We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back for a 3rd time”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ilfracombe Holiday Park
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Back for a 3rd time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Came back to the Ilfracombe holiday park for the 3rd time last weekend for a Friday to Monday visit. Stopped in a 3 bed gold bungalow.

As I've said before my recommendation is to go for the gold apartments. We stopped in a bronze appt the 1st time, the gold appt is well worth the extra money.

Decent level of equipment with flat screen tv, dish washer, full oven/hob, fridge freezer etc. Only downside to the room is that the beds are still too hard. The park needs to look at the outdoor space it's got, there doesn't seem to be anywhere to sit outside.

Entertainment was ok but the bar prices in the club house are a bit pricey. Fix the outdoor space and bar prices and I'd give it a 5 star review

Overall a decent enough stay, would happily return again.....

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed to all departments, especially the housekeeping team, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts on the bungalow.

Our returning customers are so important to us and regularly make up 50% of our visitors. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    222
    175
    129
    246
See reviews for
581
163
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Wasn't expecting a palace for the price we paid but also wasn't expecting bodily hair (pubic) when sitting down on one of the chalets settee, also wasn't expecting the party till 4 am from our noisey neighbours. We left after one night as I was told that I had to wait until 00.30 before I could complain about the noise again and as my kids are up at cracking of dawn I didn't fancy being half dead on our break. Very disappointing.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, 29 October 2014
When I first read this very poor review, I immediately tried to contact the writer through the Tripadvisor Messaging service to investigate the issues and to check its validity. Sadly, with all Tripadvisor reviews being anonymous, it is impossible to make direct contact.

To date I have not received a reply to two such messages and I am disappointed that I have not been given the opportunity to put things right. We have to assume from this, that perhaps the holiday was not as bad as originally reported or that the review was not written by a genuine visitor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ilfracombe hotels

South Wales
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

I'm writing this review using the free wifi in the club house because after complaining this morning nothing has been done! In fact, two of our party has checked out early and gone home because they felt the place was disgusting!

This is my second visit to this place. First time was by choice this time was by mistake as I booked through Hoeseasons not knowing it was John Fowler. And my view of the camp has not changed.

The apartment is supposed to be a Gold apartment........ I guess standard of gold is open to interpretation as this certainly isn't what I would refer to as gold standard.

I've uploaded some photos to show the level of decay this site is suffering. You'll see cracked paint and patchwork repairs all over the apartment. You'll also see a non working dishwasher that is culturing some form of penicillin. Management were informed of the dishwasher issue first thing this morning and when we returned this evening all that has been done is a slash of bleach thrown in there. Now because it's not working the quick fix hasn't touched the mould!

You'll also note that some tiles in the bathroom are missing grouting and again mould growing. That's on top of the unpleasant dank sewerage smell coming from the sink. This was also mentioned to management but nothing had been done.

The walls are paper thin and you can hear everything going in a few doors down. If you are lucky enough to be on the middle or lower floors you get the pleasure of listening to the floor above emptying their bladder and bowels whilst you eat breakfast.

This was a last minute booking through Hoeseasons website at a heavily discounted price. Good job as if I'd paid nearly £400 advertised on John Fowlers website I'd be contacting environmental health.

Did I mention the hair and lint on the camp bed? The chipped glass in the cupboard? The broken saucepan? The lack of desert spoons?

Plus side, entertainment is good.... For kids at least.

I have approached management and given them the chance to correct the issues. They haven't so I've shared my views here.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank brick_driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Hello Brick Driver

It was such a shame to read your remarks regarding your stay at our holiday park when most of our guests have a great time.

I can only apologise that the issues you encountered did not seem to be rectified in a timely manner and that you received no apology at that time. It is more often the case that our staff are praised for their friendliness and cheery manner and I am again very sorry that you did not appear to experience this.

I shall be contacting you through the Tripadvisor messaging service and I feel sure that the matter will be settled to everyone’s satisfaction.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We booked through the sun holidays deal so for an apartment for 4 people and 1 dog cost just under £100.
Firstly we were upgraded from Bronze to Gold Appartment no idea why but we were very impressed. Lovely kitchen even had a dish washer, the beds were very comfy and location was right near the entertainment hall but the noise wasn't too loud. It was quite a walk up the hill from the town so if your unfit or do not like walking it will be no good for you. Tesco superstore is only a 10 minute walk away. There are no local pubs near by but an indian restaurant across the road. We cooked our own meals so can't comment on the food, or the entertainment as didn't want to leave the dog on her own. But can highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxie_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hello Maxie

What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We are delighted to hear that you will be returning and look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Arrived on a very wet friday afternoon. The reception team were helpful and gave us a warm welcome. Went through to our apartment. It was nice and spacious, two bedrooms. The overall appearance was clean and tidy. The bathroom had a bad smell of mould. Brought some air freshener and it was a little better. The toilet was missing bolts, so if you leaned whilst sitting on it - you did go to one side!!

We put the dishwasher on in the evening and managed to flood the kitchen, we had noticed the cracks and breaks around the dishwasher, but hadn't realised the seal was broken. Cue operation clean up!

We didn't get involved with the entertainment, or use the pool. The shop was good - having everything you needed that you may have forgotten!!

The location was good, 20 minute walk down the hill into town. The taxi ride back up the hill was about £5.

We went using a groupon deal. Would go back, but only if it was a good deal to do so. Otherwise would spend a bit more and stay somewhere closer to the town centre.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hello Laura

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments and we really hope that you will visit us again in the near future

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Last minute decision to camp at a John Fowler site for a change we usually have a room or apartment and once again all i can say is Carrie the girl in the booking office was so helpful and understanding and fixed us up quickly and efficently CARRIE YOU ARE THE BEST AND A CREDIT TO John Fowler Holidays

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hello Paul

Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic 5 star review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed on to Carrie.

In the process of booking a holiday, more often than not the booking office is overlooked when it come to accolades, but they are no less deserved. Carrie is the mainstay of the John Fowler Office - always going that extra mile to help a client.

Our returning customers are so important to us and regularly make up 50% of our visitors, so we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Arrived on a Friday night for a weekend break 4 Adults 1 Child. Upgraded to Gold Apartment free of Charge - Very Happy. The Apartment was well equipped, clean and just the right size for 5 people. Tesco within walking distance but Ilfracombe Town is down a very long, steep hill so be prepared for a hike if walking. We were blessed with great weather so spent most of our time at Woolacombe Beach rather than on site. Evening entertainment okay but drinks quite dear.
Overall a lovely, clean park ideal base for visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chickster24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hello Chickster

Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review thank you - it reads more like a 5 star review than the 3 you have given us. Your comments have been passed onto all departments.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon, - our returning guests are so important to us and are the reason that we have been so successful for the past 60 years.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
0.7 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.6 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
#5 of 8 in Combe Martin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
3.2 mi away
Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilfracombe Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilfracombe Holiday Park

Property: Ilfracombe Holiday Park
Address: Marlborough Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8PF, England (Formerly John Fowler Ilfracombe Holiday Park)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Ilfracombe
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilfracombe Holiday Park has everything you could want on a family holiday. A 56’ heated pool, a sauna, children’s play areas and an internet cafe provide you with all the comforts of home and more. Relax in our pool during the day, and then head to the Exmoor Club for the evening’s entertainment, free to everybody staying at our Ilfracombe Holiday Parks. This park is set at the top of the valley Ilfracombe lies in, so you get views right down over the town and out to sea, exactly what you’d expect from a Devon holiday. If you don’t want to deal with cooking on holiday then our Farmhouse Kitchen Restaurant can cook you up a wide variety of fare, from low price snacks to full grills and specialty dishes. We even offer takeaways. If you are going to cook for yourself, our onsite shop sells everything you’ll need, and there’s a Tesco superstore just a five minute walk away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
John Fowler Ilfracombe Holiday Park Hotel Ilfracombe
Ilfracombe Holiday Park Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing