We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!”

The Terrace Tapas & Wine Bar
Ranked #7 of 120 Restaurants in Ilfracombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$65
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Family run and family friendly tapas and wine bar serving 30+ traditional Spanish tapas dishes. With set menus, endless tapas deals, a childrens menu, not to mention the vegetarian and gluten free options there's plenty to choose from. We have a full bar, with wines, cocktails and even a gin Y tonica menu. With the orginal Victorian dining room, bar and outside terrace we are able to cater for 80+ guests. WINTER - Thursday to Saturday evenings from 6pm SUMMER - Tuesday to Saturday evenings from 6pm (includes bank holiday Sundays) If we haven't exceeded your expectations, please tell us first and give us the courtesy of putting things right for you, rather than simply posting a negative review.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

What a gem of a place. We booked this in advance as it was my husbands birthday and he loves Tapas Bars. We were not dissapointed, Good menu, we had the £14.95 endless tapas..plenty of choice, infact we tried everything, all very good, Lovely service, a good salad bar, and the Toblerone chocolate fondue was out of this world. Very reasonable price and you came out full!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank val T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerraceTapasBar, Owner at The Terrace Tapas & Wine Bar, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
We are so pleased your husband had a lovely birthday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    486
    145
    52
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best tapas ever!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My god it was delicious! And the staff were fab and tried their best to keep us warm (smokers) on the terrace. They recommended some delicious dishes and wine to go with it. Very friendly staff, very clean facilities, delicious food. What else is there to say?

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elvira2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerraceTapasBar, Owner at The Terrace Tapas & Wine Bar, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you our new heaters are very effective - but as note smoking is not permitted on our terrace due to the parasol forming an enclosure (smoking act) :-(
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would never attempt to eat here again! Shocking treatment!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband and I headed to ilfracombe yesterday for the beer and music festival. We spent a few hours there listening to some of the bands and trying some of the ciders before deciding to head for domething to eat around 7pm. We had always been planning to go out for food as it was my husband's birthday on Thursday but I had been away visiting family so we had planned to celebrate it with a meal out together. We spent about 20 minutes deciding where to eat and checking out the various places before settling on tapas. We walked into the bar and politely asked if there was a table available so that we could order some food. We were seated and given menus, however, before we even had chance to open them, a male staff member came over and loudly informed us that he was going to have to ask us to leave as we had had too much to drink. We were both too shocked and surprised, not to mention humiliated to question his decision and had no option but to get up and leave as ordered. However we were both thoroughly shocked and disgusted at this treatment. Yes we had had a few drinks but we were not being rowdy or rude or doing anything that would justify asking us to leave. The impression U got was that this man was just throwing his weight around and showing off! We had had a lovely day but unfortunately it was ruined by this treatment. My husnand and I both work very hard and do not often get a day off together and as I had been away for a week, plus the fact that it was supposed to be a belated birthday celebration, this was supposed to be a special occassion and it was ruined for no reason at all!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank emlouwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerraceTapasBar, Owner at The Terrace Tapas & Wine Bar, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
We feel this review is unfair as all all licensed establishments are not permitted to serve people who are intoxicated.

The matter was handled very discreetly & bears no resemberlance to the the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didcot, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We popped in on the off chance and they fitted us in even though they were very busy. The food was fantastic and the service was very quick. One of the best tapas I've had for a long while.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“One of a kind”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Located on the historic Fore Street, this restaurant is about as unique and European as it gets in Ilfracombe! We ordered several tapas as well as the cheese fondue which was AMAZING! This is definitely a place to go for a special occasion or a romantic dinner, and I can't wait to visit again!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FlowerGypsy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Terrace Tapas & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Terrace Tapas & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing