We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (524)
Filter reviews
524 results
Traveller rating
292
146
46
19
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
292
146
46
19
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews road noise lakeside restaurant lovely site serviced pitch premier pitch toilet block overflow field main road underfloor heating woodland walk stream running hard standing dog walking onsite restaurant grass pitch shower facilities tv reception
Filter
Updating list...
420 - 425 of 524 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We've just returned from a week's holiday at Hidden Valley, where we stayed along side another family.

PROS
-we had a large pitch which was more than enough for a large car and decent sized tent. The pitch was level and more than adequate for our needs.

-the reception staff were very friendly, and when checking in they gave us a map of the site and even suggested a local Indian takeaway to us.

-washing up facilities are good; clean and adequate.

-location: the site is a good base for exploring north devon.

-the owners run BBq's during high season. Whilst we didn't have anything, there seemed to be lots of very happy customers!

CONS
-the showers were abysmal, and temperatures ranged between boiling hot and freezing cold, as soon as anyone put a tap on in the block! They were also often very dirty with mud, which was disappointing considering this was a hot August. There was pain peeling from the walls and ceiling, and mould in places. The family shower had a broken light (its very dark in there with the door closed!) and the shower was perpetually cold. We complained, but nothing seemed to happen. It was suggested that we use the ones in the top block... (About a 15 minute walk with a toddler...!)

-the play park is incredibly dilapidated and in dire need of updating. They are up a very steep hill, and are dark and poorly lit (even during the day time!)

-the noise from the road is loud, often with motorbikes at night. We were quite far away, but were still occasionally woken up by the odd bike.

-there were wasps everywhere! We were swarmed and stung! Not sure what could be done, but it really put a dampener on things.

-we went for breakfast one morning about 9:30... It was closed. (!!)

-the campsite is on the Braunton Road, which is an absolute nightmare to get through. If you are wanting to get to Saunton or Croyde, take the right towards Georgeham after you've turned right out the campsite. This will save you so much time.

overall,

We paid around 40 a night for a large pitch and an awful shower. There really aren't enough facilities on site that warrant the price; we felt the site represented quite poor value for money. It's probably best for older couples, and definately not for children.

Room tip: As far away from the road as possible. Avoid the cross section near the toilet block in kingfisher, you will get a LOT of passing traffic.
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Gemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenValleyManager, Manager at Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Hi Adamsgem.

Many thanks indeed for your comments, we are naturally pleased with your positive comments and take on board your negative ones. We are happy to receive all reviews so we can improve our service to you. I understand you were camping with Daviebway and one other family, and I am very sorry that you had some problems during your holiday.

We did indeed have a problem one morning over the bank holiday weekend whereby our boilers could not keep up with the demand for hot water and the temperature fluctuated for a short time, I am very sorry regarding this. Rest assured, we have investigated the problem and will be installing another two state of the art boilers taking the total number to 8, which is well above the manufactures recommendation. This will prevent any future problems.
Using our second shower block, although 300 meters across the park was an appropriate solution that morning, although perhaps not convenient for you.

We have very high cleanliness standards and thank you for bringing the mud to my attention.

I am truly very sorry that the bulb blew in one of the family shower rooms, this was replaced as soon as we were able to do so.

The childrens’ play park in Kingfisher Meadow is located within the forest, which we find most children love as they can explore without disturbing anyone. It does make it a little dark, being in the shade, but please remember this prevents small children from getting burnt by South Wests high UV count. I am truly sorry you did not find this appropriate.
I am also so sorry you thought the equipment was dilapidated we are looking at replacing the equipment in the coming years.

I can only apologise that you found some wasps during your stay, had you brought this to my attention during your holiday I could have dealt with the matter.

Unfortunately, we are unable to cook Full English Breakfasts on Thursdays and Fridays, as due to government guidelines the cook does need a day off. On these two days we are happy to serve a continental breakfast including cereal hot croissants or toast, tea and coffee. I am sorry that you were not aware of this.

Thank you once again for giving us your feedback which we take on board, I am again truly sorry that you had some problems whilst you were here.

Richard Legg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here for 7 nights with the understanding that the site shall be quiet, clean and suitable for young children. Upon arrival the pitch was of good size (larger than other campsites) which was very pleasing. We were however not impressed by the shower/toilet facilities which were very dated. The showers constantly alternated between boiling hot to freezing cold which upset the children. We tried various showers (Male and Female areas) which seemed to be the same. The family shower room had a shower that didn't work, and for the majority, no working light even though this was reported at the start of our stay.

The staff we found to be a tad abrupt and unhelpful when confronted. For instance when we informed them of the issues with the showers we were told to use the other toilet block across site rather than be reassured that the problem would be dealt with. In addition to this, we did feel as if we were forced out at 10:30AM as the staff were very keen to mow the grass of our pitch.

The Children's play areas were very dated, on the verge of being unsafe and in need of replacement. Compared to other campsites these fall way short of what you would expect from the website as well as the pitching price.

The shop/cafe were not well stocked nor staffed. Nor was it clear when breakfast would be available. The shop does not stock much (unless you want some baked beans).

To summarise, the location was pretty good with regards to getting to the beaches and the pitches were indeed of good size, however, the site does needs updating and the staff need to be more polite and attentitive. I can honestly say we were very disappointed and will not be staying again bearing in mind the number of other sites in the area.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daviebway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenValleyManager, Manager at Hidden Valley Touring & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Daviebway,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review along with Adamsgem who you were camping with. We welcome all reviews, both good and bad.

I am sorry that you thought the shower décor was dated, the décor is indeed a little old being 6 years old, however the shower fittings and all plumbing is modern and state of the art, with thermostatic adjusters on each shower.
The 6 new boilers which were installed into the Kingfisher meadow shower block at the end of last year feed only 8 showers, cost in the region of 17 thousand pounds and id the most up-to-date hot water solution for campsites. Regrettably over the bank holiday weekend the sheer number of people showering meant the boilers were working beyond capacity and did result in some fluctuation in water temperature, I can only apologise for any inconvenience this caused and reassure you that we will be installing another two boilers to prevent this from happening again in the future. Using our second shower block, although 300 meters across the park was an appropriate solution at the time, although perhaps not convenient for you.

Unfortunately, a bulb blew in one of the family shower rooms during your stay, this was replaced the following morning once it was reported by one of our cleaners. Again, I can only apologise for any inconvenience this caused you.

Our check-out time is 10:30am, this ensures your pitch is ready for your arrival and check-in time of 12:30. However we do not police the check-out time at all and I am surprised you thought you were rushed out, as no grass cutting was needed on your day of departure. We are reviewing our check-out time and are thinking of delaying this until 11am.

We do try and keep the shop as well stocked as possible, I am very sorry indeed that we did not have the food you were looking for. We stock fresh local produce, a variety of food suitable for camping on a camp stove, and a wide variety of camping equipment.

I am again so sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay, we take all your comments on board and thank you once again for giving us feedback and for choosing to stay with us this year.

Richard Legg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We booked this visit only a week before travelling and via the campsite's web page, getting a last minute discount. On arrival at the site, the reception staff were very helpful, explaining the site layout and providing us with a map. On arrival at our pitch we realised that it was being partly used by an unoccupied touring caravan. On ringing reception and explaining what we had found, an apologetic man turned up within two minutes to tow the caravan away - couldn't get quicker service than that. We had booked a medium sized pitch which was big enough to house our tent, wind breakers to provide the dog with an enclosed open-spaced area and the car.
The toilet/shower/dishwashing block was very clean, surrounded outside by beautiful hanging baskets. The water was hot in the showers and they even provided washing up liquid at the pot washing area. They also provided bricks to allow you to lift disposable BBQ's off the grass.
For those who complain about the road noise - if you go onto the campsite's official website, you will see a map which clearly shows its proximity to the main A road. Despite this, we took hardly any notice of the road noise. On the opposite side of the site there was a lovely woodland walk - great for the dogs.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thetwoseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The camp sit is excellent. We had a 'Premier' pitch with picnic table. This type of pitch swallowed my large trailer tent & car, and left room for another large tent and car. The amenities are very good, plenty of hot water, wash basins within some of the wc cubicles, good showers etc. plus an area for washing wet suits. The staff are very helpful & friendly, and with a shop that stocks all the usually required (or left at home) items. The river and woodland walk are great for kids as are the children's playgrounds. The down side is the traffic noise from the adjacent road and traveling south through Braunton, which is a bit of a bottle neck. A reviewer suggested that the TV reception wasn't very good, if TV is so important to a holiday, then I suggest that they stay at home.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubadick186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Camping for 4 nights in August with 3 and 6 year olds. Lovely team and friendly staff. Shop could have more picnic food like ham and cheese perhaps from local sources. The facility to order bread and pastries was lovely though. The play parks were really pointless up in the trees up a steep bank and very dark, really dilapidated equipment. I imagined from the website somewhere you could sit and watch the kids have a play. The roads were safe for scooting and biking though, and older children could go off in the woods.
The road was advised on the website but I was suprised how noisy it was. The toilets and showers were ok clean enough and warm, looking a bit tired. There were a lot of yappy dogs one big husky was loose at one point running around and into everyone areas (quite friendly but my 3 year old would have been terrified if she had met him). A good base for North Devon very convenient just not much to draw you back to the site to hang around say early afternoon/evening.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews