We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service in a traditional hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Park Hotel Tenby
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Excellent service in a traditional hotel”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed for a week in room 3 (ground floor, excellent views of Tenby Bay) First impressions
were excellent as we encountered the lovely manicured gardens, very friendly and helpful
receptionist and bar service at 14:00hrs on a Sunday. Well decorated rooms in lemon / grey,
lots of storage, lighting was good apart from the small lamp with a black shade on the dressing
table. The bathroom was small, spotlessly clean and in good order, the shower provided lots of
reliable hot water for the whole of our stay. Housekeeping was really good during our stay so
thank you to the head housekeeper. The public rooms on the ground floor are in a rather more
traditional crimson/gold that looked very good with the high ornate ceilings, lots of sofas and
comfy armchairs to relax in. The restaurant is on the lower floor but is quite light with lots of
windows, it did however get a little too warm at times and would really benefit from some air
conditioning. The décor in the restaurant was at the stage of needing a refresh but again it was
all very clean and in good order. We had the delightful breakfast every day and would
recommend the fruit platter as a lighter option, the staff here are first class - very professional
and so nice to all customers even the grouchy ones. We had booked for dinner every evening
and again can strongly recommend, excellent choice of mainly traditional food, well cooked,
well presented and served. Puddings are clearly home made - delicious, and the cheese board
can also be recommended. Special thanks to Mike in the restaurant, Family owned and run
and it clearly shows in the standards, we will be more than happy to stay here again. We are
cracking on in age but found the walk and back to the town centre was fine - if not there are lots
of taxis.

Room Tip: Room 3 on the ground floor, also room 2 and the identical rooms on the two floors above. Room 3 had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcsuzy1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    179
    49
    11
    7
See reviews for
118
297
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne,
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

It is definately worth the short (10 minute) walk uphill from the town to stay at this superior hotel.Got a taxi from train station when I arrived but walked to the train station when I left 2 days later. I only booked 1 night but changed that to 2 nights the minute I walked through the front doors. The garden is a work of art,the views are the best I've seen on any holiday, the breakfast was generous and delicious. I had a Ploughman's plate in the bar the 1st evening, very generous, then room service the 2nd night,equally delicious.Lots of freedom to buy a drink from the bar and sit in any part of the garden. Didn't use the pool but looked very clean. The room was spotless and comfortable. I could hear the people on the floor above walking around though. My only complaint was the receptionist who was a misery and seemed to have no time for any of the guests, even causing some of us to giggle at her rudeness.

Room Tip: I had a single room no 212, it had a pleasant view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLM3199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just returned from a short stay at the Park Hotel. Had a family room with stunning sea view. The hotel is traditional ,offering a friendly welcome and a great base for Tenby.
The rooms are not overly large but very clean and well presented. There is a lift for upper floors and some quiet public areas to relax.
The garden area is nice to relax in and the pool is great for a small swim or kids to play in.
The outside areas include lovely sun terraces with stunning views. For the more adventurous there is a steepish trail down to a part of North beach that doesn't get busy at all..
A final mention to the staff , they couldn't do enough to make the stay happy
Ps the restaurant is recommended too!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Really pleased with our choice of hotel. The view from the hotel gardens overlooking the South Beach and Tenby harbour are stunning. Particular recommendation for the breakfasts at The Park Hotel. All served to your table efficiently by very friendly staff and nothing too much trouble. Will definitely book again when we come back to Tenby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

gorgeous hotel, fabulous location, views are stunning and the room was lovely!

Breakfast was lovely with a choice of cereal, porridge, fruit yoghurt to start then a full english after.
Cant wait to book and go again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chloe0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Tenby is short of decent hotels- plenty of B&B's, but very few upmarket hotels. We were very impressed with The Park Hotel- far exceeded our expectations.
We stayed in a Sea View room- so worth the extra £'s to get the iconic view of the harbour, especially in the evening as the sun casts its final glow over the houses. Our room was decorated beautifully with good quality soft furnishings. Double bed was a little small- husbands feet poked out at the bottom, and he is a little shy of 6ft!
Couldn't fault the cleanliness throughout the hotel, grounds and swimming pool area. The public areas could do with a little updating decor wise, but due to the vastness of these areas, I suppose would be a big undertaking. But then again the style suited a Christmassy break and in the Summer who wants to be inside!
Breakfast was lovely- service very efficient and food, although not top quality, was scrummy and plentiful.
Parking was no problem with a spacious private car park and spaces immediately outside the main entrance. The grounds were well tended with many hidden areas to sit and enjoy the best views of Tenby.
I just wish front of desk was a little more professional- would give a better first impression. On checkout in the morning we waited with a few others for anyone to turn up- surely the busiest time of the day should dictate front desk being fully manned.

Room Tip: 3rd floor sea view rooms dont have bay window seating area with larger windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

If, like me, your job means you stay in the usual national hotel chains, then you tend to expect an average experience even when you go away for a short break. However, the Park pleasantly surprised us. How refreshing to be served a well-cooked breakfast instead of queuing for the buffet! The hotel and gardens are carefully maintained and the rooms spotless. The sea views are great and the imposing cliff-top position is just a few minutes walk away from Tenby town centre - although the walk back is slower! We tried a recommended local restaurant and were disappointed, so we decided to give evening meal at the Park a try. Don't miss it. We couldn't manage all five courses of the reasonably priced menu and settled for slumping in the lounge with a pot of coffee! The food is well cooked, tasty and generously portioned. Staff are attentive, efficient and friendly. Yes, as other reviews point out, the double beds are on the small side but if you want a hotel that still provides the personal touch, try the Park!

Room Tip: Check out the classic twin rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BurnhamBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.7 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0.8 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.8 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.3 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Hotel Tenby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Hotel Tenby

Property: The Park Hotel Tenby
Address: North Cliffe, Tenby SA70 8AT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
#13 Family Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Park Hotel Tenby 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views of Tenby, the Park offers beautiful cliff top terraces and gardens, an outdoor swimming pool, free WiFi and free private parking. Peacefully located above Tenby's Blue Flag North Beach and with the Pembrokeshire coastal path running adjacent to the grounds, The Park is ideally situated for Walking and exploring the area. On wintery days our warm elegant lounges offer the perfect place to relax and unwind. - The Lively town centre is just a 10 minute walk away. Classically decorated, the rooms at the Park Hotel have private bathrooms, flat screen TV and Tea/Coffee facilities. Many rooms have panoramic coastal or countryside views. Enjoy candlelit dinning and generous breakfasts in our restaurant where tasty traditional homemade food is served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Park Hotel Tenby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Hotel Tenby Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing