We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all the excellent reviews are true and deserved!”
Review of The Woodlands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Woodlands
Ranked #12 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We recently stayed for the weekend to attend a wedding and would agree with everything that has been said. The rooms are spotlessly clean, the breakfasts are delicious and nothing is too much trouble. Also the fact that there is a lounge is a real plus, it was lovely to be able to sit and read the papers after breakfast and before getting ready for the wedding.

Room Tip: choose one that overlooks the garden if possible, it's lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jagtravellerCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2012

Just had 3 nights stay in The Woodlands .What can i say but excellent service and place.The friendliness and the feeling of being part of the hotel makes it a great place to stay.The food was definately the best and cooked to order and fresh .The room was perfect and cannot fault it at all.I suggest if you wish a place to stay for a friendly relaxed time i suggest The Woodlands for your stay.Its location is perfect not to far or near to the town and in a very nice area as is the garden.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night weekend break in Ilfracombe and the surrounding area. The Woodlands hotel was the ideal spot to explore the area. We were met very warmly by the helpful and friendly owners and made to feel immediately comfortable. Our superior room was perfect. Very clean, spacious and well appointed with a lovely view over the terraced garden. All necessary facilities were available in the room including hairdryer and tea and coffee.
The bed linen was crisp, white Egyptian cotton and felt and looked very luxurious.

The home made traditional breakfast was very tasty and certainly no cuts had been made on the quality of the ingredients.
We have stayed in many hotels and guest houses throughout the UK and overseas and would rate this hotel very highly. It definately represents good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed at the Woodlands Hotel Ilfracombe for three nights and would recommend it very much. Our room was very comfortable and clean with an excellent en suite. The cooked breakfast by "top man" Robin is well worth getting up for. Christine and Chris your hosts are very friendly and helpful, we wish them both success here as they only took over the hotel some eighteen months ago.

Martin and Sue Leigh on sea.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Warm welcome, attractive furnishings and decor, excellent breakfast. Our premium room was really spacious and had a huge balcony. It's ten to fifteen minute walk down/up a hill to the town centre, but parking in the town centre wasn't a problem, even on a busy Saturday.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

very helpful hosts,lovely breakfast,and the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in,what more could you want...as for Ilfracombe and the surrounding area,lovely walks,friendly locals and some cracking pubs made for a very enjoyable short break, will certainly return ...the 2 best pubs in Ilfracombe were the Ship + Pilot and the George And Dragon...a word of warning for anyone visiting nearby Woolacombe,don't take the car,£7 parking for a couple of hours--what a rip off !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We have just spent 3 nights at The Woodlands when in Ilfracombe for a family wedding. The room was spacious, well furnished and immaculate including the ensuite bathroom. The breakfasts were high quality and plentiful. The 'full english' included 2 eggs and 2 rashers of bacon as well as all the other usual items and the fresh fruit salad with the continental breakfast was delicious and included in season fruits such as strawberries, cherries and nectarine. The owners could not have been more helpful including providing a communal iron and ironing board for us and other members of our wedding party and providing ongoing self service teas and coffees in the dining room as we prepared ourselves on the 'big day'. We also found time to relax in the garden which is very pleasant and inviting. It is well located being only a short walk to the town centre and Tunnels Beaches (the wedding venue). All in all very good value for money, I can highly recommend the Woodlands and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jh591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.8 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#15 of 20 in Ilfracombe
348 reviews
2.1 mi away
High Ways House
High Ways House
#1 of 1 in Mullacott
13 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands

Address: Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range: £78 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woodlands 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly and helpful team here who are always ready to ensure that you enjoy your stay in our clean and peaceful Guest House. Whether for a romantic escape or an activity break you will find the Woodlands an ideal place to unwind. You can be sure of comfortable accommodation. The building was recently refurbished to a high standard and provides modern facilities without losing its Victorian charm. All bedrooms are en suite with television and tea and coffee making facilities, most have garden views and some have balconies. We have a range of accommodation to suit your needs: twin, standard, premium & deluxe doubles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Woodlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodlands Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing