We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like a B and B”
Review of The Strathmore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Strathmore
Ranked #4 of 53 Tenby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel is situated really conveniently near South Beach and a short walk from the town centre. The room was small, the shower tiny and the sink was in the bedroom rather than bathroom,. I booked a room with a sea view which could only be accessed by looking out he side to the bay window - I only found it when packing to leave. That said it was well appointed and very comfortable. Breakfast was good and efficiently served. Staff were friendly and will to give advice on local attractions etc.

Two big issues for me what that there was no complimentary soap and shampoo offered. Tea and coffee were also strictly rationed to 1 of each per person. More could be bought form reception. The other thing was that the Wi-Fi sign in was not offered when we registered and we never got around to getting it. as its a big selling point for the hotel it really should be supplied on registr5ation. There is ample paid parking nearby but nothing outside the hotel.

Overall, its an adequate place to stay but felt more like a B and B than a hotel to me

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

Fantastic position moments from South beach and a short 5 minute stroll to the town.
From the moment we stepped through the door the team were very friendly making sure we had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. The room was clean with everything we needed including being able to easily get onto the free wifi (nice touch that it was free for once in a hotel!). Recommendations were given where to go for dinner and the breakfast served in a lovely breakfast room was fantastic - a great start to a day.
Everything was spot on and would recommend to family and friends without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sazspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose S, Owner at The Strathmore, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2014

Thank you both for a Lovely Review its a pleasure having customers like yourself s stay with us.It makes everything worth while .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We loved everything about the Strathmore!! This hotel was a joy to stay at.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms were lovely and clean and the breakfast was amazing.
The location is brilliant, next to the beach and just a few minutes from the town.
We'll definitely be coming back here again!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicolaGore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose S, Owner at The Strathmore, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2014

Thank you both for a Lovely Review its a pleasure having customers like yourself s stay with us.It makes everything worth while .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Very friendly and welcoming upon arrival - The rooms were clean, tidy and pleasant. I slept soundly in the night without any hint of a seagull in the early hours.
The breakfast was superb and at the breakfast table the staff were amicable and friendly.
Would recommend to stay there if your looking for a nice weekend

Room Tip: The family room was spacious and the beds were very comfortable in there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose S, Owner at The Strathmore, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2014

Thank you both for a Lovely Review its a pleasure having customers like yourself s stay with us.It makes everything worth while .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This is a B and B guest house..no one on reception on arrival..room was ok ,dusty in places. Offered wifi but I couldn't get it to work.could do with sound proofing in rooms and better window, we could hear the seagulls early hours in the morning as well as people and dogs.cooked Breakfast was nice but could do with beans or mushrooms to go with a full welsh breakfast as promised. The owner was very nice. For £70 per night we thought we were staying in a hotel for the night but it was a B and B .

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lynzi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrathmoreHotel, Owner at The Strathmore, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Thank you for your feedback and concerns we do wish you had brought this to our attention during your stay.
On your comment on us being a B&B / Guest House / Hotel the answer is we are all 3 hence we have listed ourselves under Guest House on Late Rooms. We feel our web site & Late Rooms profile gives a true representation of the hotel stating we only have 7 bedrooms and that we are family run with every room having a brief description along with photographs to not mislead anyone.
Sorry but we do not offer a 24 hour reception and never have advertised this.
We do have FREE wifi throughout the building, as with any wireless device occasionally this will have hiccups usually due to volume of use, for this we can only apologies.
Your point regarding soundproofing, we are a Victorian listed building and with my own experience of staying in modern 5 star hotels it is not always possible to effectively sound proof a room.
Seagulls........ we are very sorry that Tenby has a population of noisy seagulls but this is a noise which is to be expected during a stay in a seaside town.
Our full Welsh Breakfast is sourced locally and is freshly cooked to order, Beans, Poached as well as scrambled eggs and kippers are all available on request. We pride ourselves on our breakfasts and it is one of the many things our regular customers love about The Strathmore, we have guests which have been staying with us on a regular basis since 1990.
We hope this has answered some of your questions and you return to Tenby again and take enjoyment in our wonderful town and all that it has to offer.
Thank you again
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed here with my family in July 2013 - room was comfortable despite the heat!! Breakfast was wonderful, and the hosts were really friendly and helpful. Brilliant location, right beside the beach, a few mins walk to the centre of Tenby and parking (public) just behind the hotel. Just a shame we couldn't stay longer as the hotel was booked out. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shauna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose S, Owner at The Strathmore, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2014

Thank you both for a Lovely Review its a pleasure having customers like yourself s stay with us.It makes everything worth while .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Tenby for 2 nights and for the first time in this place. The owner and family really nice friendly and helpful, the service is excellent. The beach is just 2 min walk and the town is around 4-5 min. The room is small and the bathroom is something different than what I experienced so far but it's ok for a beach holiday and it is clean. The only one problem was that there is no fan in the room and the window doesn't open properly so it was more hot inside the room than outside. But it is good for a short stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank felicity343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StrathmoreHotel, Owner at The Strathmore, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Thank you for staying at Strathmore, if you decide to stay with us in the future and if by chance we still have this beautiful hot weather please ask us for a fan, which we will happily supply if available.
Due to health and safety laws the windows are only allowed to be partially opened over a certain height above ground level although no one has fallen out to our knowledge in 200 years!!
Our countries laws gone mad yet again!
hope to see you again sometime at Strathmore
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.1 mi away
Giltar Hotel
Giltar Hotel
#5 of 23 in Tenby
673 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#9 of 23 in Tenby
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Clarence House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Wychwood House
Wychwood House
#3 of 53 in Tenby
271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Croyland Guest House
Croyland Guest House
#2 of 53 in Tenby
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strathmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathmore

Address: 23 Victoria Street, Tenby SA70 7DY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Tenby
Price Range: £73 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathmore 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strathmore Hotel is a professional, family run hotel in Tenby, Pembrokeshire. Our seven bedroom hotel is the perfect place to relax and unwind in Tenby. The hotel has been in the family since 1974, and has since been providing, for all of our guests, the personal touch that larger hotels cannot provide.All of our rooms are en-suite with all of the features you would expect, including free wireless internet access, tea and coffee facilities, safety deposit boxes and 24 hour access to your room. We are situated right next to Tenby's beautiful South Beach, our rear facing rooms overlook the beach with a sea view.A warm, friendly but professional welcome awaits you from Joe, Family & Staff at The Strathmore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Strathmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strathmore Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing