We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little find.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashby House

Ashby House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashby House
Ranked #32 of 56 Tenby B&B and Inns
Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great little find.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

We decided last minute to stay overnight in Tenby and found this little B&B just off the main front, past all the bigger hotels. There was a warm welcome and we were given a great room with a sea view. Decor was a bit dated but the location is good and overall we had a very positive experience.

Room Tip: If you arrive in the Winter ask whether they can offer you a seaview room at the standard rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalesDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

We arrived late afternoon looking for a room and were happy to be shown to the top floor (room 7) with a lovely view of the beach. Room itself was very comfortable with TV,coffee and tea facilities and a hair dryer. Such a great location with only a few minutes walk to the beach and the restaurants and pubs of Tenby. Great breakfast served the next day. Very happy to recommend.
The room could have benefited from a bedside lamp and a power shower however.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megmagmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We arrived at Ashby House by chance as hadn't booked anywhere. The landlady was very accomodating and explained the deals she had on certain rooms. The room itself, number 7, was on the top floor, and the hard work of climbing the stairs was well rewarded with an excellent view over Tenby beach. You do have to stand up to see it. The room was very clean but I'm afraid the bed wasn't very comfortable. The breakfast in the morning is served in a welcoming, cosy room and was delicious. So overall, a great place, recommended :) Remember that parking is in a car park just behind the hotel which was £8 for the day, overnight and all next day. Which was great value and you can come and go as you please. The town is only a short walk away, so a great location.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phatbess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

This was the one night in our 8 week trip that we hadn't pre booked or researched. Arrived in Tenby late afternoon and started door knocking on B&Bs. The sea front hotels were loading up with coachloads of pensioners, so we went down a few side streets - and, after looking at a couple of horror places, we luckily found Patricia at home at Ashby House, with a room available for 50 pounds. It was very clean, quiet and comfortable, a decent size room in which everything worked. The ensuite was great with a very good powerful shower. Breakfast excellent full english, Patricia was pleasant and a good host. There was a nice guest lounge room. We were able to park free overnight almost opposite on an unrestricted area of Victoria Street, but there is also a pay carpark just around the corner. Great location - highly reccomended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynchmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

A mark of a good owner is consistent standards. Ashby House has consistent high standards and remains excellent budget value. The only thing I'd improve is to swap the catering sausage for a real one at breakfast. Even so, great location, comfy beds, decent TVs, good clean rooms, good breakfast. I'll be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gtbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Just come back from a two night stay in The Ashby House Hotel - IT WAS LOVELY ! The room was spacious, comfortable , warm and clean . The price was reasonable and Patsy ,the landlady . was welcoming and friendly . Will definately come back !!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

Ashby House Tenby
We stayed during September 2010, just after the good weather, when the temperature had dropped significantly. It was therefore important that the room was warm, welcoming and comfortable – and it was.
The hotel and room was warming, spacious and comfortable. The shower was powerful and hot. The bed comfortable with plenty of layers and pillows. The radiator responded quickly and pumped out the heat. The fully English breakfast was filling with an endless supply of toast and tea all served cheerfully in the well appointed basement/dining room. There is WiFi available but reception is achieved at its best only in the front room/lounge. At £25pp/pn it can be considered good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jnigelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#11 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#12 of 24 in Tenby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lindholme House
Lindholme House
#9 of 56 in Tenby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beachcomber B&B
Beachcomber B&B
#17 of 56 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbows End Guest House
0.0 mi away
The Strathmore
The Strathmore
#2 of 56 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashby House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashby House

Property: Ashby House
Address: 24 Victoria Street, Tenby SA70 7DY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashby house is an informal and friendly guest house in the heart of the small town of Tenby in South West Wales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ashby House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashby House Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing