We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Devon Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Devon Bay Hotel
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Have just spent 3 nights at the Grovesnor Hotel. First time but I'm sure it won't be the last. The room was clean, light and airy with plenty of space. The food was excellent considering the hotel is only 2* and varied. All the staff were welcoming and friendly and the entertainments were good. All-in-all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

I stayed here at the end of April 2012 on a Groupon offer, for two nights, and I have to say that I felt I was constantly being slightly conned. The offer was apparently based on the rack rate for May (so would have been a bargain in July!) but in March or April it is actually cheaper to walk in off the street. I had paid for a double room through the offer, but having admitted I was alone was given a single. The "special price" on dinner was £4 dearer than the price charged to arrivals off the street, did not include a bottle of sparkling wine as claimed, had cheese or sweet instead of cheese and sweet as claimed on the website and was really nothing special. The atmosphere was like a function, all sit down together, all get soup together and so on. Best avoided, there are many good eating places around the hotel.
Breakfast menu is good but helpings are small - fair enough, I suppose, as the hotel caters mainly to pensioner coach parties and would waste a lot of food otherwise.
I have to say the place appeared to have been redecorated, my room was tiny but well fitted and the shower-room was spacious enough and appeared to be brand-new. Water was hot, toiletries provided but the towels very small. I rather enjoyed the Victorian atmosphere, and the public rooms are comfortable enough to sit in and read if the weather is wet!
This hotel is probably better than most in Ilfracombe but check any offer rates against a comparison site and do your eating and drinking elsewhere!

Room Tip: My room was the handiest in a labyrinthine hotel, at the top of the first flight of stairs from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here several times and each time was a very pleasant and comfortable experience. The staff is magnificent, the bar is congenial, the food is excellent, and the total package is outstanding. The room rates are very reasonable and the staff can arrange almost any sort of tour or activity. We've tried several hotels in Ilfracombe, and this is the best by far for the price, the service, and the ambience.

Room Tip: Some rooms require a short flight of stairs to access them. The elevator serves the rest of the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prmsencik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed at hotel overnight after appearing at Ilfracome Rotary Club Charity Concert.

Positives:-
Evening meal amd breakfast was very good. Waitresses / Bar staff (evening) friendly and very helpful.

Negatives:-
Complaints from group of poor room cleanliness, some very small "double rooms".
Bar prices extortionate.
Night Porter attitude.
Shower water "scolding".
Towels -very worn and thin.
Will not be using hotel if we are invited back to perform at the Holy Trinity Church by Ilfracombe Rotay Club in 2013.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Had a wonderful time again. Been to this hotel six times now over the last eight years and have always had a marvelousl time at this family run hotel. The food was fabulous. We had lovely rooms there also. The staff are very friendly and cannot do enough to help. Entertainment was alright - needs a bit updating though. Looking forward to going again soon.

Room Tip: It would be a big help (as there are a lot of elderly/limited mobility residents at the hotel if the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheila l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my partner as a groupon deal.
Check in - staff friendly but only parking for 6 cars ( as seems to cater for elderly coach parties) so we had to find a side street to park in.
Bedroom - A maze of stairs to get to the room, comfortable bed used blanket and sheets instead of duvet, hair in the bath and sink, walls so thin you could hear the tv and people going to the toilet in the next room, cups for tea and coffee were dirty. The tv picture was of poor reception and was very small.
Food - breakfast was nice and the evening meal was ok for the price, the waiting staff were outstanding and very professional. The drinks were reasonable priced.
General hotel - cleaniness in public areas was fine, the hotel is dated but the staff were polite.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kitkatExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

An excellent hotel if your retired as the hotel was extremely dated and reminded me of a residential home. When we arrived we had to wait for the barman to finish serving drinks before we could check in as the young man at reception told us he was unable to do this.

All the staff were very polite and friendly but the home was in need of some TLC. Our room (Superior???) smelled damp and the beds looked like someone had already slept in them, sheets very crumpled. They were also extremely uncomfortable and bedding consisted of a sheet and heavy blanket (no quilt). The bathroom was spacious but the extractor fan was loud and took a while to shut off after the light was switched off. The television was very small and had limited channels.

There was a tray of tea, coffee etc but the kettle had not been emptied of water so we had to rinse it out before use.

Going down for breakfast the following morning we were allocated a table away from the main dining area up a flight of stairs to a small room that had a few tables and some very tired chairs. There was already an uncovered jug of milk on the table that had 'bits' in it (possibly dust particles). Full English breakfast consisted of half a slice of deep fried bread, 1 egg, 1 sausage,1 bacon, 1 tomato (tinned), some fried new potatoes and a rack of toast. Marmalade and butter were in dishes on the table.

We had booked a 2 night stay but needless to say we decided to cut short our break and set off for home at 8:30 am after breakfast. Our Groupon voucher stated the deal included a bottle of wine on arrival but we never received one. You may ask the question 'why didn't you ask for it', well we did consider this but having already made our judgement of the hotel we opted to pass on that offer.

Room Tip: Not sure what to advise really but keep your windows closed as the seagulls are extremely loud at 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.4 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#15 of 20 in Ilfracombe
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
471 reviews
0 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#6 of 20 in Ilfracombe
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
289 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Bay Hotel

Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AF, England (Formerly Grosvenor Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ilfracombe
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Devon Bay Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Devon Bay Hotel. Its Stately Victorian exterior fully compliments the stylish and characteristic interior, blending old and new styles to create a unique and exciting environment. Our large and airy restaurant looks out to the front of the hotel, serving freshly prepared breakfast and dinner every day. We also have a large bar and comfortable lounge areas, which are great to sit and enjoy a drink and relax. The Devon Bay Hotel is ideally located in the bustling centre of Ilfracombe, minutes from the cliff tops and beautiful sandy beach, meaning guests have everything they need within walking distance. Our aim at Devon Bay Hotel is to ensure that your stay with us is pleasurable. You will always receive a friendly warm welcome, whether you are visiting us for lunch or dinner, a function or an overnight stay. Whether business or pleasure, why not make the Devon Bay Hotel first on your list of new venues to visit - we look forward to welcoming you. Step outside and you are on the Promenade with its many shops, cafes, and the Landmark Theatre complex. Open all year around, we offer Christmas and New Year Packages and our nightly entertainment ensures that your visit to the Devon Bay Hotel will be enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Devon Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Hotel Ilfracombe
Devon Bay Hotel Ilfracombe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing