We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic value for money”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tenby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Southside Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #25 of 56 Tenby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Ideally situated. A five minute walk to the beach, and five minute walk into Tenby town centre. Julie the owner was very attentive, and cooked us a lovely breakfast. Would definitely recommend this B and B

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieDNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
47
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed in March for 2 nights on a KGB deal. We were lucky to find a parking space right outside and Julie who runs it showed us to our room which was at the top of the house up loads of stairs-although I'm sure I had asked for one on lower floors when I booked as we both have health problems..
The whole place is spotless clean--you wont find a speck of dust anywhere..
Our room was quite small-but had a sofa in the window to sit and watch the TV..The shower room looked very new and the shower was lovely and powerful..
The first problem we found was the bed--it was soooooo hard and soooo bloody noisy..funny thing is I cant see any mention of it in any of the previous reviews??

Anyway..I didn't sleep at all the first night at all..every time me or hubby even breathed the bloody bed squeaked...and it was like lying on the floor it was so hard..it was also a tight squeeze to get up the side of the bed because of the eves coming down.

I didnt get chance to mention it to Julie the next morning at breakfast as she was rushing off out somewhere.
We got chatting to the other couple staying there at breakfast and they said that their bed was the same-and they had been moved from another bedroom earlier and the bed was the same in that room too..
The breakfast was lovely, freshly cooked..couldn't fault it.

The second thing was the Wi-Fi didnt work in our room--maybe it was too far away from the base? However its quite important to me to have it as I run my own business so wasn't pleased about that.
We went out and had a lovely day in Tenby and when we came back I rang the bell of Julies private quarters as there was no hairdryer in our room..,,a gentleman I presume was Julies hubby came through and when I asked him for a hairdryer he said to go and knock the door of some other guests staying there as they had borrowed it !!!
I was quite shocked at that to be honest...and wasn't prepared to do that!
Julie did apologise the next day about it and said her hubby didnt know where the hairdryers were kept!
I slept a bit better the 2nd night as I folded the throw into 4 and slept on top of it to make the bed a little softer but it did nothing to stop the noise--so much for our romantic break away for our wedding anniversary!

Room Tip: ask is they have any quiet beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dianejennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

Just returned from a lovely break in Tenby . It was icy and bright and this great b and b was just the place to shelter from the winds, Julie is a charming and very helpful owner who runs it single handed. The breakfast was spot on in a sunny dining room, and our lovely attic room was v clean with a v up to date bathroom with expensive plain shower. She kindly provided a folding bed so i didnt have to share with my daughter. A great short break and a very reasonable price. Thank you!

Room Tip: all rooms are nice ! the attic room is great and cosy and the lower rooms are spacious with high cei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophiahughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea,wales,uk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

Stayed here in February 2013 with 2 other couples. Booked through KGB Deals and paid £60 for the room for 2 nights including breakfast. We really didnt expect much considering the price we paid and being the middle of winter in Tenby!
We had seen some pictures but we just wanted a cheap n cheerful weekend for a break and the pics we saw, ok, it looked a bit dated but we thought aslong as its clean!
Well i can be fussy and i have to say i was very impressed. We were given a warm welcome and i think we were the only ones in the hotel that weekend. It was just like astaying over at a friends house! We had an en suite room on the top floor. It was clean, cosy and had everything we needed. Oh and when i say cosy i do not mean small!
The en suite was brand new and spotlessly clean. There was tea and coffee making facilities, a tv and a settee to sit on as opposed to the bed. The place was very quiet but i spose then it wouldnt be like a normal hotel where you get doors slamming and banging! The water was lovely n warm oh and we even had an in room heater to pop on so the room was boiling when we got back at night from the cold sea air!
The complimentary breakfast set us up for the day. Cereals, toast, tea, coffee, juice. Then either a full cooked brekkie or you could have a lighter option of egg on toast.
The owner was very accomodating and im sure nothing would be too much trouble. Will definetly be booking to stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhymney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

We booked this B&B as part of a KGB deal for a great price and it was wonderful. All the rooms were lovely and spacious and bright. We stayed in the 4th room which has its own private bathroom across the landing (rather than ensuite) - this was not a problem at all. Beautiful bathroom. The landlady is lovely and will cook you a fabulous breakfast at a time that suits you. The location is great. One minute walk to the seafront and about 2 minutes into town. The landlady can advise you on places to visit in Tenby and the surrounding area. I would happily return to this B&B and pay full price anytime. Thank you for such a wonderful weekend!

Room Tip: The 4th bedroom is not ensuite but this is not a problem. Bedroom 4 has a beautiful private bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Just returned from another stay at the Southside. Same excellent welcome, Same excellent service, same excellent rooms, faultless in every way. Deserves all the praise given by ourselves and other reviews.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minardi234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, Lancashire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

We (two couples) stayed here Nov 23rd & 24th. Julie had communicated via phone & email several times before our visit to keep us up to date. She couldn't have been more helpful. The hotel (B&B) is conveniently located just off the beach road - hence allowing a peaceful nights sleep whilst being near coast & all amenities. The rooms were spacious, spotless & tastefully decorated. Breakfast was delicious. Julie was the ideal hostess. She welcomed us warmly, advised on places to visit & dine, & made us feel very welcome. We' definately visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.2 mi away
Roch Villa Bed and Breakfast
1.3 mi away
Pen Mar Guest House
Pen Mar Guest House
#2 of 56 in Tenby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wychwood House
Wychwood House
#4 of 56 in Tenby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lindholme House
Lindholme House
#10 of 56 in Tenby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
3.1 mi away
Greenhills Hotel
Greenhills Hotel
#1 of 6 in St. Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rebleen Guest House
Rebleen Guest House
#13 of 56 in Tenby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southside Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southside Bed and Breakfast

Property: Southside Bed and Breakfast
Address: Southside Picton Road, Tenby SA70 7DP, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Tenby
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a small B&B it is situated in a quiet street just minutes from the beautiful beaches and the town centre of Tenby. We currently have 4 letting rooms 3 with ensuite and 1 with its own private shower room ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Southside Bed And Breakfast Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing