We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Strathmore
Nearby Hotels
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$109
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
186
84
16
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
186
84
16
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouth beachtown centrecar parkroom was cleannice breakfastenjoyed our stayexcellent locationfriendly ownersvisit tenbyshort walkgood sizeweekend breaksea viewwould definitely stay here againcooked breakfastrecommend staying herefull welsh breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 289 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Only stayed the one night for a start to week driving round Wales. The room was nice, everything clean and up to date.

Parking obviously at a premium in Tenby, if you're very lucky you might find a place outside the hotel or along the front. There is however a pay and display behind the hotel which is a touch pricy for an overnight stay.

Breakfast in the morning was nice, even though my other half said there could have been a bit more of it.

The only gripe I have with the hotel is the two pages of TnC's you have to sign to get hold of a password to use the wifi. I asked why this was needed and the explanation was fair enough, however this is the only place I've ever stayed at where this is necessary

The location is OK - just round the corner from the front and a couple of minutes walk from the the town

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank owen222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose S, Owner at The Strathmore, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

We thank you so much for your review hope to see you again when in Tenby.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for a few days during the week. We found the staff very friendly & helpful, furnishings outdated, needed a bigger quilt, & the sea view, well, u had 2 look right & only just c it. Otherwise gr8 location 2 town & beach.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose S, Owner at The Strathmore, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

We thank you so much for your review hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The owner phoned me up to ask what time we would be arriving as he was going out and there would be no one on reception. We arrived just before lunch time and there was no one around until the following morning at breakfast...then it was only one of the breakfast staff. We would have liked to ask about the parking etc...but there was absolutely no one there at all. The lack of security was disturbing as the front door was left wide open for anyone to walk in at any time.
There was an air of meanness to the Strathmore. There were two tea bags in the room and a notice on the wall saying if we wanted more we would have to pay! There was two bath towels but only one face towel between me and my husband. Again, there was no one to ask for another towel!
The flexibility for breakfast was very limited...8.30am to 9am only! No buffet at breakfast. Also there was another notice saying that it was £9 per hour if anyone checked out after 10am.
All in all this hotel (which was only a B&B really) spoilt our visit to Tenby.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this 'hotel' when there are other good places to stay in the area.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank CRRubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose S, Owner at The Strathmore, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Sir / Madame I am not going to do the usual response by saying thank you for your comments etc. We are upset you did not enjoy your stay but sometimes due to family commitments we are unavoidably called away, however we are never away over night and always a phone call away! It is not a 24 hour reception this service is reserved for luxury hotels which charge for this service. The parking is quite self explanitary to most people a big "P" pointing to the car park at the end of the street, the signs in the street its self clearly state its is for residents parking permit holders only.
As far as your comment about the number of breakfast staff, we are a 7 bedroom Bed & Breakfast and do not operate on a one to one basis (who does?)
as far as the rest of your comments go i have waisted enough time on your review. Clearly you did not enjoy your stay wish you luck finding the perfect hotel for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My four nights stay at the Strathmore hotel. The hotel was clean and the guest lounge was lovely and comfortable with a wide T.V. The owners/staff were friendly and helpful when asked directions to attractions/towns etc.

We stayed in room number 3 the room was very clean and nicely decorated medium in size with a sink, double bed that seemed very small for a double, TV, and coffee/tea-making equipment. Where I felt the hotel let itself down was with only supplying two tea bags and two coffees per day, you could purchase more if you wished but thought that was a bit mean.
There was no soap provided in the so-called En-suite, that was so (very tiny) that when coming out of the shower you hit the toilet with the shower door. There were (no nice) touches such as a box of tissues, or shower cap in the room that one has come to expect even in the basic B.B’s

Breakfast was from 8.30-9am thought more choice of a timescale should have been given.
The breakfast room was pleasant and clean, there were plenty of fresh milk, butter and a small selection of marmalade, jams. Orange juice and cereals were served to you. Nice pot of tea or coffee that was all served hot. The main cooked breakfast was nicely presented and very hot but didn’t vary. You could order ahead for the next morning beans on toast, or scrambled egg on toast, or smoked kippers, but! It would have been nice to be given a variation on the standard cooked , perhaps beans on one day instead of the grilled tomato.

Room Tip: En-sute too small in room no 3.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPcat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose S, Owner at The Strathmore, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

We thank you so much for your review hope to see you again when in Tenby.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my parnter stayes here for a few nights had a lovely couple of days. local close to Tenby town not far from the beach. Lovely breakfast in the morning. Lovely weather not far from train station. Would definitely recommend this b and b. Would definitely stay here again. Staff were lovely nice and friendly

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose S, Owner at The Strathmore, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you both for a great review and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews