We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and wonderful”
Review of Wildercombe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wildercombe House
Ranked #1 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Unique and wonderful”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This is a really special place, totally unique in my opinion as it is a very traditional house with many original features, but beautifully renovated to a very high, modern finish.

The fittings and fixtures are high quality and well balanced with the house and the cleanliness throughout was excellent.

I was offered an evening meal - which I couldn't have as I had an engagement - but the full English breakfast the next day was superb, the best one I've had for a long time.

I felt welcomed and appreciated from the moment I arrived, right up to departure, its an absolute diamond. So much better than generic hotel rooms, this place is 5 Star!

RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    26
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
97
173
17
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Took my parents for long weekend. Dad is 93 and Mum disabled. We were looked after as if we were very special guests, but so is every one. The food is fantastic hospitality wonderful and rooms a 5 star hotel would be proud of. Thanks Anne - Marie and Barry.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndy-lou1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourton-on-the-Water, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

The building was totally refurbished a year ago and it shows. No cost was spared in the decor or the facilities and fittings while retaining the quality feel of a spotless country house. The couple who own and run the hotel provide an extremely efficient, while not too obtrusive, service with an eye on detail throughout.

The property is accessed by a short, narrow and quite steep driveway which proved challenging, although not impossible, for our motorbikes. The hotel is set back a little and well above the main road providing privacy and security.

We have nothing but praise for our 1 night stay in Wildercombe House. It was a very pleasant and totally relaxing stay at a very reasonable price. If we were to stay in the area again, we would not hesitate in booking early at this hotel to ensure a reservation.

Room Tip: We overlooked a small central courtyard which acts as a laundry drying area This didn't detract...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Very pleasant staff, comfortable stay, no complaints at all. Staff have really placed the comfort and convenience of guests as their utmost priority. Very immaculate lodgings as well. And they offer triple rooms for a very reasonable price, breakfast included. Thank you Wildercombe house, best wishes, Dilane!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dilane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Family trip for our daughter's wedding and from the moment we first made our booking enquiry Anne-Marie and Barry could not possibly have been more helpful and accommodating. Initially chosen for excellent disabled facilities but needs of party age range 2 to 87 all taken into consideration. Stunning setting and beautifully renovated property.

Room Tip: All rooms fantastic, amazing en suite facilities. Stunning views from room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeresaEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed at Wildercombe House for 2 nights at the end of June 2013 for a friends wedding near by. The building has been tastefully done up to a very high standard and the owners should be very proud with what they have achieved. The owners were incredibly pleasant, helpful, considerate, chatty and nothing was a problem or too much effort.
The cooked breakfast was excellent and i was impressed they remembered everybody by their first name.
I was even more impressed with the new pool table and a beautiful 6 month old german shepherd...
It was a fantastic stay and i would recommend to anybody to stay here.

Room Tip: We (2 lads) stayed in the triple room which is also a disabled room. Really good size, excellent fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloucestershireGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We loved our stay at Wildercombe house, it's a beautiful building and is done up to such a high standard. The hospitality was fantastic and the owners were so accommodating. We travelled with a 6 month old baby and booked an additional room for the baby sitter. Anne-Marie provided everything from the travel cot, changing mat, baby bath, baby monitor, high chair, she even prepared a baby friendly breakfast. The breakfast and dinner was delicious too. They couldn't do enough for us, we haven't experienced such brilliant hospitality for quite some time. Highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: I emailed in advance to find out more about the rooms and Anne-Marie was very helpful in helping me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie_3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
0.9 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
393 reviews
1.1 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
419 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
208 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#14 of 20 in Ilfracombe
327 reviews
4.0 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildercombe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildercombe House

Property: Wildercombe House
Address: Wildercombe House St. Brannocks Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Wildercombe House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildercombe House is a fully restored former Victorian Gentleman's residence, in the coastal town of Ilfracombe, North Devon, England. For the second consecutive year Wildercombe House has been awarded a 5* accredited rating as Guest Accommodation, a Gold Award for 'exceptional quality of accommodation and customer service' , and Level M3A under their National Accessible Scheme by VisitEngland. Wildercombe House offers luxury family-run guest accommodation, with panoramic sea and countryside views offering 10 en-suite bedrooms, including 3 disabled friendly (DOC M) compliant suites, all with luxury fixtures and fittings, secure hardwired internet access and free Wi-Fi, and HD Freesat TV (including 'BBC iPlayer/On-Demand' TV). With private car park, level access throughout all public areas, and stairs and/or lift access to bedrooms, choose from super-king to a single bed, with options of travel cots and pull-out beds for the children, or our family suite. Evening meals are available if required, together with a full range of services to suit the needs of the discerning guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wildercombe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildercombe House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing