We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend break”
Review of Devon Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Devon Bay Hotel
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great weekend break”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Nice hotel and our room was clean and comfortable, lovely friendly staff.
The head waiter was very organised, dinner and breakfast very nice.
Entertainment was included and the singer had a great voice.
Overall our weekend stay at the Grosvenor was good value for money and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 217RAYRAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    139
    125
    90
    76
See reviews for
43
299
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at the Grosvenor, having purchased a voucher, for a "deal" to include an evening dinner. This hotel caters for coach parties so they seem to be catered for first. Room was ok nothing very special, could do with a new modern TV with a remote control and a new shower head would also be good. There are only six spaces to park so had to use public car park both nights. The staff were all very helpful and gave good service and there was entertainment both nights, bar prices were also reasonable.
All I all the hotel fits in with Ilfracombe,a bit tired and in need of updating.

Room Tip: Get one that can be reached via the lift otherwise you may get lost in the rabbit warren.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at the Grosvenor, having purchased a voucher, for a "deal" to include an evening dinner. Before I continue, I will point out that we have had lots of these deals, almost all of which were a fantastic experience. Having never stayed here before, this hotel had an opportunity to impress us, but oh.......nothing could be further from the truth. It's a large hotel, but every inch of it is crying out for t.l.c. and all of it is like being in a time warp. We were shown to a room (no 144) that was smaller than any room we have ever been in. There were two single beds, placed "at odds to each other, and a tiny ensuite. The window was small, with just a top opening section, and in the warmth of a lovely June spell, the heat was intolerable. The decor was drab and depressing and the TV was an old "box" portable.....?, neither of us could face staying in the room. We complained that this was well below our expectations, particularly as we had been hoping to extend our stay by another night. At this point, they had missed the first opportunity to impress us, and further blew the next one by offering us a "posh" room, for which, we would have to pay a supplement of £30 per night....!!!! This room was on a different floor, and was served by a lift. In comparison, this room was great.....2 windows, fully opening to let in light and fresh air. A double bed........and a lovely new shower in the ensuite. The TV was an actual "flat screen" but the smallest size you can buy. So, ignoring the damaged furniture, I'll fitting doors, and old fashioned blankets on the bed, we took the room. Putting the initial findings behind us, we unpacked, and pinned our hopes on a nice dinner. Meanwhile, a large number of additional guests had checked in, a coach party..!!,! It quickly became obvious that this hotel caters for coaches, and it explained why it was reminiscent of an old folks home in both it's decor, decay, and attitude. My husband and I are 75 and 65 respectively, but we certainly weren't "at home" here. Dinner was pretty much a "canteen" experience. Functional, but certainly not special. Two choices at each course, all of the type you would have had at a boarding house in the sixties. (we didn't have dinner in again). Breakfast was again, old style basics. The attitude was, take it or leave it. We asked for grapefruit, they didn't have it. We asked for fresh white toast......it had been kept warm, and resembled rubber. The evening entertainment, advertised in their brochure, was "awful" and we opted to go out in the evenings rather than suffer the experience. On a positive note, some of the staff were helpful, to a point, and the position of the hotel is good. However. We will never, never go back, and cannot recommend it to anyone, even those booking a coach trip. Give this place a very wide berth.

Room Tip: Apparently, our room, the Belgrave Suite.........(no pun intended), was the "posh" end of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ilfracombe hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My wife and I spent two nights in this hotel last summer through a voucher promotion. The room was awful. I asked if we could be moved to another room we were told hotel was full and no other room was available. The room was so bad we decided to ask again only to be told the same. We decided to go for a walk, we talked about what we were going to do, we agreed to ask if we were prepaired to pay more could we move to another room. When we got back to the hotel I asked again mentioning that I would be prepaired to pay more for an upgrade, suprise suprise, we were shown three rooms, all better that what we had so we said we would pay the addition price asked, £60.00. Very annoyed. Never again. They lied, no excuses.

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel. No rooms good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tony226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

As like a lot of reviewers i went to this hotel with a voucher. On arrival staff were very friendly and booking in was painless. Rooms certainly need updating as does the rest of the hotel. Food was excellent for what we paid and waiting staff were very efficient and pleasant. Evening entertainment was ok, having only catching the end on one of my 2 night stay. Overall i would recommend this hotel for a short break as long as you don't mind olde worlde atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where the lift goes as most rooms are up never ending stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alfrescoO3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just like walking into an old people's home! Don't know what our upgrade paid for as the bed was on its last legs, the bedding was blankets! ! The mattress was covered in plastic! There was nothing nice about it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gilltolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Having booked this hotel (on a 2 night Wowcher deal) and then spoke over the telephone with a very efficient, pleasant, informative and polite young lady (Megan), I was very surprised to then read the adverse reviews on Tripadvisor, so it was with some trepidation that we arrived at the hotel.

The available free parking is limited, but not horrendous charges and free between 6pm-10am. We were intending to sight see so was not an issue.

We were warmly greeted at the desk by Megan who gave us information regarding the surrounding area and hotel dining times and we went to our room on the 3rd floor by lift.
The room although small was very clean and the bed very comfortable with spotless sheets. The bathroom was equipped with an over the bath shower and had plenty of towels.
A small TV was adequate and for the price you pay you cannot expect full screen or satellite programmes and who really wants to spend all day in a hotel room. WiFi was available on the ground floor.

We had booked dinner for the first night which was wonderful. I had a broccoli and Stilton soup which was delicious and followed by an equally impressive chicken chasseur and then a mouthwatering pear dessert. The food was served swiftly and was nice and hot.

We were a little tired from the drive down so spent the evening in the bar listening to Paul the singer/guitarist and chatted to Geoff the barman, who went out of his way to assist us.

The next morning we enjoyed another superb meal. The choices were plentiful, the coffee delicious and we had a really tasty full English and plenty of toast.

We spent the day driving down to Clovelly, be warned the climb down to the harbour is not for the unfit or fainthearted! Then spent a lovely afternoon sunbathing on Woolacombe sand.

We ate in a local italian restaurant and then we spent the rest of the evening in the bar with Bob(the Yank) barman(ex US Marine), who is very sociable and amused us with his anecdotes.

After another great nights sleep (despite the noisy seagulls in the early morning) we had another delicious breakfast and set off for home having had a great break.

I work in the travel industry and have stayed in many top rated hotels in the course of my business. This hotel ticked all the boxes for me: Excellent staff; comfortable clean room; good service; good food and value for money.

Without exception the staff are warm, helpful, welcoming and in all instances cheerful. Megan is a wonderful ambassadress for the hotel and would not be out of place at a top London hotel.
The decor may not be to everyone's taste, but the hotel and room was superbly clean and adequately equipped.
The food was of excellent quantity and quality and the service swift and staff pleasant and helpful.

All in all a great short break to recharge our batteries!

To Tripadvisor detractors - get a life! This is a 2 star hotel and provides more than value for money.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 3rd floor served by a lift. No view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Patricia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.1 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
264 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#14 of 20 in Ilfracombe
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#6 of 20 in Ilfracombe
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
208 reviews
0.9 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Bay Hotel

Property: Devon Bay Hotel
Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AF, England (Formerly Grosvenor Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Devon Bay Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Devon Bay Hotel. Its Stately Victorian exterior fully compliments the stylish and characteristic interior, blending old and new styles to create a unique and exciting environment. Our large and airy restaurant looks out to the front of the hotel, serving freshly prepared breakfast and dinner every day. We also have a large bar and comfortable lounge areas, which are great to sit and enjoy a drink and relax. The Devon Bay Hotel is ideally located in the bustling centre of Ilfracombe, minutes from the cliff tops and beautiful sandy beach, meaning guests have everything they need within walking distance. Our aim at Devon Bay Hotel is to ensure that your stay with us is pleasurable. You will always receive a friendly warm welcome, whether you are visiting us for lunch or dinner, a function or an overnight stay. Whether business or pleasure, why not make the Devon Bay Hotel first on your list of new venues to visit - we look forward to welcoming you. Step outside and you are on the Promenade with its many shops, cafes, and the Landmark Theatre complex. Open all year around, we offer Christmas and New Year Packages and our nightly entertainment ensures that your visit to the Devon Bay Hotel will be enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Devon Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Hotel Ilfracombe
Devon Bay Hotel Ilfracombe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing