We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical seaside hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Devon Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Devon Bay Hotel
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
481 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
“Typical seaside hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Just come back from a stay at the Grosvenor. It is located in a prime position in Ilfracombe and you can literally walk out the front door onto the sea front. Like most of the buildings in this town it is either georgian or victorian and the inside is dominated by large rooms and high ceilings. Yes it is a bit tired in places but it is well decorated, spacious and spotlessly clean. The dining room seats about 50 and the foyer and lounge has comfortable chairs and settee's. There is some form of entertainment most nights ( a guitarist and music request show) when we were there, and the entertainment is basic. However it would appear that alot of the guests come in on coach trips and by the very nature are middle aged or elderly, and this seems quite acceptable to them. Drinks are reasonably priced (£1 for a bottle of water. £3.70 for a pint of cider) and the food is again very reasonable, and you can get a three course meal for about £15. We had roast lamb one night and cod mornie the next. The food was well cooked, hot and delicious, and the breakfasts were also great! In my opinion the hotels greatest asset is it staff. They are all very very friendly, curteous, helpful and good at what they do. When you stay there you have to remember that this is a small seaside hotel that gives a good product for around £49 per person per night including breakfast. You are not paying Ritz prices so what you get in my opinion is really good value for money. Also I can't believe I have read revues that complain about the seagulls! What do people expect to find at the seaside?

Room Tip: The lift stops at the third floor so if you are old , disabled or just unfit then get a room on floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank geronimo1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    139
    122
    86
    76
See reviews for
41
297
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

we stayed three nights [two via groupon] and paid for one at normal rate. having read some scathing reviews from
posters we were a bit dubious about booking,however the only downside was parking which with a little planning we overcame.the management and staff were curtious ,friendly and helpful. room was spacious ,food was excellent and
what some called a rabbit warren of stairways i would call quirky,mealtimes were manic but the staff coped superbly,
would we revisit ,certainly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dannyjknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

We were bought a groupon voucher by as a present - and lord knows why we booked this hotel! it was for 2 nights - away from the kids! had to hike to our room, and when we got there we were gobsmacked! not only was it run down - but it stank of cigarette smoke. The bathroom was very grubby looking - with no shower. I refused to take a bath in it. Another revelation was seagulls don't sleep - the first night was kept awake by the bloody things - second night was fine - I bought some ear plugs! breakfast the next morning was spent on our phones trying to find another hotel. The only meals we had were breakfast which was fine. The staff were friendly, although one young waiter did not seem to have any comprehension of what tomato sauce was. All I can say is im glad we didnt pay full price - although the oldies seem to like it!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nighthawk79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ilfracombe hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

My wife and have just spent a couple of nights at this hotel and quite frankly had no problem with it. Yes, it's a bit run down and yes, it caters for coach trips for the elderly and yes, the evening entertainment is cheesy but the place has character! Our room was basic but it was clean and functional. The breakfast was as good as we expected and the staff couldn't have been any more polite, even under pressure and while dealing with the odd 'moaners' who seemed to expect preferential treatment (you get them everywhere!). Perfect for a base while you explore the beautiful Devon coastline. Bottom line is if you expect 5 star treatment, go to a 5 star hotel! We certainly wouldn't have a problem returning there!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drummie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Just spent 4 nights DBB at this hotel on a Caledonian Travel coach tour from Glasgow. Having read previous reviews I was somewhat alarmed at what was being written about this hotel but so often in the past, I have been pleasantly surprised to find it better than expected. Based on my holiday experience, I would rate this hotel as average and here are the pros and cons in no particular order.
The hotel was built in Victorian times so its old but with lots of character features. It has a small lift but some rooms are still only reached by additional stairs. I found my twin room to be basic but functional with television (not flat screen), hair dryer, telephone, tea/coffee facilities, en-suite with shower and double glazing/central heating. Our bedding was sheets and blankets rather than duvets. The cleaner kept our room clean and provided daily service for towels and toileties. In the restaurant, cereals and juices plus full English breakfast was excellent and there were other choices like poached or scrambled egg, buttered kippers etc. In the evening, there were usually 3 choices for starters, 2 main courses plus salads followed by 3 dessert choices and tea or coffee. The food standard in general was qiute plain and the portions were adequate. Nothing to write home about and I could not have expected superior quisine given the price paid. All credit, however to the staff for their excellent service and friendly approach. The hotel had entertainment every night during our stay although it is geared towards the over 50s. But oh those seagulls will keep you awake from very early but this is outwith the hotels control. I had to shut the double glazed window to minimise the noise. Now as we all have different standards and expectations, it is difficult to determine how you might see this hotel. Just remember that you can please some of the people some of the time etc ... you know the old rhyme. And of course you only get what you pay for these days.
Ilfracombe is a lovely resort and is quite hilly in places but the Grosvenor is situated on a slight gradient up from the small beach. The shops are up a steep gradient on the main street behind the hotel. The harbour area is very good indeed and there are lots of different things to keep you occupied.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NCraig186560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

A very tired old hotel by the sea. Creaky floors, below average entertainment , clean but very small rooms. To be fair the food was excellent and the waiting staff were so friendly. I was a bit surprised that there was no receptionist on duty in the evening. Any queries or requests for keys were dealt with by the barman which was a bit infuriating as it was not uncommon to wait at the bar for a drink for ten minutes while the barman was dealing with a problem at reception.
The biggest and by far the most awful thing about this area is the seagulls. They continually squawk from 3.30am right above the hotel and are in competition with others on the next roof and across the road. It must be a territorial thing but one thing for sure it is so damned annoying and makes sleeping impossible. It is not just this area but all over Ilfracombe there are thousands of gulls and rooftop nests and the local council seems to have given up on how to deal with the problem. I know seagulls are supposed to be found at the seaside but this is a serious problem which has to be addressed. When seagulls are now basically as tame as pigeons and are landing on tables in outdoor restaurant areas to steal food off of plates enough is enough. I would sum up by saying that if you are hard of hearing and a member of the RSPB this is the place for you, if not you should steer well clear.

Room Tip: Not a lot of difference. Side rooms can be less than private as you can see in from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sycamore68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

The room in this hotel was very small and basic.Staff were friendly apart from that this hotel is very dated .Food was ok but nothing great .Sleeping was hard because of the noise the seagulls made.Will not return all in all a waste of money

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tracymay28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.4 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.9 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Bay Hotel

Property: Devon Bay Hotel
Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AF, England (Formerly Grosvenor Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Devon Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Devon Bay Hotel. Its Stately Victorian exterior fully compliments the stylish and characteristic interior, blending old and new styles to create a unique and exciting environment. Our large and airy restaurant looks out to the front of the hotel, serving freshly prepared breakfast and dinner every day. We also have a large bar and comfortable lounge areas, which are great to sit and enjoy a drink and relax. The Devon Bay Hotel is ideally located in the bustling centre of Ilfracombe, minutes from the cliff tops and beautiful sandy beach, meaning guests have everything they need within walking distance. Our aim at Devon Bay Hotel is to ensure that your stay with us is pleasurable. You will always receive a friendly warm welcome, whether you are visiting us for lunch or dinner, a function or an overnight stay. Whether business or pleasure, why not make the Devon Bay Hotel first on your list of new venues to visit - we look forward to welcoming you. Step outside and you are on the Promenade with its many shops, cafes, and the Landmark Theatre complex. Open all year around, we offer Christmas and New Year Packages and our nightly entertainment ensures that your visit to the Devon Bay Hotel will be enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Devon Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Hotel Ilfracombe
Devon Bay Hotel Ilfracombe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing