We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Combe Cottage Restaurant - CLOSED

Combe Cottage Restaurant
Price range: US$8 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: At Combe Cottage Restaurant and Cafe the emphasis is on home cooked meals using fresh local ingredients. We are proud to support our local producers and suppliers.Full of character and charm our restaurant is ideally situated on the bustling Ilfracombe High Street. We would like to extend a warm welcome to all.
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

My husband , my daughter and myself were only in ilfracombe for the evening and came across Combe cottage by chance , we rang and booked x table fir 6,30 , on arrival we were welcomed and chosen to our table , given the wine list and menu , there was plenty to choose from on all courses , I had minestrone soup my daughter chose mushrooms in a creamy sause and my husband had carrot pate very unusual all the starters were delicious and piping hot , mains were fish stew , puy lentil hotpot .and lamb with red cabbage all also were delicious and very generous portions in fact , we were so full we couldn't manage a sweet , this is a charming little gem and should not be missed , you will not be disappointed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulw09, Owner at Combe Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Many thanks for your great review. It was lovely to meet you all last weekend and we are so pleased that you got to sample (and enjoy!) our new evening menu. Hopefully next time you are in the area you will pop back to try the desserts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stopped at Combe Cottage for lunch on a recent trip to Ilfracombe. The food was excellent, tasty, fresh, home made and a reasonable price. The restaurant was cosy and welcoming and the service was great. We wiIl definitely be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MrsC2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulw09, Owner at Combe Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Many thanks for your lovely review yes, all our food is homemade - we are very proud to support our local butchers and grocers and like to think that using the freshest ingredients can only help chef produce the tastiest dishes! We will look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We have eaten here several times since my last review in 2010. We usually visit at lunchtime, although we have also had an excellent evening meal. The lunch menu is supplemented by daily specials, so there is always something interesting I want to try. The cooking and service are good, but it's the value for money that keeps us coming back. Combe Cottage is not a posh restaurant, so you don't pay posh restaurant prices even though the quality of the food would justify it. I assume that competitive pressures are keeping prices down, which is great for customers who enjoy good food and don't mind the slightly shabby furniture.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Devon_Diner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulw09, Owner at Combe Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Many thanks for your lovely review, it was great to see you both. We are very fortunate here at Combe Cottage to have a large number of return customers and we look forward to seeing you again next time you visit Ilfracombe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The food is delicious, piping hot, well presented and plentiful, at reasonable prices. Can't fault it and we are fussey. We love our food and ate here several times during a week long stay. The service is excellent and nothing is too much trouble. If you go to Ilfracombe you must go here, you won't be disappointed. Well done and keep up the good work.
Jennifer and Roger French

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RogerF706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulw09, Owner at Combe Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Many thanks for your lovely review! We are of course always thrilled when customers return and to see you several times during your holiday was just wonderful. I always say that the point of a specials board is for the food on it to be special (i.e. changing daily) and I am so glad you were able to take advantage of the fact that our specials board does just that. Hope to see you guys again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were looking for somewhere special for dinner for 18 people and found Combe Cottage. I contacted them by email to ask if they could accommodate us and they were extremely helpful and said we could have the restaurant to ourselves for the evening. We arrived at the restaurant to a warm welcome. The service and food were faultless. Kate's cooking was superb from starter to dessert and we all talked about about it on our walk back to the house which is always a sign of a good night out. I would have no hesitation in recommending Combe Cottage for any meal/snack and will definitely visit again. Thanks Combe Cottage for such a wonderful dinner & making it such a special evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rossichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulw09, Owner at Combe Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Many, many thanks for your fabulous review. It was really good to meet you and your family last week - what a really lovely bunch of people - it was a pleasure to open for you. Hope you enjoyed your walk to the beach! We will look forward to hosting your next family do should you be in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Combe Cottage Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing