We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time visitors to Ilfracombe”
Review of Sea Breeze House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Breeze House
Ranked #16 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First time visitors to Ilfracombe”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Sea Breeze was a comfy and welcoming bed and breakfast and provided a great base from which to head out and explore Ilfracombe.

My partner and I enjoyed our stay and found the room had a great view.

The proprietors recommended a good taxi service and places to eat.

We're thinking of staying again next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spidersfr0mMars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    26
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
104
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Just a quick thank you to Richard & Annette for making our stay so lovely, they where very welcoming and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was lovely, our only regret is we couldn't stay longer :-( but next time we visit Ilfracombe we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We have just got back from our stay at this amazing victorian guest house.As a female couple with a bit of an age gap we are used to people giving us this odd look when they see us for the first time, however not this time i felt so comfortable and not judged at all which i have to say it amazing and i really aprechate.
I love older buildings they are full of character and have fab features and this one did not dissapoint. we were in room 9 at the Top. Even tho we were at the top the steps were easy to get up and down. when we arrived we were greated by Richard who was really friendly and helpful, he pointed out great places to eat gave us a map and helped us out. We met annette shortly afterwards she is also friendly and keeps the place clean and tidy. Our room was great had everything we needed there is even a fully stocked fridge and basket full of treats which are fairly priced. Breakfast was great and i am sadly going to miss it! I can taste thos sausages now YUMMY!!! Amazing cook! really enjoyed it! just the right amount as well i didnt leave anything on my plate.
They also have a bar which looks fab, very well decorated.
Its a nice walk into town and the Tunnels are close by, some people have put on here its far from the town etc. but i think its about right. not to far and not to close. i enjoyed walking there and back, we got a Taxi once because it was pouring with rain. I think i have covered everything i can. but to some things up. This is one of the best guest houses i have ever been in they are so friendly and helpful we cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fayelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mars
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Sea Breeze is a fairly priced hotel with a warm welcome. The building is large and Victorian, and has been knocked about over the years to be used for various purposes no doubt, and some of the finishing is a bit rough. The room we had was quite large with a shower room built into the room. The walls were wood-chipped and the ceiling badly repaired, but the bed was comfortable. It was clean and the breakfast was excellent. More B & B than hotel really, but perfectly acceptable. We would stay there again

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NettyDevon, Owner at Sea Breeze House, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to add a review for Sea Breeze House.
After reading this review we have come to the conclusion that you initially typed this hastily on your computer and probably on reflection you may have chosen your words more carefully i.e. knocked about and rough?, The room that you stayed in is in good decorative order in a neutral colour pallet, which many previous guests have enjoyed.
For the benefit of future guests who read this review, we would like to add that our beautiful Victorian House built in 1885, has been sympathetically adapted for the 21st century over a period of many years previous to our ownership. We still retain many of the original features such as our beautiful period fireplaces, and wonderful stain glass windows and should you return again, as mentioned, we would be more than happy to show all of our other rooms to see if they meet your requirements?
Lastly we would also like to confirm that yes you are correct that we are a guesthouse and not a hotel!!...we never advertise ourselves as a hotel so maybe this was a slight oversight on your behalf? We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Sea Breeze House. Richard and Annette we very friendly,warm and welcoming. Our room was great, very clean and comfortable. We will be returning in the future so glad we found a great placed to stay with great friendly hosts. Not far from the Beach and Harbour a nice walk, Richard gave us a usefull taxi number to use also a great guide as where to eat and places to see. And last but not least breakfast was lush!!! Thank You Richard and Annette for a fantastic stay. Nicola and Neil

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nic l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.W. Wales
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We have just returned from a 3 day break staying at Sea Breeze House. We received a very warm welcome from Richard on our arrival. We were booked into room5 which was a king size superior room. The room was a nice size and was bright and airy. The bathroom was small but adequate for our needs. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. The only drawback for me (which I hasten to add was not the hotel's fault) was the traffic noise. Where we live has no passing traffic and this being on a main road it did keep me awake a bit the first night but buying ear-plugs solved the problem. The breakfast cooked by Annette was lovely. There was a nice selection on the menu and there was plenty of cereal, fruit juice, yoghurt etc. of which you could have as much as you wanted.

To go out for a meal in the evening you have to go into Ilfracombe itself. We clocked this and it is approx. a mile. You can take a steady walk to the town which is all downhill or you can take a bus or a taxi. There are a number of good places to eat across the front.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay at Sea Breeze House and will be happy to go back again at some point in the future. Thanks to Richard, Annette and tin-tin the dog for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldwiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We booked this Hotel through the Internet. We had never been to Ilfracombe before and wanted to go for a short break to celebrate my retirement. The journey from the West Midlands down the M5 was not the easiest to say the least. However, when we did eventually arrive at the Hotel we were greeted with such a lovely warm welcome. Our room was lovely and clean and we felt that where the hotel was situated was perfect for us. It was just a very short walk to the town but far enough away from any noise and bustle. The hosts were lovely, really helpful telling us where to eat the best food and how to get to different places. The breakfasts were fantastic. We had one of the loveliest breaks we have had for a while. The hotel is not a fancy one but a very warm, welcoming, clean and friendly one.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.8 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#9 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
1.0 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 52 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Breeze House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Breeze House

Property: Sea Breeze House
Address: 51 St. Brannocks Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Breeze House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Licensed Guest House, exclusively for Adults Only, with its own private car park is within walking distance of Ilfracombe town, harbour, beaches, restaurants, the theatre and night-life. Beautiful beaches of Woolacombe, Croyde and Saunton Sands are a 10 minute drive away.Richard & Annette offer you the perfect retreat from life's stresses and strains and offer you a friendly but discreet service.If you are searching for a high quality bed and breakfast accommodation offering a comfortable and friendly stay, then Sea Breeze House is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sea Breeze House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Breeze House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing