We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“steve & hayley's wedding 15/04/14”
Review of Wildercombe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wildercombe House
Ranked #1 of 53 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

what can we say about the hugely warm welcome we received from anne-marie and barry at wildercombe house. We viewed the hotel when we booked tunnels beach as the wedding venue and from that moment anne-marie was always happy to help with any queries we came up with.
When we arrived for the wedding anne-marie and barry had thought of everything we might have forgotten like booking transport to get us to the venue! her and barry managed to put everyone at ease and the rooms were wonderful, better than any hotel we have stayed in (and that's quite a few) the breakfasts were fantastic and the bar and lounge area so relaxing, we would not hesitate to recommend every aspect of this hotel and look forward to returning soon, so a big thank you from mick & sue.

Room Tip: we had virtually booked all of the rooms and it would be difficult to choose one i liked best as the...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
There are newer reviews for Wildercombe House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

My wife and I plus other family members had a stay at Wildercombe to attend a wedding at Tunnel Beaches. We can only echo the other reviews to say that this 'is the place to stay, if you are thinking of either a short break or wedding as per our visit. The rooms and quality of the decor are amazing, where else do you expect oak furniture throughout? The staff are friendly and we have never known a place where the owners knew and called everyone by their first names. Would we go back, definitely and anyone holding their wedding should put Wildercombe at the top of their list.

Room Tip: Go for the bigger rooms for that special occasion!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Couldn't recommend Wildercombe House enough. Beautiful building, spacious rooms, friendly owners, decorated to a high standard and spotlessly clean. Addition of pool table in bar a treat. Breakfast taste with a great selection to choose from.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamKB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed end of Jan for a business trip, it was perfect. The food was great, the bar was stocked and the bedrooms were lovely. The owners were very attentive and helped us out even when we had issues paying with a foreign credit card. I will be staying again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The perfect, we think the best, place to stay in Ilfracombe. Wildercombe House is a 5-star hotel costing less than 50% of London 5-star hotels. We knew it would be good as it was recommended to us by the helpful ladies working in Damien Hirst's restaurant 'The Quay' who knew all the trendy design hotels in the area and put this one top of the list. We were not disappointed.
A good night's sleep in a room with magnificent views over Ilfracombe town. A wonderful breakfast of poached eggs and fresh haddock cooked by the owner. Loved it all.

Room Tip: Choose room 6 or 7 which are big and from which you can watch the sun set over the town.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmmike_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed for one night at the Wildercombe House and found it to be an excellent run hotel. Well maintained and exceptionally clean. Our hosts made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. All the facilities were of a very high standard.The evening meal was more than adequate and the breakfast catered for all. We Intend to return again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Following recent years of neglect Ilfracombe still holds a piece of my heart for all that it is and what it offers. I was pleasantly surprised to see the expected 5 star standard returning to this fabulous location. We have a tremendous coast line and heritage alike for all to enjoy but have sadly lacked the required quality, Until now !!
Wildercombe House has wow factor in that it offers home from home quality comforts without the don't touch feeling. The hosts were very friendly and easy going, attention to detail and an eye for flare, you would have to go along way to find a better establishment. My only regret is sharing my experience as I wouldn't want it fully booked when I want to return !! Go and enjoy you won't be disappointed, just need to mention Barry is a Spurs fan, oh well we couldn't have it all our own way could we !!

Room Tip: All fantastic, but to spoil yourselves go for room 6 or 7 but check with Ann Marie first.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hugo065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.9 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
385 reviews
1.1 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
437 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
214 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
603 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Collingdale Guest House
The Collingdale Guest House
#2 of 53 in Ilfracombe
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildercombe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildercombe House

Address: Wildercombe House St. Brannocks Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range: £71 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wildercombe House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high upon an idyllic spot in the seaside town of Ilfracombe, Wildercombe House enjoys sweeping views across the valley, out to sea, and Ilfracombe town, which has the added bonus of being a working fishing harbour. A former Gentleman’s Residence built in 1885, Wildercombe House offers award winning Bed and Breakfast accommodation with light, spacious rooms which have been completely refurbished throughout providing our guests with the highest levels of quality and comfort. Free, super-fast Wi-Fi is available throughout the entire building and outside areas. Whether your choice is to walk, cycle or drive, Wildercombe House is here for you to enjoy a luxurious stay and as a base for exploring the delightful countryside, local beaches, historic sites, and Exmoor National Park. Maybe you just want some ‘time out’ away from it all, time for you…… With luxury fixtures and fittings, Wildercombe House is the ideal place to stay; a perfect retreat to rest and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Wildercombe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildercombe House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing