We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again!!”
Review of New Hedges Tavern

New Hedges Tavern
Ranked #89 of 113 Restaurants in Tenby
Price range: US$14 - US$21
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“never again!!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

what an awful place to eat! while on a lovely holiday in new hedges my family and i decided to treat ourselves to a nice meal. we came to this restuarant and as soon as we walked in we where pounced on! we needed a highchair as my granddaughter is only 14mths but before we could even sit down we were asked what drinks we wanted?? time to sit and get sorted wasnt given to us! no smiles on the staff at all!!! we ordered our food which watching what other people were having all looked fab,how wrong we were!! tastless crap! the only flavour was the free salad! i have no problem paying for meals at whatever price but when you pay £60 for a meal for four and a half peps and leave a place feeling like you had nothing coz there is lovely taste in your mouth and unsatisfied its disheartening! never ever again!! for a place to be in such a busy holiday area they should really buck their ideas up and trying smiling!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lynne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    15
    19
    17
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tenby, United Kingdom
1 review
“warm and friendly restaurant”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I live local .and thought it would be nice to go for Sunday lunch with some friends who were staying with us for the week end. one of the reasons we went was because we had been told the chef was new. and that the food was much improved. From the minute we walked in we were greeted by a very friendly young lady and shown to our table. as I am not a greens person I asked if could have extra roast potato"s instead .No problem. The service. The meals. The puddings and.the drinks . were superb. My family and friends highly recommend this restaurant and bars.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johny3sheds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great food great service”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

another lovely meal here staff are very friendly great service as well as a great meal overall we had a lovely family evening

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clare j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Dock
1 review
“Fantastic food, great place.”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Wonderful meal on Friday, fabulous Thai food and a very warm welcome!! Would highly recommend a visit if you are in the area. New chef so try it out!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delicious!!!!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

After spending many holidays over the years in the area and staying at local caravan parks the new hedges tavern has always been a number one port of call for us for food and drinks. We heard they have taken on a new chef and couldn't wait to go in to see what changes he could bring, so we decided to go for Sunday lunch and were not disappointed!! Everything was fresh, beautifully cooked and lots of it. Couldn't manage desert as too full although they sounded lovely. Can also see the menu has changed slightly from last year, but for the better! So much choice there really is something for everyone. The staff are so polite and nothing is too much trouble. Can't wait to go back in the summer!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Hedges Tavern also viewed

 

Been to New Hedges Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing