We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant family holiday!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilfracombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ilfracombe Holiday Park
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant family holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was our little boys first family holiday in the UK and I have to admit it will make a lasting impression for all the right reasons. The park was clean, tidy and the staff were always friendly. Food was lovely and reasonably priced, free wi-fi was a great added bonus.

The swimming pool although we only used it once as we spent a lot of time away from the park on day trips was very clean and well maintained. All in all the park was absolutely lovely.

We had a budget chalet and didn't actually expect it to be up to much (you get what you pay for and all that) but it was actually just what we needed, somewhere to change and sleep. However I must add that my only critism is the comfort of the bed and the quality of the sofa bed, both very poor and we didn't sleep well at all on them, however I would not like this to be a negative review, just an honest one. We solved the problem ourselves by going and buying a double air bed for us to sleep on which really helped. As I said before, having paid a bargain price for the time of year I didn't expect the world from the chalet in the first place :)

The entertainment was absolutely great for my little one. he loved it, although it did get tedious and repetitive. The adult entertainment started too late but that wasn't too much of a problem for us as I was happy that my little boy was enjoying himself. We all really enjoyed the bingo and loved that the kids could get involved too.


All in all i loved our holiday and would absolutely visit again! :)

Room Tip: probably better to pay a little more and upgrade for a more comfortable stay but it all depends on w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hello Nicki

Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic 5 star review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed on to all departments.

Once again our entertainments team have been singled out for extra praise and there is no doubt that they deserve it. They are all doing a brilliant job this year and work extremely hard to ensure everyone has a great holiday.

Our returning customers are so important to us and regularly make up 50% of our visitors and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    223
    175
    129
    246
See reviews for
581
164
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Staying here right now for another 2wks not through choice but we cannot go home as house being adapted.we are in a supposedly disabled friendly site definitely isnt where are apartment is there are no disabled parking bays yet apartment has wet room!! Very difficult to get partner in car with wheelchair apparently we are in biggest apartment they have but not big enough for my partner to get around. We have asked if anything more suitable even if we have to wait for something to become available all we offered is a budget accommodation yet we in gold. Have tried to speak to manager two days in a row yet apparently not here so not impressed with the service and response we have been given. The lady who deals with disability on site will say she did try and was very polite. Also the soft play full of older kids apparently not staffs responsibility surely someone could supervise as it seems some parents dont care what there kids do. Overall so disappointed and not looking forward to next two weeks which is a shame as we were so happy with what we thought we booked

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hello Jo

i am delighted to hear that you have had a visit from Wayne, the park manager, and i am pleased to hear that he has been able to look after you.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bewdley, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a Monday to Friday break and had a great time. We were a bit nervous after reading some reviews but our accommodation was lovely. We stayed in a 1 bedroom gold chalet which I think is part of a block that has just been refurbished. It was quite small (would be a tight squeeze with 4) but really nicely done. The bed was comfy, there were thick curtains that kept it dark and the kitchen was fantastic, we even had a dishwasher! The park is a bit tired in places but you can see work going on to address this. The staff were fantastic, really friendly. The location is ideal. We explored all the local beaches (I recommend Puttsborough for one that is slightly less busy) and we had a lovely day out to Lynton and Lynmouth. I will go again!
Top tip Book the newly done gold accommodation

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAW39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your fantastic review. It is satisfying to hear that you had a great time on our park.

With regard to the accommodation, no doubt you noticed that the park is in the midst of a complete re-vamp. 50% of the apartments are new, the clubhouse was totally rebuilt recently and many of the older chalets are being refurbished and brought up to gold standard. As you will appreciate, such a massive investment does not happen overnight.

I have passed on your feedback on to the department managers so they can share this success with their teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have been coming to john fowlers for a few years now and been to most of the parks. Each one has been fabulous and very enjoyable. If you don't get one of the recently refurbished villas then yes it is a little worn but we usually have a great time with fowlers and love it there. The crew are always brilliant, helpful and happy. The only let down is we go to two different parks over two weeks and booking in the second week does require a bit of patience waiting for a villa to be ready
But worth it anyway. The parks are perfect for attractions and beaches the shop a godsend and the drinks a aren't too overpriced. Thanks Mr Fowler for our smashing holidays

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hello Tony

Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic 5 star review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed on to all departments.

We do take great pride in our customer care. It’s brilliant that this isn’t going unnoticed. Your comments will be passed on to the whole park team.

Our returning customers are so important to us, they regularly make up 50% of our visitors and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Booked without doing much research In to the holiday park , as it was going to be used as a base. And all the brilliant local attractions visited ( which was the case ).
Stayed with my girlfriend and 3.5 year old son . Only used the pool once . It was dated but just about ok . That seemed the way most of the park was. But in honesty we saw very little of it as we visited the big sheep, dinosaur and wildlife park and the fabulous watermouth castle . And many other local attractions and beaches.
To sum up :-
Positive

The shop was convenient . The staff we met friendly . The location brilliant . The information on local attractions very handy .

Negative .
Dated apartment .
Paper thin walls (we thought next door would come through ).
Dirty carpet .
A disco that ran past 10 , blaring out .
Curtains that excluded v little light.
Kids that seemed to run crazy all night . (It sounded like a riot was going off some nights . Fair enough if this is conveyed . It wasn't . So they should certainly suggest it isn't a place for under 10's. Especially not 100m from the all night disco !!!)

If you need a holiday park , certainly I'd look else where . Or bring your ear plugs . For the location just rent a apartment or house you can stay in the local area at . The money left over would certainly pay for a good few of the visits to the local attractions

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stuatlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, 29 October 2014
When I first read this very poor review, I immediately tried to contact the writer through the Tripadvisor Messaging service to investigate the issues and to check its validity. Sadly, with all Tripadvisor reviews being anonymous, it is impossible to make direct contact.

To date I have not received a reply to two such messages and I am disappointed that I have not been given the opportunity to put things right. We have to assume from this, that perhaps the holiday was not as bad as originally reported or that the review was not written by a genuine visitor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ilfracombe hotels

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

What can i say,having read the reviews before going we were somewhat apprehensive,upon our arrival we checked in which was easy enough,got to the so called apartment which was a "gold standard" and greeted with a stale smell,not good,overall was fairly clean but they have no attention to detail, the lino floor in the kitchen had burn marks all over it the carpet had a large burn mark on it where it joined the lino,the sofa no sorry you cant call it that,it was a joke a bed settee which had seen better days very uncomfortable when you sat on it you slipped in the middle just not practical as there were four of us and only a two seater ?????.Next the bedrooms,the mattress was the most uncomfortable thing we have ever had the pleasure to sleep on it was just like sleeping on a bed of springs, well worn to say the least hence didnt sleep very well at add to the fact it was on top of a wooden base which was as creakey as you could imagine, a nightmare,then throw in the fact that the "apartment" was next to the clubhouse which was a complete row every night till midnight sleep was very limited.In the room also should have been a dvd player when we told them it wasnt there we were told they were on order,come on john fowler all these little and even big things should be sorted before you even let them out it shouldnt need people to complain before you do anything.oh and a lick of paint wouldnt go amiss and carpets that actually fit wall to wall shouldnt be to much trouble so needless to say we left a day early as we couldnt stand the noise and the worlds most uncomfortable bed any more. I must give tho a special mention to a guy called kevin who works there a very helpfull guy.apart from all the negative stuff the actual park seems clean and tidy, the pool was ok, very nice cafe food very good reasonable price too. but will not be going back.....ever.

Room Tip: well we had a gold "apartment" more like a little flat really and that supposed to be the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rich-h622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, 29 October 2014
When I first read this very poor review, I immediately tried to contact the writer through the Tripadvisor Messaging service to investigate the issues and to check its validity. Sadly, with all Tripadvisor reviews being anonymous, it is impossible to make direct contact.

To date I have not received a reply to two such messages and I am disappointed that I have not been given the opportunity to put things right. We have to assume from this, that perhaps the holiday was not as bad as originally reported or that the review was not written by a genuine visitor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

THIEF!!!!..Nice place, nice apartment, restaurant great value for money, staff very approachable and helpful, kids club great, I was disappointed as on the first day we went out, they came into our apartment and someone stole £100. The police have nothing to go on other than the man going into our apartment without our knowledge and at the time we said the money had been taken!! I know innocent until proven guilty but it was very intimidating for my wife and children as the thief was still allowed to work around us the whole holiday. As we had bugeted holiday we had to leave a day early due to funds. Thief spoilt what would have been a very good holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hanna8427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFowlerHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Ilfracombe Holiday Park, responded to this review, 31 October 2014
Since this incident is the subject of an on-going police investigation, it would be remiss of me to make any remarks whatsoever. We await the outcome of their enquiries.

Pat
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
0.7 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.6 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
#5 of 8 in Combe Martin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
3.2 mi away
Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilfracombe Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilfracombe Holiday Park

Property: Ilfracombe Holiday Park
Address: Marlborough Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8PF, England (Formerly John Fowler Ilfracombe Holiday Park)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Ilfracombe
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilfracombe Holiday Park has everything you could want on a family holiday. A 56’ heated pool, a sauna, children’s play areas and an internet cafe provide you with all the comforts of home and more. Relax in our pool during the day, and then head to the Exmoor Club for the evening’s entertainment, free to everybody staying at our Ilfracombe Holiday Parks. This park is set at the top of the valley Ilfracombe lies in, so you get views right down over the town and out to sea, exactly what you’d expect from a Devon holiday. If you don’t want to deal with cooking on holiday then our Farmhouse Kitchen Restaurant can cook you up a wide variety of fare, from low price snacks to full grills and specialty dishes. We even offer takeaways. If you are going to cook for yourself, our onsite shop sells everything you’ll need, and there’s a Tesco superstore just a five minute walk away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
John Fowler Ilfracombe Holiday Park Hotel Ilfracombe
Ilfracombe Holiday Park Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing