We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible experience”
Review of Devon Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Devon Bay Hotel
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Reviewed 30 December 2010

My mother and 2 friends have just returned after a xmas break 23/12/10-28/12/10...All are in there 70"s...They were really looking forward to this break...This hotel was freezing cold when they arrived no heating in the bathroom, so after showers they could not get towels dry, they had to go and buy hot water bottles when they arrived as they could not get warm...No action was taken by the hotel to rectify this situation, and they were not the only ones to complain.When they did tell a member of staff they had to go and buy hot water bottles, her reply was oh we have hot water bottles here if you need one.My mother was very ill on xmas day and could not eat her lunch where she was so cold, people thought she had hypothermia, luckily she is ok now... Its a shame because the hotel is in a nice location, and people would have enjoyed themselves a lot more if they were warm.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank archieHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
There are newer reviews for Devon Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2010

rooms were dirty ,entertainment was poor, staff were unhelpful apart from young girl seving our table she belonged in a much better hotel. food did not live up to advertised expectations. 30 members in our group not one will go back. if you want a nice hotel avoid this one.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biglad4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

My mum went on a coach trip - this is her yearly holiday in which she really looks forward to with her friends.
Room 223 avoid! Hotel avoid!
1) No shower (Unable to turn on the bath taps) bad condition, dirty out of date!
2) water coming-in through the roof, reported but she was not moved
Day 1:
When she arrived tea was provided but no coffee and you had to help yourself
By 6pm her case had not arrived for her to change from her long journey, she called reception from the room internal phone to speak to reception but the phone did not work, so had to use her mobile. They took ages to answer the phone and resolve the situation and dinner was at 6:30pm.
Tried to turn the bath taps on (dirty and out of date) was unable to do so.
Went to have a wash instead and found no hot water running from the tap, so had to boil a kettle to get clean for dinner.
Room was cold no heating!
Day 2:
Burnt toast for breakfast, my mum asked the waitress for some not burnt. Her response was this was how it comes! You put it through the machine once and it is not brown enough so we put it through twice! My mum then asked for bread instead!
The Driver complained about the cold and for them to put the heating on!
No cooked meal, just cold process cold food brought in!
During the night water again dripping through the ceiling from the flat roof. Looking at the surrounding areas it looked as though this had been a problem for a while with the curtains had water stains and surrounding areas. Still not moved from the room even though this was reported.
Bed - well mattress hard and lumpy, and she was unable to sleep properly.
Carpet in room was unclean and in need of refurbishment.
Day 3 and 4
Not much better - water dripping profusely,, kept my mum awake all night
Water glugging up the bath plug
Christmas dinner pre brought in not home made very basic
Evening meal Victorian salad - My mother walked in the dinning room all plates had a 2 pieces of ham on the plate and a small bowl of salad. My mum asked if there was an alternative as she does not eat pork. The waitress was exceptionally rude and said not alternatives were available and you will just have to have chips and salad and took her plate! With that the group leader got involved and spoke to the head waitress on duty if they could have an alternative as she also did not eat ham. Eventually 3 pieces of cold cut beef were found from somewhere but this was done in duress! Waitress was unhelpful clearing tables before they had even finished!

Note:
This hotel is definitely not for the elderly or people with disabilities. Too many stairs!
Food dreadful, nothing cooked all processed would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Staff were not interested in making anyone in the group feel welcome. Due to the exceptionally bad service a few on my mum’s table decided not to tip the waitress. This table was not given breakfast on the last day yet the other tables were provided with tea, toast etc…

A member of staff was overheard complaining about how many coaches there was going to be up to Christmas!

I really hope it is not your mother or father going to this hotel and I only wish she told me the name of the hotel so I could check it before she went - all the above terrible reviews are correct, true and accurate! Hope this helps!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LouK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

After a very long 12 hour journey from Derby ,arrived at hotel and straight in for the evening meal.On a trip organised by the hotel who provided the transport. All meals offered choice , plenty of vegetables on the table, not overcooked and hot. bedroom was o.k .clean shower over bath and plenty of hot water.location good near to a bus stop and walk along promenade.Would not go again for a long weekend because of the journey time and too many pick-ups, But no fault with the hotel

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank silvertopderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fancyflowerfiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank white536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.1 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
435 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
341 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#6 of 20 in Ilfracombe
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
271 reviews
0.9 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Bay Hotel

Address: Wilder Road, Ilfracombe EX34 9AF, England (Formerly Grosvenor Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ilfracombe
Price Range: £42 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Devon Bay Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Devon Bay Hotel. Its Stately Victorian exterior fully compliments the stylish and characteristic interior, blending old and new styles to create a unique and exciting environment. Our large and airy restaurant looks out to the front of the hotel, serving freshly prepared breakfast and dinner every day. We also have a large bar and comfortable lounge areas, which are great to sit and enjoy a drink and relax. The Devon Bay Hotel is ideally located in the bustling centre of Ilfracombe, minutes from the cliff tops and beautiful sandy beach, meaning guests have everything they need within walking distance. Our aim at Devon Bay Hotel is to ensure that your stay with us is pleasurable. You will always receive a friendly warm welcome, whether you are visiting us for lunch or dinner, a function or an overnight stay. Whether business or pleasure, why not make the Devon Bay Hotel first on your list of new venues to visit - we look forward to welcoming you. Step outside and you are on the Promenade with its many shops, cafes, and the Landmark Theatre complex. Open all year around, we offer Christmas and New Year Packages and our nightly entertainment ensures that your visit to the Devon Bay Hotel will be enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Devon Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Hotel Ilfracombe
Devon Bay Hotel Ilfracombe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing