We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wildercombe House
Nearby Hotels
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Epchris House(Ilfracombe)
US$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Varley House(Ilfracombe)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandy Cove Hotel(Berrynarbor)
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Bath House Hotel(Ilfracombe)(Great Value!)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Carlton Hotel(Ilfracombe)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Osborne Hotel(Ilfracombe)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (484)
Filter reviews
484 results
Traveller rating
443
34
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
443
34
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanne mariehigh standardguest housebusiness tripquality furnishingswet roompleasure of stayingbeautiful housebreakfast roomwarm welcometravel cotcooked breakfastwonderful staycomfortable staybank holiday weekendfantastic hotelfresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
313 - 318 of 484 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I booked in two of my staff for a one night stay last month after finding this venue online.
I had to give the venue as call as I required an early breakfast for the both of them and no other venue was prepared to offer this service.

I spoke with Anne-Marie personally and explained what i required and she was more than happy to help me. She arranged breakfast for my guys who were on a very early start that morning.

Our other minor problem was that we were arriving in a LWB/High top van and thus would take up extra room in the car park. This was also no problem. She arranged for two reserved parking spaces with no extra charge ! Now thats service!

Food was both excellent and plentiful. All of the staff of site were friendly and nothing was "no trouble at all".

The venue was peaceful and very very clean and tidy, the rooms were spotless which shows real care and attention by the staff.

This venue is a real Gem, staff brilliant and worth every penny.

Highly recommended and will certainly return. Thanks so much

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrbigskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Went on a short family break to Ilfracombe and had a lovely time many thanks to the warm welcoming and lovely services at Wildercombe Hotel. We stayed in the family suite, rooms 9 and 10 and found them very practical as there was easy access from room to room and the facilities were what made the stay extra special (especially the 42" HD TV). Anne-Marie and Barry were extremely welcoming and we enjoyed our evenings in the bar, playing pool and board games. The breakfasts were delightful and are offered such a large variety from cheeses to cereals to a delicious cooked breakfast. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend to anyone wanting a comfortable, relaxed place to stay in North Devon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have stayed here three times in the last year,the most recent as a base for our Wedding.Anne-Marie and Barry have worked some real magic on this building and it has an air of unfussed calm about it from the minute you walk in.
Every detail has been given consideration from the spacious bedroooms to the bar and
breakfast room,each have homely touches that relax you immediatly.
The breakfasts are delicious and rooms super comfortable,as a couple Anne-Marie and Barry are the perfect guest house owners,nothing is too much trouble and they have a natural friendly nature about them.
We will be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnijim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

What a lovely place to stay!
We went to Ilfracombe for a wedding in the Tunnels, and thanks to Tripadvisor we found Wildercombe House. And all the positive descriptions and compliments in the reviews we read are absolutely true! I have been recommending both Ilfracombe and Wildercombe House to all our friends since we came back!

As we wanted to be able to enjoy the wedding without driving, we used a minicab, which cost about £3.50 each way to the Tunnels - much cheaper than London - but it is possible to drive in to Ilfracombe, or to walk in during the day.

We had a large room with double bed and a single, for our daughter, who brought her 23-month son. When we arrived, Anne-Marie provided a changing mat, listening device and did everything she could to address their needs. For example, Barry fixed a DVD player to the TV screen so that they could watch DVDs while we were at the wedding party in the evening.

The guesthouse is exceptionally clean, well-decorated and spacious, with communal areas as well as light rooms, and we had a large wet room. We did not bring my son, who is disabled, but our room and bathroom were well adapted for a disabled person, with plenty of room for a wheelchair and a fixed chair that could be used in the shower, with plenty of handrails.

Breakfast is delicious, and there is a good selection of food - my daughter also ate in the evening, and there are children's size portions. The guesthouse

Room Tip: If you would like a sea view, remember to ask when you book - but all the rooms are quiet - we were near the front door, and we didn't hear any noise.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kthernehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Really enjoyed my 2 night stay at Wildercombe House while visiting Illfracombe for a diving trip. This is a high-quality B&B with many extras. The rooms are very well equipped and comfortable and Anne-Marie and Barry are exceptionally professional and friendly hosts. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N_Young47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews