We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. Lawrence Country Guest House
Ranked #2 of 53 Tenby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Anyone wishing for a relaxing holiday in wonderful surroundings will not find a better bed and breakfast place in the uk. Pippa and Phil are the perfect hosts and it felt as if we had known them for years. This was our first visit in June 2014 and hopefully will not be the last. There are wonderful views from the guest house and gardens which is situated a mile and a half from tenby.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John50chapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

In the old days before Trip advisor you really just took pot luck ,not any more this is the accurate way to find brilliant places to go and stay .I saw the reviews for St Lawrence which were all great and positive.We have just stayed there and its like being on holiday at your best friends house the food is lovingly prepared by Phil and is delivered to your table by his lovely wife Pippa its fantastic.
The beautiful country views,the wild life, its own church, the lovely accommodation ! Am I related to them ? No I just know a brilliant B&B when I stay at one and this is it.
We will be back real soon

Room Tip: There all good rooms with beautiful surroundings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crasher1361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This was our first visit to the St. Lawrence Guest House, Tenby, but will certainly not be our last!

From the moment we arrived we were ‘blown away’ by our incredible hosts, Philip & Pippa who made us feel ‘at home’ immediately with complimentary tea and cakes that we enjoyed in the garden sunshine, where we experienced the incredible views across to Caldey Island.

We loved our light and spacious ground floor room with its tasteful decoration and furnishings and the overall cleanliness. After a comfortable night’s sleep, we enjoyed a perfectly cooked English breakfast along with Philip’s homemade bread and great choice of fruit and cereals.

St. Lawrence Guest house is an outstanding place to stay in a great country location, just a mile and a half from Tenby’s beaches. We experienced the most memorable hospitality from Pippa and Philip and really appreciated their attention to detail, from making us so welcome when we arrived to the very helpful suggestions and information that made our stay all the more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

St Lawrence County Guest House is 'outstanding' in every respect. From the time we arrived on 07/06/2014 until we left on 14/06/2014 our every needs were catered for by our charming 'hosts', Pippa and Phil. On our arrival, we were treated to tea and 'Welsh cakes', (which were much appreciated after our long journey down from Yorkshire), and shown to our room for the week. Wow! The room was light, spacious and beautifully furnished, with a 'Super King' sized bed, tasteful "furniture and "fittings and well appointed en-suite facilities, including a large 'walk in' shower.Two large windows, over looked the gardens and surrounding countryside and we could see the Tenby coastline in the distance. This is some 'guest house'!
Breakfasts were 'out of this world'! The cooking is done by Phil, who bakes homemade bread, of some variety and distinction, and Pippa supervises in the dining room, which overlooks a stunning garden area, providing both tranquility and colour. Nothing was too much trouble and Pippa proved to be a 'mine of information' on the locality and the local restaurants. They are a really lovely couple, who really seem to love what they are doing.
My wife and I have visited a variety of very good guest houses throughout England, over the past 15 years, but this takes some beating! It is not surprising that Trip Advisor ranks it so highly!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meadowway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This B & B had got tremendous reviews on the TripAdvisor site & it lives up to all of them. The location is 2 miles out of the town, but it's a real haven from the hurly burly of Tenby, the views are spectacular anyway of Caldey Island.
Pip & Philip have turned their house into a large B & B yet with individual attention to each guest. You are made to feel really special by the thoughtfulness shown to all. from the cuppa you receive on arrival served with home made shortbread & Welsh cakes to the offer of lifts down to a local restaurant in the evening.
The room we had was on the ground floor & geared up for disabled guests. It was light & bright, spacious & immaculate. Superb views over the island too.
Breakfast was a feast - one of the best I've ever experienced on my travels. Such a range of juice, cereal, yoghurts, types of bread (some homemade), cooked fare & toasts with homemade jams or marmalade. Amazing!
Don't want to sit in your room? You can choose from the sitting room or outside in the garden. There were walks to take to the church & Holy Well which we sadly didn't get to, but looked beautiful from a distance.
Tenby is a pretty unspoilt seaside town & theres many beautiful places to visit locally. Plus of course, the coastal path to stride!
St Lawrence is like a 'home from from home' in that you feel relaxed & at ease. This couple should think about opening a hotel as this s like a small one anyway!
Fantastic & thanks for a lovely stay Pip & Philip.

Room Tip: Check the room has a view of Caldey Island. Not all rooms have baths, but brilliant showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie2013627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

An excellent room (Michael) with views out to caldy island. Phil and Pippa were exceptional hosts and made the trip that little bit more relaxing. A very peaceful place but still within easy reach of Tenby. We are definitely coming back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My girlfriend and I booked the St Lawrence on a whim, as we'd heard great things about Tenby and the surrounding area from friends who had visited.

We genuinely had two of the best days of our two and half years together so far, due in no small part to the wonderful hospitality of Pippa and Philip Williams (and Jackson the black lab!) at their lovely country house.

From Pippa's initial welcome it was very clear that the property is run by a couple who really love what they do. Pippa not only made us feel immediately at home, but also made sure to suggest some great ideas for our stay, including a visit to Piper's chippie and what turned out to be a fantastic day trip to the peace, tranquility and beauty of Caldey Island.

The rooms have very spacious comfy beds (I'm 6'5" and my feet didn't touch the end!) and are spotlessly clean. The breakfasts are beautiful and sustained us well into the afternoon. Philip is a man of many talents!

In short we can't wait to go back and wish the Williams every success.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Raphael room and it more than met our needs and expectations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
1.7 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
272 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Croyland Guest House
Croyland Guest House
#1 of 53 in Tenby
279 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Coach Guest House
1.1 mi away
Wychwood House
Wychwood House
#5 of 53 in Tenby
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Lawrence Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Lawrence Country Guest House

Address: Gumfreston, Tenby SA70 8RA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Tenby
Price Range: £100 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Lawrence Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Lawrence Country Guest House is a 4 star licensed accommodation set within its own estate of 19 acres just outside Tenby. We are close to all activities, but far enough away to enjoy a quiet night's rest. We have 5 en-suite bedrooms and a large comfortable guest lounge. Feel free to walk the grounds or just sit and relax. Our south facing rooms all have a spectacular view across the Ritec Valley to the sea and beyond to Caldey Island. They all have flat screen tv/dvd/free view,tea & coffee making facilities, hair dryer,binoculars, fridges and bathrobes. Your breakfast is served in the conservatory with home made bread, eggs from Our Girls, tomatoes and fresh fruit all home grown or locally sourced. There is free Wi-Fi and ample private parking. St Lawrence is an award winning luxury B&B which thinks it is a hotel. If it is peace and tranquility you seek after a long day of sightseeing, this is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your St. Lawrence Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Lawrence Country Guest House Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing