We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Devon Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Devon Bay Hotel
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed 2 nights here, with dinner on our first night. My criticism is lack of choice for vegetarians and that the hotel is more suitable for coach parties, who were having a very good time, than for couples. The entertainment was aimed at the coach parties

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janesmithtrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    139
    125
    88
    76
See reviews for
43
297
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Reception very friendy to start. Turkey was raw on my dinner, mentioned it to staff and was told I was used to eating dry turkey and this was moist, no it was raw very pink and raw texture. Desert chosen was bread & butter pudding with custard, that too was uncooked bread had been soaked in egg mixture but not cookwd enough. Other diners complained about the turkey 4 that I know of in dining room. A resident was complaining about the turkey the next morning and manager was making excuses but then apologised and offered dinner free to them. I decided to back up their complaint but I didn't get an apology or the offer of a free meal, however I would have declined as I did not want another undercooked meal. We are going home a day early, this is the first time ever we have done this we just felt constructive criticism was not welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jb44caravan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ilfracombe hotels

Kent
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Had a three night stay at this hotel which we had been informed was only two stars. Well, it might have only two stars but it was excellent value for money. The staff could not have been friendlier and the food was very good. Our room overlooked the kitchens (on the first floor) and we had a friendly seagull who tapped on the window every morning looking to be fed...a surprise but not a problem! The shower was powerful and the bed nice and firm. We would definitely stay at this hotel again as we could not fault it. If you are looking for four star luxury then you will be dissapointed, but if you want a comfortable and pleasant stay for an extremely reasonable price then you will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs then ask to be put on the first floor as there is a lift to the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KentLassKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Went to Ilfracome on a 5 day group holiday and stayed in the Grosvenor Hotel. It was a 2 star hotel but was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. Had a problem with the shower which could not be fixed immediately but offered the use of the shower in the room opposite which was fine. The meals were adequate but could have had more choice, but what we had was plentiful and tasty.
Entertainment each night was fine, and lounge/bar had ample room with good floor for the dancers.
It is a hilly place, up hill to the main shopping street but level walk to the pretty harbour, on a bus route to nearby places.

Room Tip: we just had view to the street but room there to sleep in and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank katelen14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

After reading previous reviews our group of eight friends were dreading seeing the hotel, from the awful yellow colour we thought they must all have correct, how wrong we were, staff were really welcoming and so informative, the rooms were fine, a bit tired with tiny televisions but we were hardly there to watch them, Room 248 had a dreadful picture too, bedrooms and bathrooms were spotless. The food was tasty enough but the vegetarian option was dull... A plain omelette when the normal choice was a roast pork dinner, hardly inspiring!
Overall for the remarkably low price we paid with KGB deals it was fantastic, would highly recommend ( perhaps not for a group of youngsters but middle agers like us fine)
A real bonus was the unexpected Beer and Live Music event being held all weekend at the theatre just two minutes away, such a treat!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank patannejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This is a 2 star hotel, and is basic but spotlessly clean..could do with a refurb but that would more than double the price you pay!
You will not get the luxuries like in more modern hotels but nevertheless the service, staff and friendliness more than made up for this.
Nothing was too much for them to help you with.. The food was basic English traditional home cooked food.... A3 course meal, Set for 7pm... Served by very friendly efficient staff. The food was very well cooked and presented and enjoyable.
I personally enjoy having sheets and blankets on the bed as opposed to duvets and the bed linen was always fresh and clean.
Would thoroughly recommend and stay here again!
Thank you to everyone at the hotel, that made this a relaxing, enjoyable stay. X

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank K9loh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Things this hotel needs to do are as follows...
New televisions in the room with freeview as a minimum.( only 5 channels available...the whole country has freeview now..why not at this hotel?)
Clock radio in the room.
Duvets instead of old fashioned blankets and sheets.
More substantial door locks.
Redecoration throughout.
Supply shower and shampoo toiletries ( none in my room at least )
A much bigger menu choice.
Reprint hotel Info pack...mine stated dinner was at 7 pm on day of arrival then 6 pm after that...in fact dinner was at 7 pm every evening....7 pm is too late for most people.
Do something about the seagulls on the flat roof at the back of the hotel...loadsof seagull poo on the window sills and on some windows.

Room Tip: Struggling here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 419Mrangry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.1 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
261 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Bay Hotel

Property: Devon Bay Hotel
Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AF, England (Formerly Grosvenor Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Devon Bay Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Devon Bay Hotel. Its Stately Victorian exterior fully compliments the stylish and characteristic interior, blending old and new styles to create a unique and exciting environment. Our large and airy restaurant looks out to the front of the hotel, serving freshly prepared breakfast and dinner every day. We also have a large bar and comfortable lounge areas, which are great to sit and enjoy a drink and relax. The Devon Bay Hotel is ideally located in the bustling centre of Ilfracombe, minutes from the cliff tops and beautiful sandy beach, meaning guests have everything they need within walking distance. Our aim at Devon Bay Hotel is to ensure that your stay with us is pleasurable. You will always receive a friendly warm welcome, whether you are visiting us for lunch or dinner, a function or an overnight stay. Whether business or pleasure, why not make the Devon Bay Hotel first on your list of new venues to visit - we look forward to welcoming you. Step outside and you are on the Promenade with its many shops, cafes, and the Landmark Theatre complex. Open all year around, we offer Christmas and New Year Packages and our nightly entertainment ensures that your visit to the Devon Bay Hotel will be enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Devon Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Hotel Ilfracombe
Devon Bay Hotel Ilfracombe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing