We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Farnham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Farnham Hotel
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Stayed for one night for short break. Superb room modern decor immaculately turned out, Spotlessly clean. Host was friendly provided first class service. Location fantatsic for beach and town. Very highly recommended. Cannot fault it best I have stayed in this country for many a year.

Room Tip: Had room 1 with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights great location rooms realy modern very clean the breakfast was fantastic you never have a empty coffee cup or toast rack would def recommend this hotel we booked 3 rooms everyone said the same could not fault this bed and breakfast great value

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank binmanSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Did lots of search before I finally booked Farnham Hotel. Nowadays Guest Houses have become Hotels it seems. Anyway we wanted the seaside experience after years of going abroad. I chose Room 5 at the very top of the building for the lovely sea views and this room was also very private. The bathroom was amazing - I want one the same at home! People of above average height may be more suited to Room 1 also with sea views. Ask Simon who will explain. My husband and I enjoyed a very pleasant 2 days and have already recommended it to our friends and family. The breakfast service finished too early for us (9am). This was the only negative.

Room Tip: Room 5 if you are fit and able enough to take the stairs. Good views and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LsaKingswinford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Do not hesitate booking here! Booked a standard double (due to be upgraded over the winter) and was pleasantly surprised with the standard and friendliness of the place. The room is fully functional with flat screen TV on the wall, nice shower and separate toilet. Rooms are cleaned daily and a lovely breakfast is served between 8-9am with coffee and toast refills if needed. I cannot fault anything to be honest, a 1 minute walk to the Esplanade and 5 minute walk to the centre of Tenby- all for an impressive price. We will be back, thanks Simon for a lovely stay.
Nicola and Michael

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed here for a night, booking only a day before. The room was at the top of two flights of steep and narrow stairs and was, I think, the smallest hotel room we've ever been in. 11 square metres, we read later on a booking site. This included a tiny closet for a toilet - one had to sit down before shutting the door then pull the door to - and another tiny closet containing a shower. The bed was too springy and was squeezed up against one wall, so one of us had to crawl out of the bed during the night. As we are no longer spring chickens, this was far from ideal. No blackout curtains. Breakfast was OK. Good location, with a car park close by. I do understand the concept of peak holiday periods, but had I known what we were actually getting for our $109 (AUD), I certainly would have looked elsewhere. Very poor value.

Room Tip: Make sure you known EXACTLY what sort of room you're booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank In60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tenby1234, Owner at Farnham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your recent stay at the hotel. The standard rooms are small as you say and will be upgraged into Luxury doubles this coming winter with an extension on the hotel. The price you paid was £65 for a double room including full breakfast in peak season. This i feel is not over priced in any way compared to other hotels in Tenby. It was a pleasure to meet you both and I hope when you next come to wales you will give us another try. Kind regards Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 2 nights in June. Great location - right by the beach, a few minutes walk from the town centre and just 5 minutes from the train station (we don't have a car so was very convenient from that point of view). The room was absolutely lovely - really big, loads of space, light and airy with comfy bedding, table and chairs, fridge and loads of storage space. The extra £10 for the double deluxe room with sea view was definitely worth it! The bathroom was massive with very modern facilities. Simon was a great host, really friendly and nothing was too much trouble for him.

Overall a really great B&B at a very affordable price, we would highly recommend to anyone staying to Tenby.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BubblyWelshGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The two of us took a four night Easter break in Tenby. The Farnham is in an ideal position three minutes walk from the Five Arches and the walled town and about the same from Sainsburys.

Parking 20 yards away at the Rectory Road car park. We bought a four day ticket for £16 and could come and go as we pleased. Spaces were always available. The friendly chap at the entrance told me the car park is open from February 8 to the end of October.

Arriving at the Farnham, we were met by the irrepressibly friendly Simon, who showed us our breakfast table and to our room. The Hotel is tidy and well-maintained. Our room was typical of a Victorian terrace, with private lavatory and shower in the room. Simon cleans the rooms every day between 10 and Noon.

Simon tells us that the rooms at the rear are being extended over the winter. Bear in mind that stairs are quite steep as typical of the period and there's no lift but, hey, that is the norm for this type of accommodation and the benefits far outweigh a twice daily trip up and down..

Comfortable bed and we slept well on all nights, with very little disturbance from other rooms.

Breakfast is from 0800 to 0900 when the bouncy Simon provides cereal, yogurt and a different-varied cooked breakfast every day. We had to leave by 0815 one day, so Simon very helpfully cooked things a bit earlier for us.

In summary a great location for visiting Tenby, good food and room, with a genial host. Definitely the place for us to go next time we come to Tenby.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyingdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tenby1234, Owner at Farnham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel we look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Tenby, Many thanks Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.7 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
462 reviews
0.8 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
269 reviews
1.1 mi away
Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnham Hotel

Address: Farnham House South Cliff Street, Tenby SA70 7EA, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tenby
#10 Family Hotel in Tenby
Price Range: £88 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Farnham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Farnham Hotel is ideally situated 80yds from the south beach and 2 minutes walk to the town centre. All rooms are en-suite with luxury king size beds , samsung lcd tv , blu ray player , refridgerator , Hair dryer & in room safe. Most rooms have sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Farnham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnham Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing