We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good campsite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mill Park Touring Caravan & Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good campsite”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Have stayed at Mill Park on many occasions. The owners always do their utmost to be of help to campers. The cocoons are excellent for anyone not wishing to stay in a tent - campers have raved about them and the children who stay in them have found it an adventure. The shower/toilet facilities are excellent and are cleaned regularly. There is always a member of staff/or one of the owners contactable at all times and nothing has ever been too much trouble. The site is on the edge of a pretty village but close enough to visit the lovely North Devon area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delaware186424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    43
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
79
101
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I tried to contact the site a few days before we were due there and left a voicemail message which was never returned.

We therefore arrived at approx. 16:00 on a Saturday as casual tourers for one night after walking part of the South West Coast path, to find that the reception only opens from 09:00 - 13:00 daily.

Whilst all the information we needed to pitch was adequately displayed, I did see a member of staff (I presume as they were wearing a Mill Park T shirt) and approached them to confirm the arrangements for staying. She (and the people she was with) seemed more interested in what they were doing than helping me.

When we ready to leave the following morning, we were waiting for reception to open just before 09:00 and had to wait until past 09:15 before anyone came to open up. In the meantime, I had unsuccessfully tried to ring all of the phone numbers displayed to determine when (if??) reception would be opening. To be fair, the person who did eventually arrive, did apologise, but this is a disappointing level of service.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rivbom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed in self catering cottages nearby but were very pleasantly surprised to be told by a staff member from this campsite that we could use all the facilities! Great when the weather is a bit lousy as there was a games room for older teens and a bar/tv room/snooker room for anyone else - and on a good day a nice childrens play area!
We also treated ourselves to breakfast and a takeaway meal - lovely staff working here - very friendly and happy to tweak items on the menu if they are able - delicious fish and chips/burgers and onion rings - and lovely sausage baps for breakfast - and toast was offered free of charge to our little ones who had had breakfast earlier which was very sweet of the chef!!!
he also does a mean latte !!
We used the toilet facilities and were pleasantly surprised to find them clean and tidy - almost unheard of on a camp site!!!!
The owner is very pleasant and very hands on - nothing seemed too much trouble!
We will definitely come again and this time camp here as it was so nice to be around such pleasant people!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We have just spent a week in our caravan at Mill park, my partner and I were meeting up with my parents and were given pitches side by side. We were lucky to get hardstanding pitches on Nr dog walk as most were on grass which would have been a problem with the heavy rain we suffered on and off through the week. There is a great pond on site if your a fisherman and the price is reasonable at £2.50 a day for residents. The amenities were ok with a decent size bar and seating area. A takeaway on site not great choice and not great food but ok if you cant be bothered to cook. 2 shower blocks, one more modern than the other which we tended to use as our pitch was around the same distance to both. All in all not a bad place to stay and would go back hopefully to better weather next time. An excellent pub up the hill around 10 mins walk into Berrynarbor village called Ye olde Globe for top notch food would recommend highy.

Room Tip: Ask for a hardstanding pitch as there seems to be more grass pitches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaydablade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this site for three days with a large group of our family, stayed in the bottom field. Field was perfect as we had 7 tents in our group. Ages in our group ranged from 2 to let's say over 40!! Everyone of us had a great time! All the staff we came into contact was polite and helpful, although they struggled with our large group at breakfast the first day they were a lot quicker the second day. Only tip I would give, if you wish to use the takeaway order in plenty of time as it can take a while.... But the food is lovely! All of our group agreed we would defiantly stay at this site agin.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank freekyjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We've just returned from a stay at Mill Park. This was our fourth visit and other trips have been enjoyable. Previously we have camped in the 'bottom field', this time we were in the first field by reception. A group of ten of us, on four pitches all camped together and the owners were helpful with finding us pitches together. After the first evening (wet and miserable weather) we had a visit from the owner saying that he had recieved a complaint about noise from our pitches. He was very aggressive and loud, speaking to us like we were schoolchildren and actually stated...'if you've come here to party and get drunk you've come to the wrong place'. We are a group of friends and family all 40+, we like to get together and enjoy a laugh but hardly drunken party'ers! Having explained that we were all just gathered in one tent chatting the evening before, he did calm down and appeared to accept our explanation. This is a nice site, but we didn't appreciate the way that we were shouted at before even being given airspace to explain. Also the showers and toilets leave a lot to be desired, tired, in need of renovation and quite dirty. The shower block in the bottom field where we have stayed previously is much nicer but really too far to walk from the top field.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debina2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I have been here many times and am due to go back again shortly. Last time I was there myself and 3 friends stayed in one the 2 "cocoons" which are like a glorified shed/permanent tent - much easier then pitching a tent etc and they have heating, a light and a power socket.
The lake and stream make this valley location campsite an extremely attractive place to stay, and the showers & toilets are modern and clean. We personally chose not to use the pub/restaurant as they looked like they weren't really our scene. Nearby there are 2 pubs in walking distance, both very dated and serving below average pub grub. If you want decent food nearby you will have to drive (or cook). Enjoy staying here and will do again, just wish that there was a decent pub nearby for a drink or two.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank will101clifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilfracombe
2.3 mi away
The Royal Britannia
The Royal Britannia
#14 of 20 in Ilfracombe
328 reviews
2.0 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
363 reviews
5.1 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#1 of 25 in Ilfracombe
417 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
#6 of 7 in Combe Martin
570 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mullacott Farm
Mullacott Farm
#22 of 52 in Ilfracombe
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Park Touring Caravan & Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Park Touring Caravan & Camping Park

Property: Mill Park Touring Caravan & Camping Park
Address: Mill Lane | Berrynarbor, Ilfracombe EX34 9SH, England (Formerly Mill Park Camping and Caravan Park)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Ilfracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mill Park is a beautiful 25 acre Touring Caravan, Camper Van and Tent camping site on the fringe of Berrynarbour village. Nestled in a beautiful secluded wooded valley with gentle stream gurgling through it feeding our 1.5 acre private fishing lake. Mill Park caters for all types of campers, from the spacious "grass only" pitches for the truly independent campers, right through to the serviced pitches complete with hardstandings, power, water and drainage for those wanting a little more creature comforts. You will find friendly, helpful staff onsite manning a well stocked shop for your everyday useful items and camping essentials. The showers and toilets are impeccably clean. There is a bar onsite serving local specialty ales, lovely wines as well as your usual brand beers, lagers and spirits. With the local beaches a stones throw away and loads of local activities on our doorstep you will not be short of things to do, alternatively relax by the lake, take a walk in the woods or explore the site. Our aim is to make your stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Mill Park Touring Caravan & Camping Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Park Camping And Caravan Park Hotel Ilfracombe
Mill Park Touring Caravan & Camping Park Ilfracombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing