We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bargain of the Day” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tenby House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tenby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tenby House Hotel
Ranked #44 of 56 Tenby B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Bargain of the Day”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

Bargain of the Day Bowl of Soup and Roll £! ...Just what the wife and I thought you don't want to know ...but we thought why not give it a try
Went into the bar and got a pleasant surprise The soup was home-made and not as we expected. It was a rather large bowl of soup Big chunks of leek and potato well flavoured and filling..
But and its a big but ...the following meals where spoilt by extremely poor quality re-cooked greasy hard chips.
Staff quick and friendly. atmosphere fine for a main street bar. Tables a little grubby and sticky and the room fairly dark.
We only used the hotel for a lunch time meal.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    38
    23
    15
    17
See reviews for
20
47
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
415 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Passing and it was being recommended by a party of people leaving - lovely outside eating area and although we did't eat the food being delivered looked good value and empty plates went back ( always a good sign) We had good cider and real ale ; with good service. Worth a visit.
At the time of our visit soup of the day and crusty roll £1 - Very popular.
Dog lovers also very welcome ; bowls for the dogs and also child friendly area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights Friday, Saturday, early September 2012. There were 10 blokes of all ages staying in 5 twin rooms. My room was very nice, clean, lovely bedding and a smart en suite. Tea coffee and water was available in the room. There was no view, but being bang in the centre the best you'll get is one of the street anyway I think.

Breakfast was served in the Bistro, through the beer garden / alley. Orange juice, cereal, tea/coffee and a full english was all great.

Downstairs is the pub and this one of the most popular pubs in Tenby which was open until 1 a.m. while we were there. Not a problem for us as that was what we were there for but not for everyone. The outside area is great and also has a small outside bar serving it.

I didn't try the bar food so can't comment on that.

If you're looking for an early night and a sea view, you'll need to stay somewhere else. I wouldn't hesitate to book again on a similar weekend break.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeeboyTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

This Hotel has been part of Tenby for so many years. It is situated right in the town centre and has a lively public house on the ground floor with a great beer garden area. There is also a mini arcade to keep the kids entertained. The food that comes out of the kitchen is well presented and the soup of the day with a bread roll is a bargain at £1 in the height of the summer season. The pool table could do with some chalk though. That is all I have to critisise this place for. I left an article of clothing in my room after check out and I rang the hotel several days later after returning home to Cardiff. They had held on it and have put it aside for me to collect when I next go to Tenby. The room is a reasonable rate considering the location of the hotel and housekeeping maintain the rooms to a good standard. Thank you Tenby House Hotel.

Room Tip: Front of house can be a bit noisy in the morning when the town starts to wake up
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingMonkey72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We chose to eat here because we were passing and it had outside seating. The food we chose was not cheap for pub grub, and really poor. A nan with a curry had been taken straight from the packet and not warmed; a chicken dish was tasteless. Quantities were small but we left most of it anyway. Be advised!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
3 Thank S_NashUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tenby hotels

Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

This place was dirty, noisy, food was indifferent, service was poor. Our table was dirty and we had to wait 20 minutes for it to be cleaned. We should have walked out.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel organiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

We stayed here with a group of walkers doing the Pembrokeshire Coast Path. We were forewarned that it is a pub with rooms. The staff was very helpful in meeting our van outside the walls, since there was no vehicle access into the town mid-afternoon. We had dinner here one night and decided that there were better places to eat for a group of 12. Rooms were good. On Saturday night the music is very loud until midnight.

Room Tip: If you must stay here Saturday night, ask for the highest room in the front. The drinkers who smoke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveLikes2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.1 mi away
Normandie Inn
Normandie Inn
#22 of 24 in Tenby
3.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#11 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Giltar Hotel
Giltar Hotel
#4 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#12 of 24 in Tenby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenby House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenby House Hotel

Property: Tenby House Hotel
Address: Tudor Square, Tenby SA70 7AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Tenby
Hotel Class:3 star — Tenby House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Tenby House Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing