We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Special!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. Lawrence Country Guest House
Ranked #1 of 52 Tenby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Special!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is truly one of the best places we have ever stayed. Pippa and phil are the most wonderful hosts with incredible attention to detail and they make all the little things count. Even before we arrived we received an email from Pippa, giving us extra tips on how to find them. really nice touch.From the moment of our welcome we felt comfortable and relaxed. Our room was amazing and so, so comfortable with everything we could ever need( even a small fridge, first in three weeks of B and B 's in the UK)
Pippa and Phil's knowledge of Tenby and the surrounding areas is amazing and their willingness to share this is a treat. Everything suggested was wonderful and the perfect Welsh Easter weather helped!
Phil's breakfasts are totally out of this world. The choice is incredible and everything is so fresh and locally sourced if not made by Phil himself. His bread is an absolute winner! Certainly set for the day,
St Lawrence is the highlight of our trip and if we can return we will!
Congratulations Pippa and Phil.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    5
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
35
264
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Trish Field

Wow what a wonderful & amazing guest house, truly magnificent views, super cleanliness & decor, exceptionally tasty breakfasts & all run by two of the friendliest & most welcoming individuals you would ever wish to meet...
....thank you so much Pippa & Phil for making our relaxing 4 night stay so enjoyable & memorable for all the right reasons :-)
We so hope to return

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish-Tuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

we have just spent two wonderful days at this guest house.I cannot praise pippa and phil who own this establishment enough They have created a top class guest house,beautiful location and our accomodation was really lovely so tastefully furnished and a superb shower.The cooked breakfast was delicious as was the fruit and all the other temptations; phil even makes bread every day all this and wonderful hospitality from mine hosts pippa&phil

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthony e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We recently had a great few days staying here. Lovely building with a fabulous guest lounge. Hosts are really attentive and helpful with respect to things to see and do in the area. Breakfast was first class. Overall a brilliant place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good. Some might have better views than others though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

A beautiful guest house in a secluded area on the outskirts of Tenby in the countryside. The quality of rooms are tip top. Phil and Pip are attentive hosts who make you feel welcome from the moment you walk through the door. Breakfast is superb and Phil makes different breads every day. I would recommend this place to anybody as a great place to base yourself in Pembrokeshire.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tom g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I was slightly nervous when I first found out that there were new owners (as of early 2013), but within a few moments of a highly amusing but welcoming phone conversation to make the reservation, I had a very good vibe. This was then borne out by the joy of staying at the house.

The house is only a 5-min drive inland from Tenby centre and is very quietly situated, nestled amongst the trees in its own substantial grounds in the small village. Everything is of a high standard, and the rooms were immaculately clean, and the powerful spacious showers could sand-blast you clean! Soaps and shampoos supplied were top-notch brands.

We stayed in two rooms (partly because different rooms have different firmness of beds, conveniently). Though different sizes (our 2nd was 'snug'), both were lovely, with homely linen. The corner-back room commanded a bucolic view of Caldey Is.). Pippa joked "Try every room if you want, it doesn't matter!".

Pippa and Philip were such welcoming hosts who genuinely want you to have a relaxing time, and nothing was too much trouble. They even lent us some beach towels which we had forgotten! Fine and fun conversation can be had with them, or else they will discretely leave you alone if that is what you prefer. They are good judges of character.

The only very slight Cons I should bring up: if you have inconsiderate neighbours, then late-night TVs can be heard, but we only suffered that one night. Other guests were considerate for the rest of the week. Another minor point is that the breakfast room (the back conservatory) looked a little 'tired' and the tables needed a lick of fresh varnish. However, I would be confident that this minor oversight will be rectified because P&P had only just taken over the property as the season started (no time to deal with it).

All in all, an excellently situated and run B&B. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shmorganzola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We have stayed a dozens of B&B's in Europe and Canada during our many cycling trips but Pippa and Phillip's B&b was certainly one of the best . We were greeted like old friends after a hard day of cycling, and they were able to provide us with a nice cold beer. The room was beautiful and clean with a great view of the Sea in the distance, and the grounds contain a 13th century church. Breakfast was over the top great with all our favorites: fresh fruits, cereals, and full hot breakfast, juices, and Phillip's home made breads and jams. Not only did the hosts offer to take us into town to show us around, which we did, but they packed us an amazing full lunch to take with us the next day. Beautiful place, lovely people, wonderful experience. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keithmac200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.9 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
1.7 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
432 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#8 of 23 in Tenby
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0.8 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
704 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Lawrence Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Lawrence Country Guest House

Property: St. Lawrence Country Guest House
Address: Gumfreston, Tenby SA70 8RA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Lawrence Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Lawrence Country Guest House is a 4 star licensed accommodation set within its own estate of 19 acres just outside Tenby. We are close to all activities, but far enough away to enjoy a quiet night's rest. We have 5 en-suite bedrooms and a large comfortable guest lounge. Feel free to walk the grounds or just sit and relax. Our south facing rooms all have a spectacular view across the Ritec Valley to the sea and beyond to Caldey Island. They all have flat screen tv/dvd/free view,tea & coffee making facilities, hair dryer,binoculars, fridges and bathrobes. Your breakfast is served in the conservatory with home made bread, eggs from Our Girls, tomatoes and fresh fruit all home grown or locally sourced. There is free Wi-Fi and ample private parking. St Lawrence is an award winning luxury B&B which thinks it is a hotel. If it is peace and tranquility you seek after a long day of sightseeing, this is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your St. Lawrence Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Lawrence Country Guest House Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing