We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ilfracombe Holiday Park
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Arrived early sat morning, greeted by lovely staff. Have been going here over 10years and love it. From groundskeepers to reception staff we were made to feel very welcome. The chefs corner owner Andy is fantastic, wonderful food and great value. The Stripeys are amazing my son loves them all especially Bryan. We felt part of a big family. The park site is lovely and clean and our apartment was top class. Hated to leave.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tinky1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hello Tinky

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and how helpful and friendly the staff were.

We pride ourselves on our family feel at John Fowler Holidays, and are delighted to have such loyal customers as yourselves.

Our returning customers are so important to us and regularly make up 50% of our visitors. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,082)
There are newer reviews for Ilfracombe Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

852 - 858 of 1,082 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

We've just got back from here yesterday and we had a fab time. We booked via the Sun deals, so only paid £90 for a family of five for mon - fri. We've been on dozens of Sun holidays all over Devon and Cornwall - some great, some not so great! I was very apprehensive after reading the reviews, but can honestly say it was great! We did not upgrade the accommodation, and to some extent we got what we paid for, but it was clean and served it's purpose as a base. The beds were clean and fairly comfy, the kitchen was well equipped and we were lucky to have a fabulous sea view. The only downside of the accommodation was no heating, so it did feel a bit damp on arrival. Also there was a sofa bed and one chair, and a dining table and chairs, which meant that only three of us had comfy chairs, the others had to sit on hard chairs. This didn't bother us as we were out and about a lot, but older guests might find this a pain.

The entertainment was really good, the kids loved it. Kids and adults play bingo at the same time, which stops he kids getting bored and the tickets are really reasonable. The stripies are great, full if enthusiasm and great with kids. The pool is basic, but clean and was fairly empty all week even though it was half term. The changing facilities are not great, but serve a purpose, would probably be a pain if it was more crowded.

There is a tesco within easy walking distance, and the shop on site is fairly good too. In the area there is lots to do. A brilliant fudge shop in ilfracombe, fab fish and chips and some lovely tea shops. A visit to Lynton and Lynmouth nearby is a must, with it's lovely shops and cliff railway. The Combe Martin dinosaur park is brilliant and a visit to surfy Croyde is recommended.

If you've been to uk holiday parks before, then don't be put off, it's fine! If you've got a good deal like we did via the Sun, the it's worth every penny, not sure how I'd feel if we'd paid full price, but the. I don't like paying full price for anything!! If you haven't stayed at uk holiday parks and are expecting the Ritz then maybe look elsewhere! Overall, we had a great time and would happily return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Bucketandspader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hello Bucketandspader

Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed to all departments.

The park does not deserve poor reviews and thankfully they are few and far between. We simply do not understand why some people choose to post them, when all the staff work really hard to make everyone feel welcome, as you experienced. However, we are all individuals and we can all have vastly different opinions on the same subject.

I am delighted to hear that you had a great time. Our returning customers are very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I hope that I can put my complaint here, we came to ilfracombe 26-30th may. Our chalet was awful, the sofa bed was wonky and wasn't level, stains on it, bed springy and lumpy, we hardly slept, lounge windows wouldn't open, they painted shut!! We complained next day, was told they'd see if can get another mattress, we hadn't heard anything so went to reception, we was moved to a gold chalet , as I said windows that don't open and I couldn't sleep on either beds. As I have Scheuermann's disease, back probs we was upgraded... All good we thought, til early hours next morn, the noise from the above people was dreadful, crashing banging. Again didn't sleep too great, couldn't get comfy and had put a duvet on mattress to pad it out. We complained about the noisy tenants and was told, it's known problem!!! Why on earth was we put there nothing was said to us we've hardly slept the whole time at your site... My sleep pattern is interrupted, wasn't up to enjoying hols as of broken sleep,and have young children in the party. Im Very dissapointed and my back is worse than when went away! In pain more due to naff beds... Would rather pay extra ,go to hugely or other holiday park companies....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heidi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2014

When I first read this very poor review, I immediately tried to contact the writer through the Tripadvisor Messaging service to investigate the issues and to check its validity. Sadly, with all Tripadvisor reviews being anonymous, it is impossible to make direct contact.

To date I have not received a reply to two such messages and I am disappointed that I have not been given the opportunity to put things right. We have to assume from this, that perhaps the holiday was not as bad as originally reported or that the review was not written by a genuine visitor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

cleanliness was pretty good if you had a problem it was sorted out fast and well worth the money and you get what you pay for really. The entertainment without a doubt was enjoyable and got the whole family involved. The location was quite nice and had a sea view also a five minute walk from the town centre.the facilities such as the the swimming pool was excellent and also there was a sauna. There was a lot to do in the complex to keep everyone entertained such as the foxy clun in the day time. I have been here for about three years and have our next one booked cant wait I recommend this to all as it is a great holiday park with a friendly atmosphere

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank charlstray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hello Charlstray

Thank you very much for leaving us your 4 star review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed on to all departments.

We do take great pride in the standard of all grades of accommodation and our customer care. It’s brilliant that this isn’t going unnoticed. Your comments will be passed on to the whole park team.

Our returning customers are so important to us, they regularly make up 50% of our visitors and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

The holiday park is located very well for all Devon and especially Ilfracombe visitors. For a group of 3 couples and 3 kids the house was spacious. Bedrooms were fine, kitchen was a bit squeezed. The bathroom flooring was bad and due to condensation of the flush tank it was continuously wet. All the other amenities were good though. The evening entertainment was very lively especially for the kids. The swimming pools were warm and we had great fun here. Ilfracombe is a really serene location for a family get away and the holiday park plays it's role well. Surely would return though I hope to see the cleanliness a notch higher. value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunillobo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hello Sunillobo

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such an honest review. We certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests.

Your comments have been passed to all departments and everyone will be especially delighted to read your comments about the park.

We really hope to see you again in the near future

Pat
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We recently stayed at Ifracombe and left on 5th may, we left a radio in the accomodation, immediately contacted John fowler many promises, no replies, no action, no response, no care for the customer, no customer care no other choice but to complaint about theft of radio one phone call since then absolute silence! Been to may holiday camps this is the worst we have ever been treated our fault for leaving radio but every action taken to ensure recovery rest no radio????

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertrhayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Hello Mr Hayward

I was saddened to read your thoughts regarding your stay at our holiday park. I have made a full investigation and have discovered that we did in fact contact you, by phone and by email, to inform you that after a thorough search your lost property had not been located.

I am sorry this has happened but I can assure you that every effort has been made on your behalf, in fact we have a very good reputation for retrieving misplaced items.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Well it wasn't all bad!!, but the accommodation was very disappointing. We had even paid for an upgrade, so hate to think what the rest of the buildings were like! Downstairs was cold and smelt damp, the heater didn't work. Upstairs was slightly better (2 bedrooms and bathroom), once we managed to get the heater working. As we were only there for the weekend, we did put up with it, as we only slept there. The shower was decent, but the bathroom, as the rest of the rooms were tired, old and dull!!. We found the swimming pool good, but the changing facilities were small, with puddles so it was hard to get everyone dry. The staff we had contact with all seemed helpful. On-site restaurant was OK and done the job (we did only eat there once however). The kids enjoyed the entertainments staff and games/disco. We wouldn't go back to this park in the future. Decent location but the accommodation needs of bringing into this decade!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoelLSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hello Joel

I was shocked to read your remarks regarding your stay at our holiday park. There are a number of very serious items in your review that will certainly not be ignored.

I shall be contacting you shortly and I feel sure that the matter will be settled to everyone’s satisfaction.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
0.8 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
214 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
431 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
#6 of 7 in Combe Martin
609 reviews
3.2 mi away
Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#3 of 25 in Ilfracombe
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilfracombe Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilfracombe Holiday Park

Address: Marlborough Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8PF, England (Formerly John Fowler Ilfracombe Holiday Park)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Ilfracombe
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilfracombe Holiday Park has everything you could want on a family holiday. A 56’ heated pool, a sauna, children’s play areas and an internet cafe provide you with all the comforts of home and more. Relax in our pool during the day, and then head to the Exmoor Club for the evening’s entertainment, free to everybody staying at our Ilfracombe Holiday Parks. This park is set at the top of the valley Ilfracombe lies in, so you get views right down over the town and out to sea, exactly what you’d expect from a Devon holiday. If you don’t want to deal with cooking on holiday then our Farmhouse Kitchen Restaurant can cook you up a wide variety of fare, from low price snacks to full grills and specialty dishes. We even offer takeaways. If you are going to cook for yourself, our onsite shop sells everything you’ll need, and there’s a Tesco superstore just a five minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ilfracombe Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Fowler Ilfracombe Holiday Park Hotel Ilfracombe
Ilfracombe Holiday Park Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing