We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best not the worst”
Review of New Hedges Tavern

New Hedges Tavern
Ranked #89 of 113 Restaurants in Tenby
Price range: US$14 - US$21
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Dining options: Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Caerphilly County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not the best not the worst”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

If you like your steak WELL done and cheap heres the place for you, However if you like a decent medium rare steak you will need to order form the more expensive menu, All food is well presented and the pub is quite pleasant as are the star but bar service can be a bit on the slow side.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    15
    19
    17
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
saundersfoot pembrokeshire. Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Give it a miss.”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Rude staff, poor food, over priced, No more to say.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank srd999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awful tourist trap”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This pub clearly does not rely on repeat business ... Beer was off, my friend took back and the rude manager smelt it, said to my friend's face that it is not off and told the ( friendly) barmaid to poor another and put it down to wastage. Terrible customer service and terrible food. We are not regular caravanners but my parents are and they like this 'wetherspoons' type of food and even they told us (after the event) that they would never go back! Awful mix of mock Tudor and faux Greek decor.
Avoid at all costs.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank IanShore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narberth Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Poor welcome we left as soon as we could..”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We went here after seeing a sign on the nearby main road and were hoping to get a lunch.

As we walked in a lady approached us and straight away said 'We don't take credit cards you know?' in a wailing shriek.

We were dumbfounded , turned round and walked out. The fact that we had cash to pay was by the by, anyone with that attitude was not having our business...

We therefore cannot comment on the food , but the service and Atmosphere one of the worst we have ever encountered...

  • Visited February 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saundersfoot
Level Contributor
339 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Just average”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Probably well suited to the caravan trippers who appear to make up the mjority of customer....the cheap sizzling meals....well you get what you pay for they say....ours wasn't good enough but we kept our camping friends company....I didn't think the ale was up to standard either....probably why it was BOGOF...!!! It is only a holiday seasonal opening place which surely says it all...!!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank jimboSaundersfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Hedges Tavern also viewed

 
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to New Hedges Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing