We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”

Giltar Grove Country House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tenby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Giltar Grove Country House
Ranked #38 of 53 Tenby B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Recently stayed here for a few nights in April and it was a delight. Sarah and Roy are so friendly and the breakfasts are definately worth getting out of bed for! The rooms are cute and cosy and the whole house is beautiful and in a lovely setting. Their conservatory is a great place to relax in and watch the wildlife outside in the gardens whilst chatting with Sarah and Roy about where to go in the local area (being from the area they know all the history and all the best places!). I'll definately be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2012

Recently stayed here for three nights and came away knowing that we shall return in the future. Roy and Sarah welcomed us like long lost family and made us feel very much at home within five minutes of arriving. The breakfasts were excellent and set us up for our days of walking on the coastal path, which is accessed directly opposite the property. The room was clean, comfortable, quiet and restocked with complimentary tea, coffee and linen daily. The nicest touch was being invited to sit with Roy and Sarah in front of their open fire to share a pot of tea after a long days walk and they were more than happy to share their local knowledge of where was best to eat in the area.
Overall excellent value for money, excellent hosts, excellent location and we arrived as strangers but left as friends and shall be returning soon on our next visit to the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heulwen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

My room was not the one that a member of AA review panel stayed in because they would not have recommended it for The Best B & B in Britain. Very dusty and very dated. Windows thick with condensation in the morning but unable to open the windows as they are painted shut.
Gardens really pretty but that's where it ends. The overall experience was awful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strathmoreWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

I stayed here for an extended period whilst working in Pembrokeshire. Roy and Sarah run a great establishment which is very comfortable and very clean. Roy will give you advice on all things local and the breakfasts are excellent. The management really do go the extra mile.

With the addition of free wi-fi internet, I couldn't pick a fault with this place!

Recommended. I will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Progressive1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Roy and Sarah run a delightful B&B in Penally just outside Tenby. They are most welcoming, the accommodation is extremely comfortable and the breakfasts will keep you going for most of the day! I thoroughly recommend this guest house.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobbieChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

I stayed at the Giltar Grove for four nights in July:

What I liked:
1. The location suited me very well. It's on the road between Penally and Lydstep, and a really great base from which to explore south Pembrokeshire.
2. The house is set in lovely gardens, very quiet, and it's only a short walk across the fields to the Pembrokeshire coast path.
3. The owners were very welcoming and most helpful. They even stored some food for me in their freezer, and put it out ready for me when I had a really early departure.
4. I was upgraded to a first-floor double room, which was perfect for me. It was a little small for two people, but had everything you needed, including a kettle, tea and coffee, and an en-suite shower room. Plus a wall-mounted digital TV. I was very comfortable there.
5. Breakfasts were lovely, served in a bright conservatory overlooking the gardens and the resident rabbits. I didn't have the cooked breakfast but they looked hearty and yummy. The cereals, toast etc were fine for me.
6. There's a car park, so no worries there - unlike in Tenby where parking is often a nightmare.

What others might not like:
1. The location won't suit people without a car. It's a drive either to Tenby, Lydstep or Manorbier. No pubs or restaurants within walking distance.
2. The rooms are a little on the small size, though they are extremely comfortable.
3. The sound-proofing between rooms is poor - I could clearly hear an occupent next door snoring his or her head off. I wear ear-plugs so it didn't bother me at all, but a light sleeper would have been disturbed. Otherwise Giltar Grove is lovely and quiet, in its own grounds and away from any late-night revellers.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janthefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank RaskolnikovMosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
1.2 mi away
New Overlander Restaurant & Guest Accommodation
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
462 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Parsonage Farm Inn
Parsonage Farm Inn
#3 of 6 in St. Florence
272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#8 of 23 in Tenby
457 reviews
0.6 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giltar Grove Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giltar Grove Country House

Address: Penally, Tenby SA70 7RY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Tenby
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Giltar Grove Country House Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing