We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant, gorgeous food & excellent service!”
Review of Combe Cottage Restaurant - CLOSED

Combe Cottage Restaurant
Price range: US$8 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: At Combe Cottage Restaurant and Cafe the emphasis is on home cooked meals using fresh local ingredients. We are proud to support our local producers and suppliers.Full of character and charm our restaurant is ideally situated on the bustling Ilfracombe High Street. We would like to extend a warm welcome to all.
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were looking for somewhere special for dinner for 18 people and found Combe Cottage. I contacted them by email to ask if they could accommodate us and they were extremely helpful and said we could have the restaurant to ourselves for the evening. We arrived at the restaurant to a warm welcome. The service and food were faultless. Kate's cooking was superb from starter to dessert and we all talked about about it on our walk back to the house which is always a sign of a good night out. I would have no hesitation in recommending Combe Cottage for any meal/snack and will definitely visit again. Thanks Combe Cottage for such a wonderful dinner & making it such a special evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rossichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulw09, Owner at Combe Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Many, many thanks for your fabulous review. It was really good to meet you and your family last week - what a really lovely bunch of people - it was a pleasure to open for you. Hope you enjoyed your walk to the beach! We will look forward to hosting your next family do should you be in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (272)
There are newer reviews for Combe Cottage Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have eaten here a number of times and had good food every time. The service is good and friendly. Prices for the food are very reasonable, as is for the wine. Try one of the specials, you won't be disappointed. We have stayed in 4* hotels in different parts of the country, some of their chefs could learn from the Coombe Cottage - seriously, they could.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Acland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulw09, Owner at Combe Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. Here at Combe Cottage our aim is to send out homemade food, made with local produce, at a reasonable price - if we are sending out good, wholesome food, then hopefully we are doing something right! Looking forward to seeing you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Fantastic food & brilliant service, me & my partner are regulars to coombe cottage and cannot fault the quality of the food. Great atmosphere one of the best restaurants we have ever been to!

Thank Kirsty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulw09, Owner at Combe Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Many thanks for your great review. We are so lucky here at Combe Cottage to have some really lovely local regulars! Looking forward to seeing you guys again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Cant rate this restaurant highly enough .....food cooked to perfection ...very clean and freindly service ..........very peacful place for chat or reading wiv excellant coffee 5*

Thank Djpaul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulw09, Owner at Combe Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Many thanks for your review. Really pleased to hear you enjoyed the coffee as well as the food - we have always served organic tea and coffee and it has proved really popular. Look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I loved this restaurant. It was nicely understated and comfortable with a lovely homely atmosphere. The food was yummy and my veggie friend who'd picked it to try the mushroom and stilton pie was over the moon. We each ordered a different meal so that we could try each others and they were all really tasty. Not an overcooked veg in sight either. The banana cheesecake is a must try, it just melted in my mouth. The waiter was pleasant and best of all didnt swoop for our order or to snatch our plates away as if rushing us out the door. Best most relaxing meal I've had in ages.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Sussexladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulw09, Owner at Combe Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Many thanks for your lovely review, so glad you enjoyed the special Valentines menu - it's always good to get such positive feedback. We will look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Combe Cottage Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing