We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic 2 night stay”
Review of Harcourt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harcourt Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Ilfracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fantastic 2 night stay”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Arrived at the hotel around 3.30pm to be met by Kirsty who could not have been more helpful. We even got a parking space for the first night and We were given a lovely room (no. 5) which was clean and uncluttered with plenty of wArdrobe and drawer space. The bathroom was clean and the shower was hot and a good flow of water (unlike some we've experienced) We had a great view out across to the sea. Cooked breakfast was superb and the hotel is well located, just a short stroll to the seafront and harbour. All in all great value and will definitely return and recommend. Penny and Chris

Room Tip: Room 5 was the triple and is spacious with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    29
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
71
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Spent 5 days there nice staff made our dog very welcome.parking not so good only room for 3 cars 1 off was there's. or park on long stay car park. Not near hotel.BAR not open all week but hotel is fine to stay if you don't want to park at hotel and have a beer.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipston-on-Stour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We have just had a two night break at Harcourt Hotel and couldn't have wished to have stayed anywhere nicer. Jackie was so very welcoming right from the start, as were her staff throughout our stay. Our room was immaculate and very comfortable, with everything we could have wanted in it. Breakfasts were yummy and nice and hot, with plenty of choice. Only downside was the parking issue, but we realise nothing can be done about that, and it wouldn't deter us from returning. Altogether....we made a very good choice. Thanks Jackie.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

As regular visitors to Ilfracombe would definately return to The Harcourt again. The hotel is in a good location, exceptionally clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent especially the fresh fruit salad. Would highy recommend The Harcourt over other hotels in Ilfracombe.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

home from home,ideal location,close to both harbour and seafront,rooms lovely and clean,jacquie and co very friendly and welcoming nothing too much trouble,would definitely recommend this lovely little guest house,cannot fault it,a must stay

Room Tip: room 2 and 5 superb sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A great location, and a perfect little room for my one-night stay between visiting Lundy and going home to London. Very good value, the room had everything I needed and was very clean and comfortable. I had to leave too early for breakfast but was provided with a nice packed lunch instead. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you are travelling alone, room 7 is small but perfectly formed, is very good value for money, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tourmaline118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Felt like home from home, will definitely be staying again.
Food was brilliant, service was exceptional and friendly.

I left a phone charger in the room and didn't even realise until it arrived in the post. THANKS!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam220270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilfracombe hotels
0.3 mi away
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
Ilfracombe Carlton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.7 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#13 of 20 in Ilfracombe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 20 in Ilfracombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harcourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harcourt Hotel

Property: Harcourt Hotel
Address: 49 Fore Street, Ilfracombe EX34 9DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Harcourt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, recently refurbished, family run, dog friendly licensed hotel. Close to the Harbour, shops and sea front. We pride ourselves on our clean, friendly, home from home environment. All rooms are en-suite with color TVs and beverage facilities. We offer B&B with the option of evening meal, our menu caters for all tastes and dietary requirements. Limited parking spaces. Licensed bar, games rooms and guest TV lounge. Catering for single people up to a family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harcourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harcourt Hotel Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing