We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stylish new 5-star comfort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wildercombe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wildercombe House
Ranked #1 of 55 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“stylish new 5-star comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

The perfect, we think the best, place to stay in Ilfracombe. Wildercombe House is a 5-star hotel costing less than 50% of London 5-star hotels. We knew it would be good as it was recommended to us by the helpful ladies working in Damien Hirst's restaurant 'The Quay' who knew all the trendy design hotels in the area and put this one top of the list. We were not disappointed.
A good night's sleep in a room with magnificent views over Ilfracombe town. A wonderful breakfast of poached eggs and fresh haddock cooked by the owner. Loved it all.

Room Tip: Choose room 6 or 7 which are big and from which you can watch the sun set over the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmmike_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    25
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
89
159
13
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed for one night at the Wildercombe House and found it to be an excellent run hotel. Well maintained and exceptionally clean. Our hosts made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. All the facilities were of a very high standard.The evening meal was more than adequate and the breakfast catered for all. We Intend to return again soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Following recent years of neglect Ilfracombe still holds a piece of my heart for all that it is and what it offers. I was pleasantly surprised to see the expected 5 star standard returning to this fabulous location. We have a tremendous coast line and heritage alike for all to enjoy but have sadly lacked the required quality, Until now !!
Wildercombe House has wow factor in that it offers home from home quality comforts without the don't touch feeling. The hosts were very friendly and easy going, attention to detail and an eye for flare, you would have to go along way to find a better establishment. My only regret is sharing my experience as I wouldn't want it fully booked when I want to return !! Go and enjoy you won't be disappointed, just need to mention Barry is a Spurs fan, oh well we couldn't have it all our own way could we !!

Room Tip: All fantastic, but to spoil yourselves go for room 6 or 7 but check with Ann Marie first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hugo065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Ann-Marie and Barry gave me the honour of installing blinds in several locations throughout this fine hotel, The refurbishment of the property was amazing, no expense spared and the building is as magnificent inside as it is outside.
The fixtures and fittings are of the best quality and the place is disabled friendly. I would and have recommended the hotel to my friends and anyone else for that matter.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevanUKBlinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night and were made most welcome and upgraded to room 4. The room size, facilities and bathroom were all excellent, although it would have been nice to have 2 armchairs in the room.
The public rooms are impressive and the bar cosy, but perhaps the billiards table would be better sited in the entrance hall and the lounge made into a cosier place.
Dinner was the real disappointment: we had to book and choose our main course in advance and chose each of the only 2 fish dishes. We were shocked that the vegetables were frozen peas and sweetcorn and the fish (tuna and salmon) was sprinkled with dried dill; there was no sauce. For around £14, these main courses were poor value and uninspired. Breakfast was good with perfectly poached eggs, but the yoghurts were long life, made in Germany, the toast from a standard, medium loaf.
The South West is a foodie heaven (we live there) Wildercombe House is missing a trick by not sourcing more food locally and using fresh seasonal fish and vegetables: Yeo Valley yogurts and Miles tea and coffee are available from just up the road in Somerset.
Ann Marie has 'service' just right and was attentive and friendly without being intrusive. We might stay again, but we would eat dinner out next time!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank B_and_P787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Anne-Marie and Barry Marsh are a lovely, helpful and friendly couple, who know how to look after their guests. The standard of their accommodation is first class and it was a pleasure staying in their wonderful house. The food was excellent and I had a great time staying with them.

My en-suit room was of the highest standard and even had bath robes provided; I was very impressed and lucky to have stayed in such a lovely place.


If you want to stay in good standard accommodation then look no further, I sincerely hope I can return here in the future. Thank you for your hospitality and company during my stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordymac1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Barry & Anne Marie are perfect hosts. Wildercombe is clean, fresh and calming with excellently proportioned rooms. The house retains much of its period features but in a modern contempary way.
Wish we could have stayed longer.
Thankyou for the hospitality

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kellymark44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.9 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.1 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.8 mi away
Epchris House
Epchris House
#8 of 55 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Olive Branch
The Olive Branch
#9 of 55 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildercombe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildercombe House

Property: Wildercombe House
Address: Wildercombe House St. Brannocks Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Wildercombe House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wildercombe House is a fully restored former Victorian Gentleman's residence, in the coastal town of Ilfracombe, North Devon, England. For the second consecutive year Wildercombe House has been awarded a 5* accredited rating as Guest Accommodation, a Gold Award for 'exceptional quality of accommodation and customer service' , and Level M3A under their National Accessible Scheme by VisitEngland. Wildercombe House offers luxury family-run guest accommodation, with panoramic sea and countryside views offering 10 en-suite bedrooms, including 3 disabled friendly (DOC M) compliant suites, all with luxury fixtures and fittings, secure hardwired internet access and free Wi-Fi, and HD Freesat TV (including 'BBC iPlayer/On-Demand' TV). With private car park, level access throughout all public areas, and stairs and/or lift access to bedrooms, choose from super-king to a single bed, with options of travel cots and pull-out beds for the children, or our family suite. Evening meals are available if required, together with a full range of services to suit the needs of the discerning guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wildercombe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildercombe House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing