We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stayed in a gold apartment”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ilfracombe Holiday Park
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“stayed in a gold apartment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

cleanliness was pretty good if you had a problem it was sorted out fast and well worth the money and you get what you pay for really. The entertainment without a doubt was enjoyable and got the whole family involved. The location was quite nice and had a sea view also a five minute walk from the town centre.the facilities such as the the swimming pool was excellent and also there was a sauna. There was a lot to do in the complex to keep everyone entertained such as the foxy clun in the day time. I have been here for about three years and have our next one booked cant wait I recommend this to all as it is a great holiday park with a friendly atmosphere

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank charlstray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hello Charlstray

Thank you very much for leaving us your 4 star review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed on to all departments.

We do take great pride in the standard of all grades of accommodation and our customer care. It’s brilliant that this isn’t going unnoticed. Your comments will be passed on to the whole park team.

Our returning customers are so important to us, they regularly make up 50% of our visitors and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    222
    173
    129
    246
See reviews for
579
163
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

The holiday park is located very well for all Devon and especially Ilfracombe visitors. For a group of 3 couples and 3 kids the house was spacious. Bedrooms were fine, kitchen was a bit squeezed. The bathroom flooring was bad and due to condensation of the flush tank it was continuously wet. All the other amenities were good though. The evening entertainment was very lively especially for the kids. The swimming pools were warm and we had great fun here. Ilfracombe is a really serene location for a family get away and the holiday park plays it's role well. Surely would return though I hope to see the cleanliness a notch higher. value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunillobo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hello Sunillobo

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such an honest review. We certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests.

Your comments have been passed to all departments and everyone will be especially delighted to read your comments about the park.

We really hope to see you again in the near future

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We recently stayed at Ifracombe and left on 5th may, we left a radio in the accomodation, immediately contacted John fowler many promises, no replies, no action, no response, no care for the customer, no customer care no other choice but to complaint about theft of radio one phone call since then absolute silence! Been to may holiday camps this is the worst we have ever been treated our fault for leaving radio but every action taken to ensure recovery rest no radio????

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertrhayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hello Mr Hayward

I was saddened to read your thoughts regarding your stay at our holiday park. I have made a full investigation and have discovered that we did in fact contact you, by phone and by email, to inform you that after a thorough search your lost property had not been located.

I am sorry this has happened but I can assure you that every effort has been made on your behalf, in fact we have a very good reputation for retrieving misplaced items.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ilfracombe hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Well it wasn't all bad!!, but the accommodation was very disappointing. We had even paid for an upgrade, so hate to think what the rest of the buildings were like! Downstairs was cold and smelt damp, the heater didn't work. Upstairs was slightly better (2 bedrooms and bathroom), once we managed to get the heater working. As we were only there for the weekend, we did put up with it, as we only slept there. The shower was decent, but the bathroom, as the rest of the rooms were tired, old and dull!!. We found the swimming pool good, but the changing facilities were small, with puddles so it was hard to get everyone dry. The staff we had contact with all seemed helpful. On-site restaurant was OK and done the job (we did only eat there once however). The kids enjoyed the entertainments staff and games/disco. We wouldn't go back to this park in the future. Decent location but the accommodation needs of bringing into this decade!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoelLSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hello Joel

I was shocked to read your remarks regarding your stay at our holiday park. There are a number of very serious items in your review that will certainly not be ignored.

I shall be contacting you shortly and I feel sure that the matter will be settled to everyone’s satisfaction.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014



We are a family of 5. 3 children 6 years, 3 years and 6 months.

On arrival at the park we were giving a two bedroom chalet really far away from the main complex. Crossing a busy road to get to the main complex.  Surely when you allocate rooms this is looked at? We went to recption and were moved closer. Although this was a nice chalet it had a strange smell to it.

I took my two sons to the playground and returned within 5 minutes as it was unsafe. My 3 year old was unable to climb 90% of it. It was dated and had a drop around it which could cause a serious injury as there was no protective flooring just concrete.

The crazy golf was old and had weeds growing out of it.

When we went to try out the pool we were told it didnt open until 2pm on a family site? When we walked in the changing rooms there were only 3 tiny benches to change. We went into the pool and there was no shallow end for my 3 year old to splash about as 1m was to deep and he didnt enjoy it. We only stayed for a while because of this. We got out and went to shower but on entering people were stood in big pools of grimy dirty water because the drains were blocked. Not hygenic at all. We then went to change. I put my 6 month old on the baby changing unit and it was broken. There was no strap to make sure she was safe. She was wet and wriggling about. There was no room to dress my 2 sons who were cold and crying by this point as again the changing room was tiny. The benches were chipped and the floor was dirty. We then walked back to our chalet to change and get showered.

The amusements were not entertaining. There were no rides suitable for my 3 year old. Soft play was far to small and got too crowded with bigger children throwing bits about.

The evening entertainment was ok apart from the trick buzzy bee which involved the entertainers spitting water into each others faces.

We cut short our stay and left on the Sunday morning as we had had enough.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clb1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
I was saddened to read your thoughts regarding your stay at our holiday park. Unfortunately, there are one or two items in your review which are quite worrying – such as the pool opening times and the children’s play area. I am not sure what you saw or heard but reality is quite different.

I shall be contacting you shortly and I feel sure that the matter will be settled to everyone’s satisfaction.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Despite the weather , really enjoyable 3 night. The accommodation was upgraded due to storm damage. Very clean and well maintained. great view out to sea. The stripeys entertainment was great every evening . Pools were clean. Special mention to Ray, a grounds man who was a life saver with my car when it would start. Certainly would recommend it and will go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and how helpful and friendly the staff were - especially Ray.

We pride ourselves on our family feel at John Fowler Holidays, and are delighted to have such loyal customers as yourselves.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

After staying at 4 other holiday parks with John fowler holidays, wé décides to try the flagship park. Wé met Wayne and beth on arrival which erre vert helpful. We spent most nights in the venue with the stipeys and mat on thé bar. The food was great and plentiful wé hope to return soon.. thanks all

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poetnewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hello Poet

Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review thank you, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed onto all departments.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon, - our returning guests are so important to us and are the reason that we have been so successful for the past 60 years.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
0.6 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.6 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
#5 of 8 in Combe Martin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
3.2 mi away
Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilfracombe Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilfracombe Holiday Park

Property: Ilfracombe Holiday Park
Address: Marlborough Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8PF, England (Formerly John Fowler Ilfracombe Holiday Park)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Ilfracombe
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilfracombe Holiday Park has everything you could want on a family holiday. A 56’ heated pool, a sauna, children’s play areas and an internet cafe provide you with all the comforts of home and more. Relax in our pool during the day, and then head to the Exmoor Club for the evening’s entertainment, free to everybody staying at our Ilfracombe Holiday Parks. This park is set at the top of the valley Ilfracombe lies in, so you get views right down over the town and out to sea, exactly what you’d expect from a Devon holiday. If you don’t want to deal with cooking on holiday then our Farmhouse Kitchen Restaurant can cook you up a wide variety of fare, from low price snacks to full grills and specialty dishes. We even offer takeaways. If you are going to cook for yourself, our onsite shop sells everything you’ll need, and there’s a Tesco superstore just a five minute walk away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
John Fowler Ilfracombe Holiday Park Hotel Ilfracombe
Ilfracombe Holiday Park Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing