We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldnt stay there for one night let alone two”
Review of Devon Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Devon Bay Hotel
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Couldnt stay there for one night let alone two”
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Hotel was very tired with car parking space for 6 cars!!!!! when hotel must have around 70 rooms. The room we was given was awful the bed linen smelt funny the carpet was all stained there was a hold on the main door handle which you could see through into the bathroom and just basically run down. We left the hotel after around 20 mins and found somewhere else stay on late rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Claire6300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    140
    126
    90
    76
See reviews for
44
299
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

The Hotel was very very tired wallpaper very old fashioned and so was the carpets
everywhere needed a good clean and refurnish - When we arrived we didn't even
get a hello just given a key - What floor is this? Lift very old and not very good
Room very very basic, not very clean, no shower, taps on bath were basin taps,
toilet was very old and very worn, the toilet brush was disgusting. Wish I had read
reviews - I would not have gone. We drove there - big mistake there is no parking to
this hotel or the surrounding ones, there is a car park - pay and display.
First morning was OK waitress was very friendly and polite, breakfast very basic but
OK Second morning an older waitress she ignored us for about 20mins and other couples around - when she did come not Good Morning but What do you want - tea or coffee and what else - just plain rude. The Hotel Inspector would have had a fit. Some rooms had
a shower but they are off the taps. We overlooked a disused part of the hotel, it was
like a tipping area - horrible. (Avoid room 337) This was an offer where you also get
a bottle of wine on arrival - cheap wine about a £1 a bottle and dirty glasses - lovely.
I could not recommend this hotel to anyone. There were even cobwebs above our heads
in the dining room.

Room Tip: I very much doubt if they have any good rooms - the best you can hope for is a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mcooksey24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ilfracombe hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

This so called 'bargain' break was booked though KGB.
The website is misleading, they boast a premier hotel on the seafront which in fact its not premier or on the promenade seafront. its in front of a run down kebab shop. The room was cramped and our bathroom was small, smelt of damp and had mould on the tiles. The "small car park for private guests" as they state was only for 6 cars but the hotel has 70 rooms! its ok at night but you have to pay car park fees in the day.
We found the receptionist ( who doubled as a barmaid ) unprofessional
We were booked and paid to stay 2 nights but left after one night!

Room Tip: The tip is not to book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Krystal52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Booked this with Glenton for myself husband and 83yr old Dad.This Hotel is not on Promenade as described in their brochure no scenic views and a derelict Hotel next door.Room given to my dad had stair right inside door(EXTREMELY DANGEROUS) given keys to 2 other rooms best 1 had no view but safe.Changed our room but could only open 1 window rest permanently closed.Rooms never cleaned or hoovered only the beds made,bathrooms not cleaned properly.Public areas quite spacious but again never cleaned,The one exception The Bar thanks to Alan who was polite and friendly but prices extortinate.The Dining Area adequate, dirty table covers not changed fr Sunday to Friday after Coach Driver put in complaint on our behalf. Breakfast good ,Dinner, Soup was not home made( badly made packet soups) Roasts pre sliced but acceptable except for the night it was supposed to be baked ham (we call it cold sliced meat ) certainly not homemade 1 thin slice per adult, yes there was plenty vegetables and a good choice just as well as the roast potatoes were burnt, boiled potatoes black and the watery mash. Sweets (eg Coupe Jamacian Pineapple,Ice Cream with Cream) fruit & cream nothing wrong with that but say it like it is.Long journey, weather brilliant,Ilfracombe a big disappointmentand would not recommend this HOTEL.Go and see WOOLACOMBE 15mins away absolutely beautiful

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cats3Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Got this hotel as a special deal through KGB - Im glad I didnt spend any more though - the plus points; nice breakfast, nice barman ummmm - we were supposed to be there for two nights but left at 6.15pm on 2nd night as couldn't face the stairs up to the room where we were......and didnt sleep first night because of seagulls squarking all night and the very soft mattress.
When we asked for our key on the saturday night (room 363), we were told 'ah they gave you that one because you're under 70!!!' - true, the hotel was full of older people, think they were on coach trips.

Room Tip: Definitely refuse room 363 - so many stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank seb1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Staffordhshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

This is not a bad hotel for 2 star.
Our room was at the top of the building with 55 steps to reach it ( no lift)
The room itself was a bit small but had everything we needed, including a dressing table with an overhead light and a hair dryer, The bed was clean as was the bathroom but the room could have done with a bit of a dust and vaccum.
All staff, from the room cleaners, reception and restaurant were extremely effecient and bent over backwards to provide anything we requested.
The food was excellent. best lasagne had for ages.
Good entertainment most nights, drinks we thought were a bit expensive.
My only complaint really, the bed. Very clean, but very hard, you could actually feel the springs! If this hotel invested in better mattresses and perhaps paid a bit more attention to the little things, like dusting, then they would equal 3 star

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank youngsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

I enjoyed my break the food was excellent and plenty of it.
The room left a little to be desired, the wardrobe would have been inadequate for 2 people
as it was a cupboard in the wall. The room could have been cleaner, but the sheets were very clean. The staff were all polite and helpful. The holiday was cheap and as they say you get what you pay for. I needed the break and enjoyed my 5days.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stellam53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.1 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
418 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#6 of 20 in Ilfracombe
273 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
684 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Bay Hotel

Property: Devon Bay Hotel
Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AF, England (Formerly Grosvenor Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Devon Bay Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Devon Bay Hotel. Its Stately Victorian exterior fully compliments the stylish and characteristic interior, blending old and new styles to create a unique and exciting environment. Our large and airy restaurant looks out to the front of the hotel, serving freshly prepared breakfast and dinner every day. We also have a large bar and comfortable lounge areas, which are great to sit and enjoy a drink and relax. The Devon Bay Hotel is ideally located in the bustling centre of Ilfracombe, minutes from the cliff tops and beautiful sandy beach, meaning guests have everything they need within walking distance. Our aim at Devon Bay Hotel is to ensure that your stay with us is pleasurable. You will always receive a friendly warm welcome, whether you are visiting us for lunch or dinner, a function or an overnight stay. Whether business or pleasure, why not make the Devon Bay Hotel first on your list of new venues to visit - we look forward to welcoming you. Step outside and you are on the Promenade with its many shops, cafes, and the Landmark Theatre complex. Open all year around, we offer Christmas and New Year Packages and our nightly entertainment ensures that your visit to the Devon Bay Hotel will be enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Devon Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Hotel Ilfracombe
Devon Bay Hotel Ilfracombe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing