #15 of 53 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Weekend”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

A fabulous stay at Westwood this weekend for our wedding. Helen was brilliant and really looked after us all weekend. Breakfast was delicious - especially the egg and bacon muffins. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the view from the front rooms is beautiful across the town. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
139
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My husband and I had a lovely 2 night stay here when we were recently walking the South West coastal path. Westwood is great for proximity to the coastal path and as the owner (Helen) pointed out, a path through the garden provided easy access.
We arrived late-ish on a rainy evening and we couldn’t have been better welcomed. After being shown to our beautiful room, Helen gave us a couple of options of places to eat in town.
Our en-suite room was really nicely appointed with contemporary features, and it was great to have the option of using the equally well -appointed communal bathroom. The rest of the communal areas including the lounge were really welcoming, with a nicely chilled understated ambience.

Breakfast was great with a nice choice of fruits cereals and yoghurts, while on the cooked menu …….. a particular fav.

In addition to Helen we were also welcomed by the 2 house Labradors and a jack Russell who were all lovely in temperament. If you are not keen on dogs, I got the impression a meeting with these guys was only available on request……which we did enthusiastically!
All in all a really good experience and we really hope to return before not too long.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathM1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed here while walking the SWCP. Really friendly welcome and very comfortable, clean, contemporary room. Helen was a fabulous host, nothing was to much trouble - she even drove our car down the very steep driveway!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here (with two other couples) for one night to allow us to attend a wedding at Tunnels Beach. We were made to feel very welcome, and allowed to check in early so that we could get to the wedding. Pots of tea were brought into the lounge for us all and our host was ready to offer any advice we needed.

The room was very comfortable and everything had a feel of quality to it. Breakfast was superb (and very welcome the morning after a wedding celebration). One of our friends was vegan and was looked after well.

I highly recommend this delightful place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhodri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We have recently returned from a short break at this superb B & B. Helen is a very accommodating hostess without being overbearing. Our room was vast and the bed was deliciously comfortable. The house is in an elevated position and the views across Ilfracombe are stunning. There is a fabulous choice for breakfast and the eggs are fresh from the resident hens! We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosemaryNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is *the* place to stay in North Devon, without doubt. A boutique hotel with class. The room was luxurious and the big roll top bath was heaven. Stunning in every way and great poached eggs too from their own hens. Felt like a 5 star hotel rather than a bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Westwood. A large, beautiful victorian house and a delicious breakfast with plenty of options. A good location, a short walk to the town centre, harbour and good restaurants. Helen was very welcoming, we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
374 reviews
1.2 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
404 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Darnley Hotel
The Darnley Hotel
#10 of 20 in Ilfracombe
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Epchris House
Epchris House
#9 of 53 in Ilfracombe
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood

Property: Westwood
Address: Westwood Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwood 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Splendor with a modern luxurious and contemporary feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing