We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, peaceful campsite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I'll be honest, I'm fussy when it comes to campsites. It's the shower blocks you see. They have to be spotless. It's no coincidence then that this was our third trip to this beautiful, tranquil spot. The staff are friendly, the park is quiet and laid back and the toilet/shower blocks are immaculate. Fabulous. Don't come if you want a pool and entertainment. Do come if you want a beautiful campsite with a couple of decent eating places and a little cove in easy reach. Ilfracombe is within walking distance (15/20 mins?) too so the location is perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeleValley, Front Office Manager at Hele Valley Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Park.

I am delighted to hear that you find our Holiday Park fabulous and that is was not your first visit.

Thank you again for all your comments it has been a great help!
We hope to see you again in the near future, all the best

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed at this well run, neat and tidy site with our touring caravan at the beginning of May 2013. The facilities were of excellent quality and cleanliness, The owners and staff extremely welcoming and helpful, and the maintenance and general upkeep spot on. One minor point, the water in the showers was never quite hot enough in the ladies block. We would recommend it to anyone exploring this beautiful part of North Devon and would certainly return in the future. VRC

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheppenstrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeleValley, Front Office Manager at Hele Valley Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Thank you for taking your time to leave your review on our Holiday Park.

I am pleased to see your comments about our park's cleanliness and staff.
With regards to your comment on the showers in the Lady's toilet block, I'm sorry to hear they was not hot enough, I have passed your comment over to house keeping.

Thank you again for all your comments it has been a great help!
We hope to see you again in the near future, all the best

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed at Hele Valley Holiday park on the May Bank Holiday weekend. On the face of it the park is nice and the cottage we stayed in appeared clean and spacious. Overall i thought it was slightly over-priced but it was ok.
Unfortunately we found mice in the cottage that would eat anything they could get to. I haven't really got a problem with mice but i wasn't over the moon about sharing the cottage with them.
My biggest "gripe" was the attitude of the reception staff. A young lady was pleasant but i found an elder lady working at the holiday park rude. I had a legitimate complaint that they tried to deal with but the mice stayed with us. They did not check back with us to ascertain whether the rodents had gone and considering the accommodation is not the cheapest i would have expected a standard of service fitting the price i paid. When leaving i highlighted to the staff that i wasn't that impressed with the experience and the elder lady decided to disagree with me in an attempt to exonerate herself and because i did not go back and tell them the mice were still there it must be my fault! They could have handled it better in my opinion.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeleValley, Manager at Hele Valley Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Firstly apologies that you didn't feel that we dealt with the issue to your satisfaction. Such incidents can be one of the drawbacks when you run a Park in a beautiful valley and strive to work with nature to maintain a natural environment. It is our policy to respond immediately to such issues and take every action as needed to resolve it as quickly as possible. I can only apologize that we were unable to keep you informed of actions taken as you were often out enjoying your holiday, as you should be. We hope this won’t stop you visiting again, and we would be happy to honour your request if and when you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I stayed in a camping pod over the bank holiday weekend and it was amazing! As someone who would usually camp, I really enjoyed the experience and for the price, it's a brilliant idea (especially given the British weather!).

The pod itself has electricity, lighting and heating and is like a cosy wooden tent. There's a surprising amount of space to stand up in too. The floor gave less than grass so if you are as soft as me, you might want an airbed!

Hele Valley is a beautiful site and the facilities are fab - everything is clean and tidy, there was always hot water, washing and shower cubicles and there is a pot washing area and laundry. I also really appreciated the recycling points dotted over the site. It was generally quiet on site and the views of the valley are fantastic.

It's possible to walk into Ilfracombe in about 20 minutes and there's a lovely little bay a few minutes walk from the site too, so perfectly situated. You've also got all of the North Devon beaches on your doorstep - Woolacombe is a must see.

The thing that impressed me most though was how friendly and helpful the staff were in providing a warm welcome, local knowledge and informing us of events. It really is a very special holiday park and I'd recommend it - give glamping a go!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mellenfaery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeleValley, Front Office Manager at Hele Valley Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

We are glad to see you had such a fabulous time in our "Glamping" pods, you appreciated our park facilities we have to offer. I have passed over your comments with regards to our staff and they are very delighted to hear about your feedback.

Thank you again for all your comments it has been a great help!
We hope to see you again in the near future, all the best

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We recently stayed for 6 nights in our tent. The site is very nice, quiet and relaxing.The facilities are good- individual wash cubicles, hot showers, pot wash with hot water (sometimes you have to wait a few minutes for the hot water to come through), and the facilities were all clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location- Tesco is a handy 5 minutes drive away and Ilfracombe is a 20 minute walk away (up a hill). Lots of walk from the campsite and Hele bay is a short walk away. Local bar and lovely tearoom all very close.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meggie_lou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeleValley, Front Office Manager at Hele Valley Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Park.

It's been great reading your review, very pleased to see your comments with regards to our facilities and it's good location.

Thank you again for all your comments it has been a great help!
We hope to see you again in the near future, all the best

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

we visit hele valley every year since we 1st visited it 7 years ago. the staff are absolutely brilliant and make you feel so at home and are very friendly. the accomadations are absolutely brilliant, they are very welcoming and homely. it also has the added bonus of being a pet-friendly site our pet simply loves her holidays to the site and to north devon in general. if people are asking the question 'should we/i go or not?' i would say go. you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeleValley, Front Office Manager at Hele Valley Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Park.
We are pleased to see that our staff give you that welcoming, home feeling. They are all doing a brilliant job, and work extremely hard to ensure everyone has a great holiday.

Thank you again for all your comments it has been a great help!
We hope to see you again in the near future

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Me and my family have stayed in one of the cottages every year for the past 5 years and will be again this year. The cottages are beautiful. Very clean and great facilities. It is like a home from home. The staff are extremely pleasant and helpful! The site itself is lovely and clean and very quiet; great for relaxing. Location is very close to hele bay itself which is a stunning bay! It is also within walking distance of ilfracombe and it's nice to have a stroll there in the good weather. I cannot recommend this site enough.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessxx_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeleValley, Front Office Manager at Hele Valley Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to hear it feels like home from home.
Please have the confidence in us to provide you with a further enjoyable holiday this year.
Looking forward to seeing you again.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
2.1 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
632 reviews
3.2 mi away
Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#17 of 20 in Ilfracombe
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
455 reviews
8.0 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,822 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Cove Coastal Retreat
Beach Cove Coastal Retreat
#2 of 25 in Ilfracombe
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hele Valley Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hele Valley Holiday Park

Address: | Hele Bay, Ilfracombe EX34 9RD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Ilfracombe
Price Range: £61 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hele Valley Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hele Valley is a multi award-winning Holiday Park based in the quaint seaside town of Ilfracombe on the beautiful coast of North Devon. The Park has been owned and managed by the Dovey family for over forty years and is situated in a picturesque valley and is the perfect destination for relaxation, peace and tranquillity. 2016 accolades consist of two Silver Awards at the Devon Tourism Awards, David Bellamy Gold Award for Conservation, Trip Advisor Excellence Certificate, Britain in Bloom Gold Award and the AA and Visit England four star gradings. With a wide range of modern and affordable luxury caravans, superior lodges and holiday cottages, there is accommodation perfect for families, friends, couples and pets. Our peaceful, green and well maintained 5-pennant campsite offers a wide range of tent pitches, touring pitches, Camping Pods and state of the art camping facilities. Limited free Wi-Fi is available throughout the park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hele Valley Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hele Valley Holiday Park Hotel Ilfracombe
Hele Valley Holiday Park Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing