We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As reported by everyone else - excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wildercombe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wildercombe House
Ranked #1 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“As reported by everyone else - excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

What else can I add - everyone has said how nice the rooms are. Probably the best hotel or guest house room I have stayed in. The breakfast was good. There was a wifi repeater in the room which meant hat the room was illuminated with green flashing lights all night so had to down-power it when trying to get to sleep! Plenty of disabled rooms for those who need them.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derrybeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    25
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
91
166
14
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiveliscombe, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here to attend a wedding at The Tunnels Beaches, we could not have picked a more perfect place for a special weekend away together. The rooms are lovely with special touches like bathrobes, flannels and the most luxurious soft bed sheets I have ever slept in, these special thoughtful touches really make your stay. The owner is another special part of Wildercombe House she is extremely welcoming and puts you at ease as soon as you arrive. Breakfast was excellent and I enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere looking out to sea, i personally enjoyed hearing the news on the tv in the background as it helped to create a relaxed atmosphere whereby you felt you could chat and not feel you were being overheard. I could write pages and pages on why this place is so perfect in fact I am still lying on the bed now as I write this, and really don't want to leave in a minute :(

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura34999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

The owners, Anne-Marie and Barry, are dedicated to high-quality service. A very committed and friendly couple who deserve to recoup (and more!) all the money they must have recenty invested on refurbishing this lovely hotel.

I went with my disabled 92-year old mother and her room was the best she had ever been in for her requirements.

I should also like to make a special mention of the dinner we had, cooked by Barry. We had asked for rack of lamb to be served with vegetables and I had visions of overcooked meat and soggy seaside greens. I have not lived in the UK for 38 years but, goodness, how things have changed! We had a very generous portion of rosé lamb and the vegetables were al dente, just as they should be. Barry had also concocted a delicious thyme, honey and mustard sauce (offputtingly described as gravy I think on the menu!) that was a perfect complement to the meat. My congratulations!

Breakfast was also stupendous, Superb assortment of fresh fruit and hearty English items including black pudding which I love!

Just one minor criticism. Why have a television set on while people are eating? Nobody at breakfast was watchingt the TV news which was just providing a barely audible background noise ("airstrikes.. Syria.. Cameron.. Irak" etc etc) which was not a perfect accompaniment to a perfect breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phalarope55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

Staying at Wildercombe House was fantastic. Everything was spotless, nothing was too much trouble and the breakfast was brilliant. Ann Marie made us feel very comfortable and recommended us a nice restaurant to eat at, even calling to book us a table. They has obviously spent a lot of money revamping the house and it shows. I would recommened it to anyone staying in or around Illfracombe

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amesm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband, myself and our adult daughter stayed here all last week. Anne-Marie and Barry were welcoming and helpful from the moment we arrived.
Our rooms were immaculately clean and the beds super comfortable. We had a wheelchair accessible room which was spacious and the en-suite bathroom met our needs admirably. It was obvious much thought had gone into the design and adaptations.
The cooked breakfasts were delicious and there was an extensive choice for the continental breakfast option. The evening meals we had were generous and always of a high standard.
The building both internally and externally was finished to a very high standard whilst retaining many of its original features, .e.g. the staircase which my husband and I admired but as are both disabled we used the lift.
Car parking was good.
We enjoyed our stay immensely and would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Ilfracombe.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Fantastic hotel with wonderful hospitality. Thank you.
The building has been beautifully and sympathically renovated.
The rooms are clean and comfortable, lovely breakfast
Would definitely stay here again and recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

the house was easy to find, on the main road, felt very welcome and were able to have an evening meal there, that was lovely too. the house was beautiful,high ceilings and a lot of original
features. nicely appointed lounge for guests, and wifi in each room.

Room Tip: all rooms beautifully refurbished. great value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 605hazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.9 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.1 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Olive Branch
The Olive Branch
#9 of 52 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildercombe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildercombe House

Property: Wildercombe House
Address: Wildercombe House St. Brannocks Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Wildercombe House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildercombe House is a fully restored former Victorian Gentleman's residence, in the coastal town of Ilfracombe, North Devon, England. For the second consecutive year Wildercombe House has been awarded a 5* accredited rating as Guest Accommodation, a Gold Award for 'exceptional quality of accommodation and customer service' , and Level M3A under their National Accessible Scheme by VisitEngland. Wildercombe House offers luxury family-run guest accommodation, with panoramic sea and countryside views offering 10 en-suite bedrooms, including 3 disabled friendly (DOC M) compliant suites, all with luxury fixtures and fittings, secure hardwired internet access and free Wi-Fi, and HD Freesat TV (including 'BBC iPlayer/On-Demand' TV). With private car park, level access throughout all public areas, and stairs and/or lift access to bedrooms, choose from super-king to a single bed, with options of travel cots and pull-out beds for the children, or our family suite. Evening meals are available if required, together with a full range of services to suit the needs of the discerning guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wildercombe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildercombe House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing