We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, relaxing stay in clean and comfortable hotel”
Review of Farnham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Farnham Hotel
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing stay in clean and comfortable hotel”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Do not hesitate booking here! Booked a standard double (due to be upgraded over the winter) and was pleasantly surprised with the standard and friendliness of the place. The room is fully functional with flat screen TV on the wall, nice shower and separate toilet. Rooms are cleaned daily and a lovely breakfast is served between 8-9am with coffee and toast refills if needed. I cannot fault anything to be honest, a 1 minute walk to the Esplanade and 5 minute walk to the centre of Tenby- all for an impressive price. We will be back, thanks Simon for a lovely stay.
Nicola and Michael

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    45
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
270
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed here for a night, booking only a day before. The room was at the top of two flights of steep and narrow stairs and was, I think, the smallest hotel room we've ever been in. 11 square metres, we read later on a booking site. This included a tiny closet for a toilet - one had to sit down before shutting the door then pull the door to - and another tiny closet containing a shower. The bed was too springy and was squeezed up against one wall, so one of us had to crawl out of the bed during the night. As we are no longer spring chickens, this was far from ideal. No blackout curtains. Breakfast was OK. Good location, with a car park close by. I do understand the concept of peak holiday periods, but had I known what we were actually getting for our $109 (AUD), I certainly would have looked elsewhere. Very poor value.

Room Tip: Make sure you known EXACTLY what sort of room you're booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank In60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tenby1234, Owner at Farnham Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your recent stay at the hotel. The standard rooms are small as you say and will be upgraged into Luxury doubles this coming winter with an extension on the hotel. The price you paid was £65 for a double room including full breakfast in peak season. This i feel is not over priced in any way compared to other hotels in Tenby. It was a pleasure to meet you both and I hope when you next come to wales you will give us another try. Kind regards Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 2 nights in June. Great location - right by the beach, a few minutes walk from the town centre and just 5 minutes from the train station (we don't have a car so was very convenient from that point of view). The room was absolutely lovely - really big, loads of space, light and airy with comfy bedding, table and chairs, fridge and loads of storage space. The extra £10 for the double deluxe room with sea view was definitely worth it! The bathroom was massive with very modern facilities. Simon was a great host, really friendly and nothing was too much trouble for him.

Overall a really great B&B at a very affordable price, we would highly recommend to anyone staying to Tenby.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BubblyWelshGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The two of us took a four night Easter break in Tenby. The Farnham is in an ideal position three minutes walk from the Five Arches and the walled town and about the same from Sainsburys.

Parking 20 yards away at the Rectory Road car park. We bought a four day ticket for £16 and could come and go as we pleased. Spaces were always available. The friendly chap at the entrance told me the car park is open from February 8 to the end of October.

Arriving at the Farnham, we were met by the irrepressibly friendly Simon, who showed us our breakfast table and to our room. The Hotel is tidy and well-maintained. Our room was typical of a Victorian terrace, with private lavatory and shower in the room. Simon cleans the rooms every day between 10 and Noon.

Simon tells us that the rooms at the rear are being extended over the winter. Bear in mind that stairs are quite steep as typical of the period and there's no lift but, hey, that is the norm for this type of accommodation and the benefits far outweigh a twice daily trip up and down..

Comfortable bed and we slept well on all nights, with very little disturbance from other rooms.

Breakfast is from 0800 to 0900 when the bouncy Simon provides cereal, yogurt and a different-varied cooked breakfast every day. We had to leave by 0815 one day, so Simon very helpfully cooked things a bit earlier for us.

In summary a great location for visiting Tenby, good food and room, with a genial host. Definitely the place for us to go next time we come to Tenby.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyingdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tenby1234, Owner at Farnham Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel we look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Tenby, Many thanks Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Myself, husband and very good friends stayed at the Farnham last Friday for another very good friend's wedding. They got married at the Giltar just around the corner which was so convenient. Our room was amazing; clean, spacious and just one flight of stairs! The bed was so comfy, breakfast was plentiful and Simon the owner was very accommodating. We shall definitely stay again. Thoroughly enjoyed!

Room Tip: Room 1! It's the first one and lovely and clean with great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a short two day break the room was better than other places we have stayed at and paid much more. Simon the owner was very attentive and welcoming a quick phone call ensured the prefered room was available. Parking was on the street outside, but there is a reasonably priced public car park a short distance away. The hotel is a short walk from the beach and the town so ideally situated. The full Englsih breakfast was lovely with a choice of cereals and plenty of toast, our cups were topped up with tea and coffee as soon as they were empty. The room was clean and spacious with tea and coffee making facilites on hand a small fridge was great for chilling wine and cans of lager. Ideally for my wife there was a hair dryer availble and plenty of space to store your clothes etc. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ring first The owner is most helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris230164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tenby1234, Owner at Farnham Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel and hope to see you again the next time you visit Tenby. Many thanks Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

I quote from Booking.com: "A king-size bed and fantastic views of the beach." There is no view of the beach and the water view is a distant one down the road between buildings as you can see from the photo. The bed may be king-size but the room is not. Farnham is an older hotel and the bathroom en suite is an add-on that significantly compromises room size. If you have more than overnight luggage you'll have to step out of the room to change your mind. That being said, Simon is a very accommodating host who gave good guidance as to sightseeing and dinner. The breakfast was good. Note: Car parking was difficult because of an Ironman event, so be aware.

Room Tip: I don't know; I guess you need to talk to Simon direct to get the best room information.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wineau1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tenby1234, Owner at Farnham Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel . As your stay was nearly six months ago the king rooms have since been upgraded with large luxury en suites separate to the bedroom giving far more space to the room as you say there was limited floor space before. The photo on my tripadvisor page that is showing the view across the car park to the south beach was taken from the room you stayed in. Only you can decide which camera angle to use with your review. The ironman event which takes place in early September is a wonderful spectacle but for any visitors not involved it can be quite difficult with road closures and limited parking. I hope you will give us another try on your next visit to the UK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.8 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.8 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#8 of 23 in Tenby
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnham Hotel

Property: Farnham Hotel
Address: Farnham House South Cliff Street, Tenby SA70 7EA, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tenby
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tenby
#10 Family Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Farnham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Farnham Hotel is ideally situated 80yds from the south beach and 2 minutes walk to the town centre. All rooms are en-suite with luxury king size beds , samsung lcd tv , blu ray player , refridgerator , Hair dryer & in room safe. Most rooms have sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Farnham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnham Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing