We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous - you must stay here!”
Review of Westwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westwood
Ranked #19 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 February 2011

My husband and i stayed here the night before my 40th birthday, it was wonderful, Helen the owner really has pulled out all the stops ensuring all the personal touches are reached.
I even had a box of chocolates in the room which i thought was a lovely gesture, considering the amount of hotels my husband and i stay in this is not the usual unless requested or paid for.
The house is so grand and if you like victorain prsperties you will truely appreciate its beauty. The interior designing has been cleverly designed combining the old and the new.
We would also like to recommend the chineese restaurant 'the emperors court', again we have eaten in many restaurants including many michelin star restaurants all over the world and this place was super. Great food, really reasonably prices and attentive staff. I even got a surprise birthday cake from the chef. Lovely touch.
Would most definitely stay here again, and wouldn't hesitate in recommending this little gem to anyone.
Well done Helen, keep up with your first class customer service.
Joanne and Craig Davis

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevleyos5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2010

Helen the owner is fantastic and cannot do enough to make you feel welcome at Westwood. It is like home from home. The luxurious, clean and beautifully decorated spacious en suite rooms cannot be faulted. We have been back time and time again and always look forward to stay. A real oasis in Ilfracombe.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinkNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Oh happy days! We felt like we had landed in a mini heaven when we arrived at Westwood one Thursday evening......we were welcomed by Helen with a big smile, who showed us up to our stunning kingsized bedroom. We were offered a larger room at no additional cost, but actually decided to stay with the one booked. We were in need of a rest and it felt like the room which most closely matched our mood. The interiors and furnishings in this boutique B&B are modern, contemporary with hints of fifties, and second to none. This is a beautiful, inspiring and unique place to stay.
As well as ensuite shower, our room offered a second beautiful shared bathroom with a standalone bath, ideal for soaks after long walks on the coast.
Breakfast was the proverbial icing (but not literally!), with a choice of traditional English dishes or a more continental style.
Westwood is ideally located, on a quiet street 5-10 mins walk either from the coastline for walks, or the centre for meals out or pubs.

We will certainly be back for more!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoNicBox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

A real home from home. The best small hotel in Ilfracoombe by a Devon mile!
Owner Helen was charming and a produced the most fantastic breakfasts in double quick time. Highly recommended for both business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjs63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Our stay at the Westwood could not have been better. In fact, this is one of the best B&Bs we've stayed at. Ever.

The innkeeper, Helen, was absolutely charming, effortlessly hospitable and always available to assist with bookings, taxis, and recommendations.

The house is a beautifully renovated Victorian without being obssesively period in decor. We had a top floor room, which was large and comfortable and had huge ensuite bath.

The breakfasts were wonderful and included nice touches like local honey and yogurt.

Altogether really good value fOr money. We can't wait to return for a long weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelkat_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Nothing was too much bother! The big, family room fitted all of us easily - 2 kids plus baby. Great place to stay if you want to drive to surf locally. Highly recommended it. Service with a smile too, despite having our rather loud children in tow...

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannahk005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Just spent five days in this fantastic boutique hotel, the decor is fantastic throughout, the breakfasts were outstanding and we were made to feel like part of the family! We will certainly be returning in the future, A big thanks to helen and ty for making our honeymoon a special one, best wishes from rob and julie from birmingham.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stigsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.8 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#15 of 20 in Ilfracombe
348 reviews
2.1 mi away
High Ways House
High Ways House
#1 of 1 in Mullacott
13 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood

Address: Westwood Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range: £80 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwood 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Splendor with a modern luxurious and contemporary feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Westwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing