We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel in Tenby.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliffe-Norton Hotel
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Dear Martin & Christine,
Thank you for another smashing holiday. We have been with you for eight years now & it's very remiss of me not to have said thank you previously. We think the world of yourselves & the great staff you employ. Martin is always very thoughtful about my diabetes etc. & the food is really excellent & the rooms are equally good.
We look forward to seeing you all next year, health permitting.
Sincerely, Jim & Brenda .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

We bought our granson here again this summer- this is his third summer at this hotel and there will be many more. Excellent staff and food. The rooms are clean and with a excellent view.
We have also been here for last new year and would rate it EXCELLENT

Room Tip: we have stayed in several rooms and they have ALL been very good, clean and we requested a sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

After staying for a week in August as a family of 2 adults and 3 children we couldn't of had a better stay, honestly it is the best place to stay in all of the Britain !!!! The two rooms we had were spotless and had spectacular views of the bay ! The food was out of this world it was the best we had ever tasted and all with 5 star service too. Also we would like to say a special thankyou to Martin who made us feel so welcome and we could tell he went out of his way to make the stay as amazing as it was. Finally we stayed there 5 years ago and we loved the jam roly poly for desert and out of the kindness of martins heart he baked the same dessert as a wonderful suprise , we would recommend this hotel to everyone and look forward to going back again soon, (can't wait!!!!!!!)

Thanks to Martin and all the staff at the cliffe norton who made our stay as wonderful as it was

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank octogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

What a wonderful experience our four night stay was. We were greeted on arrival with a very welcome cuppa and toasted tea cake. Our room on the third floor was quite small and could do with a refurbish but the views ....... to die for !!! The food was so good there I didn't want to come home, every meal was wonderful, food was so beautifully presented. We found that the system they used in the kitchen seemed to work better than any hotel I've been in before. We were fed quickly with lovely hot food by our smiling server Edgar. My only real down comment was a very small one, no hairdryer in the room.
We can't wait to go back, maybe next year.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view room, well worth a little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Once again another amazing holiday in the Cliffe-Norton . The food ,the service and the rooms are excellent .this is our 6th year and looking forward to the 7th.
Martin the owner greeted us and nothing was too much trouble ,everything is first class.
The Prescott family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Just spent a week at the hotel for the 3rd year running and again had a fantastic time!!!!!
Nothing is too much trouble for the amazing staff who were very accommodating with whatever you needed..
The food, rooms and service is second to none and nothing is too much trouble including catering for the children.
We were advised of a bigger family room by Christine (the owner) as we have 2 young children and there was so much space for the 1 yr old to play and run around as well as having an amazing view.
An added bonus is the parking facility available.......

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hopkinsons443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The Cliffe-Norton is a lovely hotel on the sea front, made up of three old buildings. Because of this, the connections between floors is a bit strange. To get to our room it was up in a tiny lift, down some stairs, through a door and them up more stairs. Quirky, but no problem there!

What we didn’t like was the strict and regimented meal arrangements. Breakfast is served at 8:30. No range of flexible times. Everyone is served at the same time seated at allocated seats, and then it’s all rushed and impersonal. The English breakfast was rather over-fried and fatty with no baked beans (unless you on the baked beans day).

Evening dinner was the same. Cheap at only £9 extra, but very limited menu, its only served at 6:30pm, and you have to pre-book all four course at breakfast. This is a real problem if you’re out for the day, or don’t want an early night. By 7:30pm our deserts, cheese and biscuits and coffee all arrive together and the restaurant was shutting down by 7:40. This is fast food hotel style. Nothing like having a nice relaxing dinner with a bottle of wine here! Oh yes ... and you have to dress for dinner, no jeans or trainers allowed!

The whole thing is geared around elderly clients who are on coach trips. Dont expect internet access or WiFi hotspots, as the hotel doesn’t even use email. Want to pay by credit or debit card ... you guessed it! They haven’t got that either. Some poor person was trapped in the extremely small hotel car park for 45 mins, while another client had to dash to town to find a cash point to check out.

Apart from the above, it is a reasonably priced hotel in a prime location, and the staff were all very helpful and pleasant, but there is something of a nursing home atmosphere. This hotel may well suite you and your budget, but just be aware of the restrictions!

To arrive back from a lovely day out and not have time to go to the beach was just too much for us, and somewhat spoils the holiday, hence the poor rating,

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank John4One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Clarence House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
421 reviews
0.4 mi away
Giltar Hotel
Giltar Hotel
#5 of 23 in Tenby
669 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Belgrave Hotel
The Belgrave Hotel
#16 of 23 in Tenby
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffe-Norton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffe-Norton Hotel

Address: The Norton | Dyfed, Tenby SA70 8AA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tenby
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range: £73 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffe-Norton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliffe-Norton occupies a prime position above the North Beach and is just a short walk from the town centre. It has uninterrupted views of the bay from the dining room (nine steps from the lift) and many bedrooms. The 50 rooms are decorated to complement the building’s period features and include en suite bath or shower and WC, TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Entertainment is provided most evenings in the lounge bar. There is a cosy reading rom with views of the bay. Free WiFi in public areas (but not bedrooms). Two lifts serve most rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cliffe-Norton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffe-Norton Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing