We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Completely unexpected - I was going to say "Wow" but somebody already has!!”
Review of Farnham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Farnham Hotel
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
brewood, staffs
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Completely unexpected - I was going to say "Wow" but somebody already has!!”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I have been staying in Tenby for more years than I care to remember.
I usually stay in a seafront hotel on the North beach but this was unavailable at a reasonable rate due to the season, so I was forced to look elsewhere. Fortunately the Farnham had a cancellation so I booked it quickly.
On arrival, the frontage looked pretty unassuming and typical of the area so I was not expecting much.
I was greeted by the extremely affable owner and then guided to my room.
I entered and was truly gobsmacked. There was a short hallway comprising a safe and open wardrobe; this small area was immediately lit by the passive sensor. I then walked into the bathroom; again immediately lit by the passive. This room was huge and comprised an ultra modern shower and top quality vanity unit with Onyx top, modern toilet (with soft closing seat) and the tiling and décor was extremely good taste. Most importantly of all the bathroom was a decent size with decent quality towels along with a heated towel rail.
The bedroom itself was decorated to an extremely high standard and again in very good taste. It had a large comfortable bed and high quality dressing table. There was a huge Samsung Smart TV on the wall with no visible wiring.
The owner has paid huge attention to detail.
As regards location, it is not on the seafront but my room was seaview and only a short walk from the beach and the town. Car parking is a mere 50yds away and costs £5 a day.
All in all the location is very good and also very quiet.
To summarise - probably the best standard of accommodation in Tenby or indeed anywhere else in this country; combine this with the perfect mine host Simon and you have a pretty unbeatable package.

Room Tip: I had a seaview luxury room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanna and paul j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tenby1234, Owner at Farnham Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thank you for your excellent review of the hotel I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay. We close at the end of September for further refurbishment and open again in February. I look forward to seeing again next year.
Kind regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    43
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
254
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Llantrisant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night (birthday treat). Easy to find (no parking available in street so used Rectory carpark, overnight car parking £5). The king size room with sea view was amazing and as previous reviews have mentioned the bathroom was huge!! This has been the best hotel/b&b we have stayed in Tenby and will definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 553RB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tenby1234, Owner at Farnham Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for your great review i am really pleased you enjoyed your stay. We close at the end of september to begin upgrading the non sea view rooms into luxury king rooms. I hope you will visit us again next year. Kind regards Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Really great stay in Tenby - We booked for one night and the Farnham Hotel was everything we needed. Our room was really nice and modern and the bathroom was HUGE! Breakfast was tasty and the overall price was very reasonable. The location was good too - Only 2 mins from the beach or about 5 mins walk to the town centre.

Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lornabowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tenby1234, Owner at Farnham Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Thank you for your lovely review I hope you can visit us again soon. Kind regards Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Stayed for one night for short break. Superb room modern decor immaculately turned out, Spotlessly clean. Host was friendly provided first class service. Location fantatsic for beach and town. Very highly recommended. Cannot fault it best I have stayed in this country for many a year.

Room Tip: Had room 1 with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights great location rooms realy modern very clean the breakfast was fantastic you never have a empty coffee cup or toast rack would def recommend this hotel we booked 3 rooms everyone said the same could not fault this bed and breakfast great value

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank binmanSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford,England
Level Contributor
111 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Did lots of search before I finally booked Farnham Hotel. Nowadays Guest Houses have become Hotels it seems. Anyway we wanted the seaside experience after years of going abroad. I chose Room 5 at the very top of the building for the lovely sea views and this room was also very private. The bathroom was amazing - I want one the same at home! People of above average height may be more suited to Room 1 also with sea views. Ask Simon who will explain. My husband and I enjoyed a very pleasant 2 days and have already recommended it to our friends and family. The breakfast service finished too early for us (9am). This was the only negative.

Room Tip: Room 5 if you are fit and able enough to take the stairs. Good views and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LsaKingswinford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Do not hesitate booking here! Booked a standard double (due to be upgraded over the winter) and was pleasantly surprised with the standard and friendliness of the place. The room is fully functional with flat screen TV on the wall, nice shower and separate toilet. Rooms are cleaned daily and a lovely breakfast is served between 8-9am with coffee and toast refills if needed. I cannot fault anything to be honest, a 1 minute walk to the Esplanade and 5 minute walk to the centre of Tenby- all for an impressive price. We will be back, thanks Simon for a lovely stay.
Nicola and Michael

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.8 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.8 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
1.1 mi away
Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnham Hotel

Property: Farnham Hotel
Address: Farnham House South Cliff Street, Tenby SA70 7EA, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tenby
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tenby
#10 Family Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Farnham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Farnham Hotel is ideally situated 80yds from the south beach and 2 minutes walk to the town centre. All rooms are en-suite with luxury king size beds , samsung lcd tv , blu ray player , refridgerator , Hair dryer & in room safe. Most rooms have sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Farnham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnham Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing