We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, with excellent hosts”
Review of Sea Breeze House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Breeze House
Ranked #17 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, with excellent hosts”
Reviewed 25 April 2010

My wife and I had an excellent 4 nights stay at the Sea Breeze. The hosts Richard and Annette were just great, they went out of their way to make your holiday something special. The bedroom we were in (9) was very clean and a good size with a great bed and LCD tv. The breakfasts were excellent, by far the BEST we have enjoyed in a long while. They have a small bar, which was great to meet other guests.
If you require a great base to tour Devon, then the Sea Breeze is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarkBlueDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    26
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
107
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Tried this location after looking at trip advisor reviews. We were not disappointed. Mine host and his wife were very welcoming. The room was small but cosy and the en suite was spacious. This hotel has the advantages of a B+B in the friendly welcome, advice on local matters etc with the advantages of a small (10 room) hotel in that you don't feel you're intruding on someone's house, as you often do in smaller 2 and 3 room B+B's. Rooms have decent TVs with free-view, the free tea, coffee, bottled water and biscuits are replenished each day and the mini-bar has reasonable prices (when did you last see that?) and an honesty book to log down what you use. Breakfast is indeed very nice and substantial, as reported by others. Try moving away from the Full English and sample some of the other delights - my wife tried the scrambled egg with smoked salmon and raved about it. The hotel is a short walk out of town - if raining you might want a taxi but the taxi fare was only £2-50 which, after the licensed taxi-bandits in some European cities, came as a pleasant surprise. I would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AyACastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2010

I chose this place based on trip advisor reviews and was not disappointed at all. We were made to feel very welcome indeed by Richard who was always there to help and have a chat . The house itself was warm, clean and comfortable and our room was nicely furnished including a flat screen TV and a large bathroom. There are plenty of options for breakfast but I had the "full English" which set me up for the rest of the day (no need to buy lunch!). Sea Breeze House is in a great location to visit all the beautiful North Devon places such as Woolacombe, Lynmouth,Barnstaple (etc) as well as Ilfracombe itself. I would certainly stay there again.

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bighector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Had a fantastic stay, due to the friendiness of Richard and Annette, who run this B&B. They went out of thier way to make you feel relaxed and welcome. The breakfast was great, rooms were spacious and very clean. The hosts went out of their way to tell you all the local info, good restaurants, places to visit, it made our stay all the more enjoyable.
Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jugjug22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madeline
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2009

We have stayed here about six times now and could highly recommend this hotel. We are always made extremely welcome. The rooms are excellent and very reasonably priced. The breakfast is always good and sets you up for the day. Looking forward to going back again soon.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madeline24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2009

Richard and Annette were welcoming, friendly hosts. They cooked a delicious full English breakfast with all the trimmings (didn't need to spend money on lunch as it really filled us up!). The bedroom/ensuite shower room was very clean and has all that you need including a snack basket in case you just want to lounge and watch TV or have a midnight feast! Richard was very informative about what the surrounding area had to offer. We wanted beaches and walks - beautiful coastline.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Black-Bessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2009

Me and my partner have just returned from a break at the Sea Breeze. I must say I didnt no what to expect when booking as i havent been to Ilfracombe before. Annette and Richard are fantastic hosts and my partner wanted to take their dalmatian dog home with her. The room was really lovely, comfortable and warm with a great onsuite shower. Its located within a walking distance of the town and Annette and Richard gave us some great advice on where to walk and eat etc. The breakfast was fantastic and filled us up for the day. All in all a great little place, with wonderful hosts. We will certainly be going back. So much to do in and around Ilfracombe - 2 days wasnt enough.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngwilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.6 mi away
The Bath House Hotel
The Bath House Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ilfracombe
208 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
393 reviews
1.0 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wildercombe House
Wildercombe House
#1 of 52 in Ilfracombe
400 reviews
0.8 mi away
Acorn Lodge
Acorn Lodge
#21 of 52 in Ilfracombe
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Breeze House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Breeze House

Property: Sea Breeze House
Address: 51 St. Brannocks Road, Ilfracombe EX34 8EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Breeze House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Licensed Guest House, exclusively for Adults Only, with its own private car park is within walking distance of Ilfracombe town, harbour, beaches, restaurants, the theatre and night-life. Beautiful beaches of Woolacombe, Croyde and Saunton Sands are a 10 minute drive away.Richard & Annette offer you the perfect retreat from life's stresses and strains and offer you a friendly but discreet service.If you are searching for a high quality bed and breakfast accommodation offering a comfortable and friendly stay, then Sea Breeze House is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sea Breeze House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Breeze House Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing