We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great hotel”
Review of Westaway

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Westaway
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Ilfracombe
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What a great hotel”
Reviewed 26 September 2008

We arrived at 11 am Sunday 14 Sep 08 & we were greeted by Linda as though we were long lost friends, shown to our rooms which were wonderful, clean, spacious, with a nice view towards the town, the breakfast was as nice as any I have ever had.
Richard & linda were wonderful hosts & nothing was to much trouble, I would recomend this hotel to anybody looking for accommodation in the area of Ilfracombe.

  • Liked — The accommodation & the Owners
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jmbjStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2008

What a lovely few days we had at the Westaway. The moment you enter the large hallway, Linda and Richard cannot do enough for you, in a friendly not overpowering way. The rooms are immaculate, a large ensuite with a good size shower. Exceptionally clean, fresh linen and towels, with comfy chairs to sit and look out over Ilfracombe or just to read a book. It has a lovely garden should you just wish to relax. The Westaway has all the trappings of an expensive hotel but on a smaller scale. The breakfast was one of the best we have had. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bdmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2008

excellent in every way.lynda and richard could not have been better or more accomadating hosts who made our short stay very enjoyable.10/10.

  • Liked — cleanliness.hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbySandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadincote, Derbyshire.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2007

We have just returned from our summer holiday at the lovely "Westaway" guesthouse. The owners Linda and Richard made us feel very welcome straight away, and were made to feel right at home. You can come and go as you please, But for added security they have an excellent door lock, which you have the code to, so no one, other than the guests can get in. There is also a safe to put your belongings in, in your room. The rooms are beautifully kept. Fresh white towels whenever you want. Mini bar fridge in your room, and easy chairs too. Nothing is too much trouble for Linda or Richard, they are very eager to please, and want you to relax and have the perfect holiday. The situation of the "Westaway" in our opinion, is great. Just a short walk and you can either be on the promanade or up into the high street. The tunnel beaches are next door and you get a free pass to go in them.We have really enjoyed ourselves. We will certainly be going back again. There are alot of very good restaurants in ilfracombe which we also enjoyed.

  • Liked — Very clean
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank labradorsandducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
375 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
321 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westaway

Property: Westaway
Address: Westaway Torrs Park, Ilfracombe EX34 8AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ilfracombe
Hotel Class:5 star — Westaway 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Westaway Hotel Ilfracombe
Westaway Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing