We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Retreat”

Westwell Hall Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Westwell Hall Hotel
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Devon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful Retreat”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I've just indulged in a week's retreat at Westwell Hall and loved every minute. The area is outstanding, the building itself is beautiful and the entrance hall blows you away!
The amazing Woolacombe Bay is a short car journey away and there are some stunning locations for walking nearby.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2006

We took a party of twenty, occupying the whole hotel. Everything is excellent. Atmosphere, food, choice of food, rooms, service, cleanliness- all without fault. From the first moment everyone felt welcome. We all took our meals at the same time which may have been expected to cause some difficulty. It did not! Although, as a party, we like to move on year by year for next year we are making an exception. We are going back to the Westwell Hall!! Mike and Val Riley (Dorset).

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Littletallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2006

We have just returned from a week' s stay at Westwell Hall. Nikky and David gave us a warm friendly welcome. As the hotel has recently been refurbished its very clean and tidy, but has kept its old charm about it.
The bedroom had a fantastic sea view, and was very spacious even with the sofa bed for our 4-year-old, with chairs, desk and a TV. There are 2 lounges and a conservatory to use with a selection of games to play, so you don't have to be restricted to your bedroom.
The full English breakfast and dinner were lovely, so nice not to have to cook.
The hotel is in beautiful surroundings and whilst set up on the hill, it’s only a short walk into town which our 4 year old managed or you can drive in as there is plenty of parking in Ilfracombe.
It was a good base for our North Devon holiday, with lots to do in Ilfracombe. After several years of holidaying abroad in large hotels, it was nice to have good old fashioned English hospitality.

  • Liked — Fantastic SeaView and location
  • Disliked — bed a bit hard
  • Tips/Secrets — Just enjoy yourselves
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 July 2006

We have just returned from a weekend at the Westwell Hall Hotel in Ilfracombe. After arriving lately, it was no problem to check in with delay, although there is no "professional concierge" - it's a familiy business. The owners are very friendly, an homelike atmosphere is guaranteed!

We've had a spacious but homely room which was lovingly furnished and decorated. Everything was spotlessly clean. Rates were very reasonable. It's a peaceful and tranquil place to spend a weekend (or even longer) off. You should book a room with sea view - it's marvellous!

Breakfast was superb, they serve Full English Breakfast. The breakfast service is very obliging. Last not least: It is a lovely place where prices are very reasonable.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
1.0 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
334 reviews
1.2 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
249 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
309 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwell Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwell Hall Hotel

Property: Westwell Hall Hotel
Address: Westwell Hall Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Westwell Hall Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing