We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of The Woodlands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Woodlands
Ranked #13 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Penzance, Cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed for 3 nights, a long weekend for my wifes birthday, had a lovely welcome from Christine, she upgraded our room after finding out it was a birthday stay, that was really appreciated. We were given room 4, absolutely wonderful. Breakfast was lovely with quality ingredients. All in all a great place to stay . We would recomend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LARTER1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    24
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
86
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed here for 1 night for a friends wedding at Tunnels Beaches and was very pleased. The room was quite small but had everything you need - T.V, kettle with tea & coffee, ensuite shower etc. The room was clean & tidy as was the whole place. The staff were very welcoming & friendly and the breakfast we had was great too with a good selection of options. Location was very handy as well, particularly for Tunnels Beaches which was only a 5 minute walk to the bottom of the hill. The on site parking is limited and is very steep but there is plenty available of the road too. Overall very pleased!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goonerjon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed 2 nights here selected the hotel from previous Trip Advisor reviews and they were right. The location was ideal and a short walk from the town centre and harbour,
The rooms, we had one standard and one premier they were clean,comfortable and ideal.
The breakfast was excellent and the service we received could not be faulted.
The location is also a short distance from the coastal path which has some of the most dramatic views to be had anywhere in the UK.
The next time we visit Ilfracoombe we would not look elsewhere but book the Woodlands again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed at the Woodland Hotel (Ilfracombe) from 18th September to 20th September 2012. Very nice welcome from Christine and Chris, parking was a challenge (on a steep hill) but grateful to have a parking space in a convenient spot outside front door. Could not fault the quality of the food or service, probably the best breakfast we have had for a while. Bed Linen was gorgeous and soft (Egypt's Cotton), very nice pillows as well. We stayed in room (2), we had the luxury of nice weather so we could sit outside on the Balcony, nice to have a choice of tea's and a biscuit after a long journey. The room was tight on space (Pine furniture?) and the bathroom although very clean was also extremely economical on space, (Homer Simpson would not have got past the sink and partition) the shower had plenty of room though with very good soaps and body wash. We reported a fault with the very hot water (Could have been scolded) from the shower head when we left, only had to turn on the flow regulator (not the hot and cold regulator) to have a hot shower. Hope the problem will be fixed as it may cause injury. The hotel is very convenient to to the town, only 15 minutes down the hill. The Ilfracombe fryer serves a great plateful of fish & chips. And the walk around the cliff is well recommended.

Room Tip: There is a room with a Balcony and more room (I think it was room one) £75 quoted. I would return to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Room 3 is very very small. The bathroom is ok (good shower) and the toiletries are very very nice. Unfortunately in the room there is space for the bed and that is it. We had large suitcases and that was a problem.

Breakfast was very nice, freshly cooked. We did not get to enjoy the garden but it looked lovely. You are close to the Coast Path and can walk into town. The car park is very steep and small spots but there is plenty of space on the street where it is free parking.

We might stay again but ask for a bigger room!

Room Tip: room 3 is tiny, call up and ask for large room (seems that booking through booking.com guarantees yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank london4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

My husband and I stayed hear for one night on our way home from Cornwall and it was booked very last minute as a pit stop. I agree with a lot of the comments already made. I don't know if it is just me, but I can't stand old pine furniture and could not wait to leave the bedroom. It was clean and tidy and had views of the lovely garden. We had a good sleep and a hot shower which is all that we needed. I would not stay here again but it is fine if you just need a bed for the night. We had a look around Illfracombe whilst we were there but were not impressed, it is in need of investment to give it a face lift.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenJ008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Was a little worried when we booked and were given Room 3 which showed as being basic. Phoned to check that it wasn't how imagined but was told that they hadn't had any complaints. First nights deposit was paid so we decided to try it rather than lose a deposit. When we arrived we were asked to pay up front. When we got to the room, my worst fears were confirmed. The bathroom was too small to fit the washbasin in so it was in the main room and it felt as if we were in the servants quarters. The redeeming factor of the stay was having access to a lovely bathroom. We were booked in for 4 nights but had to leave after 3 because of the claustrophobic feeling of the room. The gardens are beautiful but,other than being in them, the only way to view was standing at a window. The owners are pleasant and breakfast enjoyable. Also, be aware that the parking is on a steep gradient - I was glad I had an automatic car.

Room Tip: As described Room 3 is not a pleasant room - views are very restriced
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
393 reviews
1.2 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
363 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Collingdale
The Collingdale
#3 of 52 in Ilfracombe
369 reviews
0.0 mi away
Epchris House
Epchris House
#8 of 52 in Ilfracombe
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands

Property: The Woodlands
Address: Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woodlands 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly and helpful team here who are always ready to ensure that you enjoy your stay in our clean and peaceful Guest House. Whether for a romantic escape or an activity break you will find the Woodlands an ideal place to unwind. You can be sure of comfortable accommodation. The building was recently refurbished to a high standard and provides modern facilities without losing its Victorian charm. All bedrooms are en suite with television and tea and coffee making facilities, most have garden views and some have balconies. We have a range of accommodation to suit your needs: twin, standard, premium & deluxe doubles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Woodlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodlands Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing