We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“mnnnm lack of sleep and lots of stairs!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Devon Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Devon Bay Hotel
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“mnnnm lack of sleep and lots of stairs!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

Got this hotel as a special deal through KGB - Im glad I didnt spend any more though - the plus points; nice breakfast, nice barman ummmm - we were supposed to be there for two nights but left at 6.15pm on 2nd night as couldn't face the stairs up to the room where we were......and didnt sleep first night because of seagulls squarking all night and the very soft mattress.
When we asked for our key on the saturday night (room 363), we were told 'ah they gave you that one because you're under 70!!!' - true, the hotel was full of older people, think they were on coach trips.

Room Tip: Definitely refuse room 363 - so many stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank seb1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    139
    122
    86
    76
See reviews for
41
297
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Staffordhshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

This is not a bad hotel for 2 star.
Our room was at the top of the building with 55 steps to reach it ( no lift)
The room itself was a bit small but had everything we needed, including a dressing table with an overhead light and a hair dryer, The bed was clean as was the bathroom but the room could have done with a bit of a dust and vaccum.
All staff, from the room cleaners, reception and restaurant were extremely effecient and bent over backwards to provide anything we requested.
The food was excellent. best lasagne had for ages.
Good entertainment most nights, drinks we thought were a bit expensive.
My only complaint really, the bed. Very clean, but very hard, you could actually feel the springs! If this hotel invested in better mattresses and perhaps paid a bit more attention to the little things, like dusting, then they would equal 3 star

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank youngsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

I enjoyed my break the food was excellent and plenty of it.
The room left a little to be desired, the wardrobe would have been inadequate for 2 people
as it was a cupboard in the wall. The room could have been cleaner, but the sheets were very clean. The staff were all polite and helpful. The holiday was cheap and as they say you get what you pay for. I needed the break and enjoyed my 5days.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stellam53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

The hotel left a lot to be desired. The rooms were small, dark and in need of renovation. The beds were extremely hard and uncomfortable. Bathrooms were small and in need of a complete re-fit. Some only had a very small shower cubicle, others had a bath but with no shower attachment, so hair-washing proved a problem. Our room had no hairdryer as someone had "stolen it". One was available to borrow from Reception each time I needed it, but this was not practical. Meals were very basic - at dinner, the (packet) soup each day was the same - only the name changed ie from Vegetable to Irish Vegetable. I've never been to a hotel where half a slice of white bread is left on a plate, awaiting your arrival. Stairs were very steep and narrow and the one lift did not cover all areas of the hotel. Having said the above, the staff were extremely helpful and polite and did all they could to help. Extra staff had obviously been taken on to help with the arrival of 2 coaches and bags were carried to the rooms. The bar area and entertainment was very good and the location excellent. Sleeping was difficult because of the very loud noise from seagulls and the rooms could do with better double-glazing.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RoxieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

We had a pleasant 3 night break at this hotel in the centre of Ilfracombe. Staff were very polite and helpful. Room was adequate, only disappoin ment was that it had only got a bath and not a shower. Food was of a good standard. Breakfast was adequate, having the option of cereals followed by a cooked breakfast. Dinner menu had an offering of 3 starters, mains and desserts. A vegetarian option was also available. All in all a good value break at a nice family run hotel

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Topcat32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

Stayed here for three nights and it was just like Falty Towers. The rooms were dirty and although I had a decent bathroom, my friends encountered bathrooms which had black mould. The meals were like school dinners and I have never been to a hotel where half a slice of white bread was placed on every side plate for dinner.Although I was fortunate and had a single room which had supposedly been renovated, I thought the room looked tired. There was thick dust on the headboard and a dead wasp on the floor. In addition, the teapot had not been emptied from the previous occupant and there was a packet of half eaten cheese straws in the drawer. Plusses: the water was hot and the bed linen was clean.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sjlta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ilfracombe hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

Spent a 5 day holiday at this very friendly family run hotel We were immediately welcomed with a lovely cup of tea while our cases were brought in from the coach and then received our key from reception no irritating queue for key for lift. Our room was spacious, clean, warm but airy, beds were comfortable and hostess tray and television all working and available, plenty of wardrobe and drawer space.
Food was excellent, variable and tasty all home cooked and service was good.
All the staff were friendly and helpful. Entertainment each night first class.
Altogether a fantastic holiday looking forweard to another one staying here.

Room Tip: Steps up to the hotel but a helpful hand rail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dusty003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.4 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.9 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Bay Hotel

Property: Devon Bay Hotel
Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AF, England (Formerly Grosvenor Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Devon Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Devon Bay Hotel. Its Stately Victorian exterior fully compliments the stylish and characteristic interior, blending old and new styles to create a unique and exciting environment. Our large and airy restaurant looks out to the front of the hotel, serving freshly prepared breakfast and dinner every day. We also have a large bar and comfortable lounge areas, which are great to sit and enjoy a drink and relax. The Devon Bay Hotel is ideally located in the bustling centre of Ilfracombe, minutes from the cliff tops and beautiful sandy beach, meaning guests have everything they need within walking distance. Our aim at Devon Bay Hotel is to ensure that your stay with us is pleasurable. You will always receive a friendly warm welcome, whether you are visiting us for lunch or dinner, a function or an overnight stay. Whether business or pleasure, why not make the Devon Bay Hotel first on your list of new venues to visit - we look forward to welcoming you. Step outside and you are on the Promenade with its many shops, cafes, and the Landmark Theatre complex. Open all year around, we offer Christmas and New Year Packages and our nightly entertainment ensures that your visit to the Devon Bay Hotel will be enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Devon Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Hotel Ilfracombe
Devon Bay Hotel Ilfracombe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing