We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break”
Review of Devon Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Devon Bay Hotel
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Weekend Break”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We have just spent a very enjoyable 4 days at this hotel with Just Go holidays.
The room was spotless with fresh towels at all times.
The food was excellent with very generous helpings (compliments to the chef) and the dining room was also spotless with really friendly staff.
The entertainment in the evenings was also excellent especially the singer and guitar player on Saturday night. A really good weekend

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cicestrians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    139
    125
    88
    76
See reviews for
43
297
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Four day holiday with JUST GO coach holidays
On arrival at the Grosvenor hotel we were given a lovely warm cup off coffee or tea which was very acceptable after a 8/9 hour journey ,whilst we had our coffee our suitcases were taken to our rooms by the bag boy's and girl's which was a very pleasant surprise, the rooms though smallish were
very adequate, the shower again smallish but lovely and clean ,towels were changed once on the second day, tea making facilities were also covered as was toilet tissue, 3 rolls.
Cleanliness of the hotel was second to none our room was cleaned 3 of the 4 days we were there.
Food was very good and we also had a good variety to choose from, the waiters were at your beck and call and always with a smile , bar man Bob from Detroit was very pleasant.
Entertainment was excellent, a fine guitarist /singer and also Steve the DJ .
On vacating the rooms we put our suitcases out side the bedroom door , whilst we had our breakfast the cases were taken to the coach for us once again, fantastic....
I am left now to say thank you to the staff and management of the hotel for making our stay most enjoyable plus JUST GO COACHES thank you Brian the Irish driver for your humour and
banter throughout the whole holiday a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catskittens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Booked two nights with groupon and was made to feel inferior as when I complained about our room 363 I was told this was what you got with these deals . I am 68 and my wife is 66 and we had no help at all getting to what was the highest room in the hotel along corridores and up several twisting flights of stairs carrying our suitcases to find the room was only adequate. The mattress on the bed needed replacing and we had the worst nights sleep ever. Waiting staff were OK but the managerial staff need lessons in courtesyWould not recommend or return to this hotel.

Room Tip: avoid rooms where the lift does not service
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ilfracombe hotels

Ongar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Groupon deal, £69 for two nights, but had to pay £20 for 'upgrade'. Disappointing hotel, tired hotel where the rooms are off many corridors and stairs. Booking in was fraught as a coachload of OAPs arrived just as we did, and finding our room was a trial as it was up and down small staircases, through doors, along corridors - the hotel is an absolute warren!! Room was small but adequate. Shower could have done with a good clean, and hubbie skidded off the toilet as the seat was not fixed on! Our room faced a quiet road and a large building.
Uncomfortable night - in the morning I pulled back the covers to discover we had been sleeping on a rubber sheet - this hotel caters for mostly older people (make your own conclusions!).
Breakfast was adequate - served at the table. Small selection of cereal, full English or kippers or scrambled/poached eggs. Cooked nicely and service good.
Entertainment poor - aimed at the older clientele.
Definitely would not go back, although as a place to sleep it was OK - on the main road so central for the shops and restaurants of Ilfracombe. Reasonable price for two nights, but I would prefer to pay a little more and have a better quality next time.
Ilfracombe is a traditional resort but has lots of nice restaurants and a small harbour.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs, be sure to mention this when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Just come back from a 2 night break at the Grosvenor! We did what seems to be the same as most other reviewers and had our voucher from Happli. We did pay for an upgrade however we are still not sure what we got for it. Our room was 362 and it was up in the gods! a good job that we aren't over a certain age as it is a long way to carry cases. The room was very small but clean. The bathroom had a damp smell asthough the floor had been cleaned with a dirty mop so we put the extracter on to help clear it!
We had no change of towels as you had to request this. I don't think that the bathroom was cleaned or the room vaccuumed as I had used one of the shower gels and the empty bottle was exactly where I had left it in the shower, there was also a piece of paper under the chair that was still there after they had cleaned.
The BED was the worst bed I have ever slept in.............you could feel every spring in the mattress. I know you only use a hotel for a base however you do expect a comfortable bed not one that you can't sleep in.
On a possitive note the staff were really friendly even if the service was a little slow, the breakfast was ok. The hotel was in a convienent situation. The evening entertainment wasn't our cup of tea however the coach parties and the more mature guests seemed to enjoy it. It was lovely to see them all enjoying themselves.
This hotel does need some T.L.C as the decor is a bit dated and the sun lounge is a little what I would expect to see in a retirement home.
On the whole if we hadn't paid for the upgrade( if anyone can tell me what it was I would appreciate it) it would have been a fair price however I wouldn't have paid the full price advertised at the enterance to the hotel £45pppn bed & breakfast. we all have different ideas as to what we want from a hotel and this was a popular hotel with returning guests and the more mature guest however I don't think that we will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bewdley45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Eaton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We purchased a 2 night internet deal, and feel we got value for money. We had read some reviews prior to staying, and were a little wary of what to expect! The staff were friendly and polite. The room was adequate, although the shower cubicle left alot to be desired! We feel for what we payed, it was quite satisfactory- the breakfast was nice, with a good selection. It didn't bother us that most of the other guests were elderly, and that the entertainment was aimed at them ( although I got " shussed " at, when I ordered a drink while bingo was on!! ). The hotel is located very close to the shops and the harbour. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay, and if we found another cheap deal, would definitely stay again, but wouldn't pay full price.

Room Tip: You don't get a choice, but didn't enquire when booking, so not sure if you can choose. Woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkby Stephen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Having purchased a two night internet deal for £89 for two people including breakfast, we certainly got value for money. The Grosvenor was exactly what we expected, a typical seaside hotel catering for mainly coach parties and elderly people which was what we experienced. Our criteria for this trip was somewhere to sleep and as long as it was clean it would meet our expectations. The Staff without exception were very helpful and friendly and the best bit about our stay. The Breakfast was very nice, good selection of cereal, fruit juices, full English, Kippers etc. Although our room/bedding was clean and recently painted it had seen better days. The furniture was very old chipped mdf board with the headboard just screwed to the walls with no attempt to hide the screws etc. It was incredibly scruffy. Likewise the bathroom was clean, but the mould on the mastic around the shower and basin that couldn't be scrubbed off should have been replaced. The whole place needs serious money spent on it. Had we spent more to stay there we would have been disappointed, we were not expecting five star for two star prices. Obviously the Grosvenor is catering for a market but needs to embark on a bit of maintenence.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gill541208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.1 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
261 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Bay Hotel

Property: Devon Bay Hotel
Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AF, England (Formerly Grosvenor Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Devon Bay Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Devon Bay Hotel. Its Stately Victorian exterior fully compliments the stylish and characteristic interior, blending old and new styles to create a unique and exciting environment. Our large and airy restaurant looks out to the front of the hotel, serving freshly prepared breakfast and dinner every day. We also have a large bar and comfortable lounge areas, which are great to sit and enjoy a drink and relax. The Devon Bay Hotel is ideally located in the bustling centre of Ilfracombe, minutes from the cliff tops and beautiful sandy beach, meaning guests have everything they need within walking distance. Our aim at Devon Bay Hotel is to ensure that your stay with us is pleasurable. You will always receive a friendly warm welcome, whether you are visiting us for lunch or dinner, a function or an overnight stay. Whether business or pleasure, why not make the Devon Bay Hotel first on your list of new venues to visit - we look forward to welcoming you. Step outside and you are on the Promenade with its many shops, cafes, and the Landmark Theatre complex. Open all year around, we offer Christmas and New Year Packages and our nightly entertainment ensures that your visit to the Devon Bay Hotel will be enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Devon Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Hotel Ilfracombe
Devon Bay Hotel Ilfracombe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing